We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but renovations in progress”
Review of Flora Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flora Bay Resort
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good - but renovations in progress”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Flora Bay. There are actually two bits to the Flora Bay resort - Flora 1 and Flora 2. Flora 1 is a little older and where we stayed.

Given the price I think it's not a bad place to stay, everything works in the room and the location is good. The staff are very nice and helpful. One word of warning - they are building quite a large reception/restaurant area. Construction is proceeding slowly since last year and there is a bit of noise in the mornings (after 8am). It's unclear when the building work will finish, in the mean time you will need to find alternative sources of food. The one spot on the beach that serves beer isn't too bad.

Cons:
Some construction noise.
Difficult to know where reception is on arrival (it's in one of the chalets - but no signs to tell you)
Bathrooms very tired with a bit of drain smell (once we gave it bit more of a deep clean it was fine).
Sheet had a couple of small holes.

Pros:
Close to the beach
Friendly and helpful staff
Fridge in room and effective aircon (split unit)

I would really hope the next project is to spruce up the bathrooms (and rooms) a bit. Adding a shelf to the bathroom and a fan to make it less musty would go a long way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    84
    69
    27
    41
See reviews for
64
93
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

(sorry for my poor English, but i want to stay comment)
Attention!
We booked accommodation and diving at the Flora Bay. When we arrived to Perhentian Island we founded that dive center is construct. And the Flora Bay Divers Resort's staff told us that he thinks in what color to paint the roof so that they will not be diving. We were forced to dive with another dive center. The mood is spoiled.
And there are stupid and very lazy staff.

Room Tip: there are not good rooms. there are very hard pillow. Staff do not change the bed linen and towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Accommodation is ok - little expensive bit then the whole island is.

Beach is great at high tide and very safe for young children.

Be warned only one bar on this beach..........

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mankitoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Flora Bay resort was on a beautiful quiet beach on Perhentian Besar, and our room (standard terrace) was no more than 15 metres from the beach. Our room was a bit tired looking, but large enough with a little balcony and ensuite bathroom. We ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was nice, and there are a few other places to eat nearby. We also went on a couple of snorkeling trips from the flora bay dive shop at the end of the beach and they were great value and a brilliant experience. Internet usage was very expensive, but I think that is the case everywhere on the Perhentians. Overall we enjoyed our stay because the location was perfect.

Tip: I think that because electricity is at a premium on the island the room was not well lit, so we had to use a torch to read at night (also useful when walking along the beach after dark).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed in a 'garden view' room but it actually hd a sea view - worth looking out for! The room was spacious and clean, but the bathroom was fairly basic. The setting and the view from our veranda was amazing though ad the beach was stunning too. Much calmer atmostphere than the main beach on the island.

Staff were all lovely and v helpful. Menu was a bit limited but there was a number of very nice other bars/restautants on the beach.

Dive Lodge was AMAZING! Very friendly, knowlegable staff. Safety was a priority. They were always happy to talk lots about what we had seen. Pleasantly surpirsed by the small price of our bill at the end of the week!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
1.4 km away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
624 reviews
0.7 km away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
227 reviews
1.3 km away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Eco Marine Perhentian Island Resort
Eco Marine Perhentian Island Res...
#11 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
6 reviews
1.4 km away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
823 reviews
4.3 km away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Bay Resort

Property: Flora Bay Resort
Address: Teluk Dalam | Besut, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,609 - ₹ 3,734
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Flora Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Bay Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing