We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
6
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile


We found management to be dishonest and unwilling to take ownership for false advertising of an apartment that reeked of cigarettes but advertised as non-smoking. The fact that we lost a day of our holidays and that we had young children in the apartment meant nothing. Unethical management and false advertising.

I’ve attached the emails I can find and would be happy for Liberty to include those not included.

“Sarah
Your email is factually incorrect and dishonest. It is not acceptable.

The facts are very simple:

1. The room was advertised as non-smoking. It smelt of cigarettes not smoke from the outside. For you to say this, is completely dishonest. Your maid was there and so was Tinga.
Your maid Pamma, confirmed that there were Italians in the apartment that had smoked inside. She said 5 people tried to help the smell of cigarettes out and couldn’t. We even opened the sliding doors to let fresh air in but this didn’t help the smell of cigarettes. We all know the smell of cigarettes so please don’t make nonsensical suggestions about “think the smell comes from outside”. The bedsheets, towels and curtains smelt of cigarettes. Be honest!

2. The first time we had any contact from anybody was at about 10:30 or so when Pamma arrived to clean drop off toilet paper. My husband explained to her the smell about the apartment. She provided the explanation above.
She also phoned Pravesh, who told her that there was nothing he could do as all other apartments were taken.

3. It was only after hearing from Pamma that there was nothing that could be done that we started looking for another place.

4. My husband also phoned Usha who was driving at the time and could not find alternative accommodation at that time.

5. We found another place at about 12:30. By this time we had still not had any contact from anyone from LOV apartments.

6. I sent an email saying we would br leaving and booked a taxi to collect us. We wasted half a day in the smelly apartment, without being able to go get food or water with two young children all because of you not being honest about the room smelling of cigarettes.

6. Tinga arrived at 13:30 or so and tried to find alternative accommodation. We informed her that we could consider if there was a refund where we were headed. At this point there was still no confirmation that any accommodation from LOV was available. It was almost 14:00 and our kids and ourselves still did not have anything to eat or drink since the night before.

7. At this time and before Tinga said there was potentially another place upstairs we checked the site conditions informing us that we couldn’t cancel without a charge.

8. Tinga had my husband’s telephone number and even Whatsapped him. You also had my email address, through which you are corresponding with me through this email chain. Saying you couldn’t reach us is just so dishonest.

9. We were with hungry and thirsty kids, we spent half a day of our holidays trying to contact LOV and looking for alternative accommodation, we ended up paying more for alternative accommodation for a last alternative, we had pay additional taxis and were misold a room which should have catered for our first trip to Mauritius. The very least you can do is refund us and apologise for the above and not trying to cover us with lies to cover up.

Please advise how you wish to proceed by Monday. After this we will take this issue up with Booking.com and Tripadvisor.

Regards
Ruth and Helder

Dear Ruth Fernandes, Greetings from Lov and thank you for your email. My name is Sarah and i am in charge of the Reservations department. Further to your email which we received at 01:07pm today, please note that we have tried to get reach of you but unfortunately, you already check-out of the apartment. We are very sorry about that as you did not allow us time to assist you concerning your reservation at Liberty Drive. Since this morning, we have received several messages from you as follows; - you thought about booking a Penthouse but after verification, it is a 3 bedroom Apartment that you have reserved with Booking.com. My colleague Wendy has confirmed same by email. -Please note that you informed the maid about the smell but this apartment is free since 2 weeks now. Hence, we think that the smell can be from the roads and not inhouse. Last but not least, i have been informed that my colleague onsite proposed to you a change of apartment (same category; 3 bedroom apartment) but you declined it. Hence, please note that there will be no reimbursement as 100% cancellation fees applied due to cancellation of booking less than 31 days prior to arrival date. Thank you for your comprehension and wish you nice vacations in Mauritius. Best Regards, Sarah

Thank you for your reply.

Again, you are being dishonest and omitting facts, as well as now changing the first story.

1. Pamma said there were smokers previously. She noticed the smell of smoke. That’s why she mentioned the previous tenants being smokers. We could not make this up. You know full well that cigarette smoke lasts for some time. I smelt the bedclothes and the towels (I slept there and had a bath remember?!). It is interesting that you no longer mention that the smell came from the outside.

2. She said that there were Italians there who were smokers. I’m sure the nationality can also be verified. I wouldn’t be able to make this up. I see you now admit the previous guests were smokers.

3. Pamma spoke to Pravesh and he confirmed there were no other rooms at all. not just the penthouse. I’m sure this can be confirmed via telephone records.

4. I contacted Usha who was on the road. My telephone records reflect that. She said she would get back to me and wasn’t able to. This can also be verified via phone records.

5. Tegan was at the apartment and confirmed the rooms were non-smoking and tried to find another room. Not once did she say the room did not smell of smoke. She in fact said various times that the rooms are meant to be non-smoking. She also mentioned that there is no way to check when guests smoke as there are no cameras in the apartments. At no time did she challenge our assertion that the apartment smelt of smoke.

6. When Tegan arrived she was unable to find a room until almost the time we were leaving.

7. You no longer mention that you were unable to contact us, this is because we have prof you didn’t.

8. We were with two young children. They should not have to be in an unhealthy environment inhaling leftover tar from bedclothes and towels. They both complained about the smell of the apartment, the bedclothes and the towels.

9. You seem to be saying that we wanted to leave because the apartment was not a penthouse and because of this we made up the whole story.

If we were not going to stay at the apartment even though my wife thought it was a penthouse. If we were going to leave we wouldn’t have asked Pamma for another apartment where she confirmed one wasn’t available with Pravesh, and we wouldn’t have contacted Usha for the same reason.

We would have stayed if the apartment didn’t smell of cigarettes and if we didn’t have two young children.

If you advertise non-smoking and it is not non-smoking you are advertising falsely. This is dishonest, unethical and irresponsible especially when you know that you will be receiving young children.

10. We wasted half a day of our holidays in Mauritius and had our first meal after 15:00 with two young children because you falsely advertised, didn’t own up, didn’t find alternative accommodation on time.

11. You are no longer suggesting the smell came from outside, that you had alternative accommodation on time, that you tried to contact us but were unable to. This is because these are lies and you unable to.

We will take the matter up with Booking.com and Tripadvisor since you don’t want to refund us.

Best regards”

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank HELDER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierandBeatrice, Management at Liberty Drive Premium Apartments & Penthouses by LOV, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Ruth and Helder,

Thank you for leaving your review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. First and foremost, I would like to quickly summarize the events.

Your check-in date was Friday 30th March 2018, at 00:12 (i.e. Saturday 31st March in the early morning) you sent us an email mentioning that you booked a penthouse with a veranda and were given an apartment and due to this reason wanted to know what the process will be should you cancel your booking. My colleague Wendy replied to you at 9:10am to confirm that according to your booking form, you booked a 3-bedroom apartment and not a penthouse and if ever you choose to cancel your booking, 100% of cancellation fee will be applicable.

As mentioned in our different exchange of email, all rooms of LOV are non-smoking rooms, the previous guests which were staying in the apartment vacant same 2 weeks before your arrival and from the operational team check-out report the apartment did not have any evidence of the guests smoking inside. Additionally, since their departure, clean bedsheets, towels and through cleaning was undertaken within the apartment before your arrival.

Our understanding is that you first complained about the smell of smoke to the cleaning lady at around 9:30am on the 31st March 2018 when she came to clean the apartment. You additionally requested to be moved to the Penthouse for which she replied that she would speak to the Resident Concierge in charge of the complex and duly spoke to the Resident Concierge in front of you. The Resident Concierge stated that accordingly to their records you had booked an apartment and not the penthouse, so you should contact your booking agent to enquire further and the Resident Concierge would make contact with Reservations.

At 1:30pm when our PR Tegan came to meet with you, you told her that there was already a taxi on the way and that you already booked another property due to the cigarette smell of the apartment. She request that you give her some time in order for her to find an alternative accommodation for you as you were not pleased with this one and by the time she came back to see you (around 1:55pm) with an alternative you said that you do not need to see the other apartment as your taxi will arrive in any minute and that the cancellation fee of your newly booked accommodation is bigger than ours. Shortly after this you vacated the apartment.
The LOV guest relations team inspected the apartment after you left and could not detect any smell of cigarette smoke.

We hope that you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around as it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Liberty drive apartments are in a very good location five minute walk to a lovely beach in mont choisy. The apartments are well equipped. My only concern was with security guard who had a strong stench of alcohol and couldn't direct us to our apartment when we arrived and showed us a wrong door leading to our key breaking and being stuck. The management needs to make sure the person who has spare keys is accessible all the time in case of emergencies like ours but we given another apartment and moved the following day. Usha and Diksha were very helpful but more needs to be done in providing information on activities there were no brochures on activities in the apartment or information about the area where to shop, police, emergency telephone numbers. Overall these are clean well maintained apartments in a good location.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank HarareTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierandBeatrice, Manager at Liberty Drive Premium Apartments & Penthouses by LOV, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear HarareTraveller,

Thank you for leaving a review here on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Liberty Drive Premium Apartments & Penthouses. We are delighted to read that you loved the apartments with its very good location, being at proximity of Mont Choisy and Trou aux Biches beaches. We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience with the security guard and can assure you that we will be personally investigating the matter. Thank you for your kind words on our team; we appreciate your valuable feedback on things which are missing such as an activity book and a little guidance on where to shop, this surely helps us identify the areas that needs improvement. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Regards, Beatrice and Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Quiet and premium location for a weekend getaway.
(We had a very good price).
We stayed 2 nights 3 days - perfect self-catering 3 bedroom apartment with one ensuite.
Pool (although it was quite rainy), and private underground parking with lift.
Will surely book again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thierry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierandBeatrice, Management at Liberty Drive Premium Apartments & Penthouses by LOV, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Thierry T, Warm greetings from Luxury Ocean Vacation Serviced Residences. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience following your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Beatrice and Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Balcony is huge, private and a dream for sun lovers. Apartment exceptionally comfortable.We had no issues, and the cleaner is friendly and quick. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. Parking is in the basement, so vehicle is always cool. Pool is a decent size and apartment building has a lift. Grand Baie is 15 minutes away. Mon Choosy public beach is 500m away. location is superb, with close bus stop if required. Internet is constant and fast.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierandBeatrice, Management at Liberty Drive Premium Apartments & Penthouses by LOV, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Elaine P, Warm greetings from Luxury Ocean Vacation Serviced Residences. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience following your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Beatrice and Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

A big thanks to Usha, Pravesh and their team for helping us throughout the enquiries and booking process. We had a lovely weekend at Le cerisier and Liberty Drive in December 2016.

The rooms were clean and the kitchen was well equipped, which was a great help to us in preparing our own food. We had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Indeed, it was an amazing holiday. We would also like to thank the housekeeping service staff and the security officers for their services.

We are looking forward to spend another holiday at Lov’s property soon.

Room Tip: Penthouse was the best.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kirti2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierandBeatrice, Marketing at Liberty Drive Premium Apartments & Penthouses by LOV, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Kirti2017,

Warm Greetings from Luxury Ocean Vacation Serviced Residences.

Thank you so much for sharing a review of your recent stay at Liberty Drive Premium Apartments & Penthouses by LOV. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the property and all the facilities offered !

We look forward to welcoming you during your next trip to Mauritius!

Best Regards,
Beatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews