We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$113
View deal
Expedia.com
$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/22
Trip.com
$106
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/22
Hotels.com$125
Travelocity$125
Priceline$139
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,349)
Filter reviews
1,349 results
Traveller rating
636
440
132
70
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
636
440
132
70
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian food tandoori restaurant f b manager hotel guests our honeymoon curry mont choisy beach glass bottom boat ride wonderful stay table tennis visit mauritius delicious food drinking water reception staff special thanks to mr tour operator sega dance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,349 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2022 via mobile

After covid booked a holiday in Mauritius at the Tarisa Resort and Spa, joined by my sister-in-law. After several hours journey we arrived exhausted and I was forced to take an antigen test. The reception furniture was worn, drab and unclean.Things didn't get any better, the food was tasteless and lacked variety. We found that bread became the staple go to. Omelettes raw and unbeaten. All inclusive was a joke, strict set times breakfast, lunch, and dinner. All the same food. No food provided in between other than 4pm pancakes daily, Alcohol drinks watered down. Very little entertainment and for a beach holiday no sunbeds and umbrella's permitted on the beach. You pay extra for AI. and really only fulf board. Many complaints from many peoples and Constructive criticism ignored.
In the main staff were very helpful and cheerful,a big thank you to them and well done. Rooms were lovely, clean and spacious but no Satellite so only news in English. Netflix was good if you had an account.
I do not recommend this hotel, it was not value for money and management did not exceed expectations since nothing changed. Even with 40 years experience. Every thing excused on budgets, covid, but it doesn't warrant sympathy since Omelette eggs beaten properly doesn't need extra costs, just better training etc etc etc
Finally getting down to the beach was hazardous, with broken planks and rope your only way down, and fishing hooks and lines left to injure.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Belle2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fazlullah Cassoomally, Sales at Tarisa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2022

Dear Madam,

We thank you for your comment.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Tarisa Resort & Spa.

Unfortunately our services were not up to your standard and we reassure you that we do our utmost best to make the stay of our guests the most enjoyable.

Thanks & Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2022

This was a holiday that I will recommend to any guests that would like to experience attended service, great food,beautiful beach, spaces rooms.
To be honest we started of very concerned in the beginning as this holiday has been moved out twice due to COVID regulations, and not able to travel.
We have seen terrible trip advisor reviews, and was very concerned going as we are paying a lot of money for a all inclusive package.

We have contacted the property and the tour operator for answers what is going on and why a lot of people are leaving such reviews of the service that are bad, food is terrible.. etc
They have advise us that they will ensure that our entire 7 nights will be great and that they have been working on all these downfalls..
as a lodge manager of a 5 star property I knew what it takes to ensure guests having an great time and that trip advisor review can really have a bad impact on a property and guests can sometimes complain really over piety nonsense.. AND MAKE IT SOUND EX STREAM. If you are wanting a relaxing holiday at a clean property with great service this is it for you , if you are going to take note of each single thing that are bad this is not the right property and rather book another property.
This a great family resort these staff members really go out there way to make sure all guests are attended to and work really hard every day.
yes there are a few things that probably could improve but any property has something even 6 star resorts and there are always room for improvement
Note it is a 3 star but the staff make you feel if you are in a 4 star resort.
The animals can be taken care of.. but understand it is a public beach.

The general manager en Food and beverages manager has really gone the extra mile to ensure all staff are on top of it at all times .
Thank you for each of you for making it a memorable stay. There are so many names but truly all staff were excellent.

Room tip: Requests floor room if you have little kids. if not and wanting sea view requests top floor room
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeliaSun1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fazlullah Cassoomally, Sales at Tarisa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2022

Dear Mrs. Strydom,

Warm Greetings from Tarisa Resort & Spa.

We thank you very much for your reviews on our hotel.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at Tarisa Resort & Spa..

We are glad to notice that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and services.

We hope welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

THE MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2022

I arrived very tired following a long haul flight and was warmly welcomed. After doing a lateral flow test I was shown to my ground floor room which opened out to the pool area. My initial disappointment was not having a sun lounger on the beach. I complained and management explained this was not allowed as it is a public beach. I was still able to enjoy the beach with activities, long walks and beautiful views. Still it was disappointing to book a beach holiday and not be able to sit comfortably on the beach. Non the less, my experience here was much more than expected. The staff were wonderfully friendly and the restaurant manager was happy to help with anything asked of him. The location of the hotel made travelling out independently very easy by either bus or taxi. The hotel spa did live up to expectations and I booked a package of 3 treatments - all very enjoyable and well priced. I will return to see more of this beautiful island.

Room tip: I was ground floor looking out on the very pretty pool area. The beach only a short walk away was slightly obscured by trees.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank susanrC9298MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fazlullah Cassoomally, Sales at Tarisa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2022

Dear Madam,

Warm Greetings from Tarisa Resort & Spa.

We thank you very much for your reviews on our hotel.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at Tarisa Resort & Spa..

We are glad to notice that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and services.

We hope welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

THE MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022

We had not been to Mauritius for over six years. So after this time away decided to try the north of the island and boy we were not disappointed.
We chose the Tarisa as we were going to stay for a month and wanted to be near to Grand Baie and local buses, we find using local transport you get to see more of the local culture.
So on arrival we were shown to our room which would be home for the next four weeks, this was big in size and the balcony and view were amazing.
Then we had a look around the hotel and grounds which all looked wonderful as there was also the beach and the park next door, this was just what the doctor ordered. Lots of activities to get involved with or peace and quiet if needed.
On recommending the staff on our stay it would not be fair to just pick one out as they were all marvelous from the maid doing our room up to the GM who was about very often. They were all great and we very much look forward to our return next year.

Room tip: Just ask for a quiet room
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towelday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fazlullah Cassoomally, Sales at Tarisa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2022

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Tarisa Resort & Spa.

We thank you very much for your reviews on our hotel.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at Tarisa Resort & Spa..

We are glad to notice that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and services.

We hope welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

THE MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022

On arrival we were surprised on how small the resort was and it only having 1 place to eat and 1 place to drink. There was another restaurant which was only open for 2 hours on a Thursday which was ok and a set meal of Indian food. Rooms were ok but not what i call a sea view only about a postage stamp size of sea through the trees. There were a lot of fly's at meal times and at the bar and all around which put us off of our food and there were a lot of birds in the restaurants and cats. As for the food was terrible the same food every meal time and every day chicken fish and rice may be with a different sauce but disgusting. Breakfast dried up bacon and beans no better. The staff in the restaurant were friendly but the manager was always shouting at them and ordering them about all in front of the guest. One member was just walking around and talking and not doing much work. The man who did the omelettes and had his baseball cap the wrong way round every day was very rude and unfriendly like it was to much trouble to serve you. The entertainment or lake of it was terrible no daily entertainment and only a dance show once a week and i singer once a week the rest we had a man playing an mp3 on his lap top for about 90 mins. The bar staff was very friendly but again there were shouted at the general manager was very unfriendly never spoke to guest or smiled just stood around watching staff. Beach was quite nice but small but long if you are going to book any trips don't book with the rep who tries to hard sale book with the man just outside of the hotel on the beach much cheaper. Don't use the taxis on site just walk down to the main road turn left and get a local bus as in the taxi to grand bay it is 400 rupees on the bus 30 rupees and they are safe if you get a taxi stop and say they will charge you the same as the bus they are ok and safe .Will not be going back to Mauritius as not a very nice place there is lots of green areas and beaches but that's it. The place was full of Indian people and French not many English not that I am against these people but two days before we left 25 France people arrived and the place was a war zone drunk loud and the men striping off and jumping in the pool late at night hotel did nothing about it. Some people complained about the noise as they had small children but again hotel did nothing. BEAWARE THE COVID TESTS YOU HAVE TO TAKE ON ARRIVAL YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR 700 RUPEES ABOUT £14.00 .And reception not very helpful or very friendly.

Room tip: Choose another hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fazlullah Cassoomally, Sales at Tarisa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2022

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Tarisa Resort & Spa.

Unfortunately our services were not up to your standard but we reassure you that we do our utmost best to make the stay of our guests the most enjoyable.

Thanks & Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews