We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fauna Beach Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fauna Beach Chalet
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“value for money room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Went there with my 3 other girlfriends. Our room is exactly right in front of the beach. Booked a basic room with 2 queen size beds with fans and attached bathroom. extremely hot condition in the noon but ok during night.

But they don't serve the best food. Maybe can try Flora cafe (next to Fauna chalet) to experience better foods

Nightlife? DEAD!
NO TV / NO WIFI ... and the only mobile coverage available is Celcom. ENJOY THE NATURE! ..

Room Tip: Bring few junk foods and mineral waters. Everything on the island is twice or triple the price from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilwani_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    20
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elton, Peterborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Fauna was one of the only places open in mid February and we booked a room, from the mainland, by mobile phone the day before. An easily arranged public ferry boat trip took us across to the islands direct to the beach. An idilic location on a wide sweeping beach backed by jungle.
After a welcome drink we were shown to our chalet right on the beach front, literally 10m from the gently lapping sea. This was clean with 2 twin beds and a toilet/shower (cold water only but thats all required when 32degrees!). A small verandah and 2 chairs overlooking the ocean, a perfect spot for 40RM per night [£8]!
The food in the restaurant was good, cheap and service polite. Lots of fruit juices, tea, coffee but no alcohol! However we did find the one bar in the bay at the Arwana hotel, a 10min walk along the beach, open 12noon - 12midnight.
Only downside was having to share the room with at least one rat, who visited after dark to seek out food. After blocking the drain with a loo brush and disposing of any food in the room we were not disturbed again! Talking with the owner it was an annual hazard when the resorts re-open and very difficult to stop. But as rats don't normally eat people we relaxed and enjoyed the location, storing away another travelling experience to share!

Room Tip: Choose a chalet on the sea front. Block any uncovered drains in the bathroom and don't keep any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esjaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

It was fantastic to stay at Fauna Chalets. Our Chalet had Garden View (cheaper) and it was beautiful! The chalet itself could use some new floors and new furniture but the location is so nice and beautiful that it really doesn't matter if the floor is old.
The bed was really comfortable, the sheets clean and the facilities perfect.
I would recommend going there to everybody that doesn't like resorts and wants to feel comfortable.
Fauna is situated in a really beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden views are beautiful but it gets a little bit hot there. Sea views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here in May 2011, perfect beach, soft sand and blueish water infront our door. We pick fan room because it is the cheapest available... the room is very basic, double bed, cupboard to store your bags, dressing table and 2 chairs outside our room to enjoy the wind and view at anytime.

The room is clean, but as a normal front beach chalet, you cannot help the sand coming in to your room. they do provide broom to wide those sands. The also a tap in front each room to clean your feet before entering room.

they have restaurant, quite good. like their fried rice and barbecue (fresh seafood). they also have wide range of food serve for ala carte menu... the foods also nicely priced, very reasonable.

BUT, if I coming back here I definitely take the aircond room.

Room Tip: Get an air-cond room if you don't want to get sweat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amin1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I was there for a week to take up diving and I have to say it was 1 of the most memorable experiences I had... Everything went as I had expected and the locals were very friendly... And the diveshop has dive guides that has more than 20 yrs of experience... The rooms I would say is very basic but at least they were good enough for me. All in all a great trip and would love to come back again soon...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neutralgrounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels
1.3 km away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.4 km away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.6 km away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#6 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.1 km away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#8 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.0 km away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauna Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauna Beach Chalet

Property: Fauna Beach Chalet
Address: Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Fauna Beach Chalet Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing