We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is an excellent resort. The pool is very large and great for families. Great breakfast buffet with food cooked to order as well and an all day menu. Nive bar with pool table.
Spacious, clean rooms with comfortable beds.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1800 block a ways from the main building. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 428 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

An excellent resort when staying in Miri especially when travelling with young children. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to accommodate especially the FOM and G.M!
Fantastic large pool with childrens pool and water slide with great food.
Very good selection at breakfast with fresh juice bar - always good to see.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteFeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Beautiful resort with huge pool. Was staying in a pool access room - spacious with comfortable bed. The only complaint was the air conditioning too strong. Rooms always remain 18C or below at night (controller was functional if you wan to get colder but just cant keep u warmer than this)

Main restaurant was under renovation and had our breakfast in the ballroom which is a bit weird. Food was good and I specially love the Laksa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_THL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here twice. Once in Aug 2007. Most recent one was on 24th - 27th June 2007. On both occasions I stayed for business.

Pros:
Airport pickup available on request
Spacious room
Comfy bed
High speed wifi (and I can connect my laptop, iPhone and iPad concurrently)
Very quiet at night, good for sleep
Huge swimming pool
Staff are friendly and helpful but some have trouble speaking English.

Cons:
Rooms are far from lobby. Had to go down staircase from the lobby carrying heavy luggage and then up the stairs again to reach my room. Staff did not even offer to send luggage to room.
Far from city center, restaurants/food area, shopping or 24hrs convenience store
Far from Lutong, where my office is located
There's no beach/sea
Open parking area means troublesome to get in/out the car when it rains. It's also dark at night and no security guard manning the car park. Safety risks if you come home after mid night like I do most nights.
Spotted a couple of times monitor lizard & snake outside the hotel corridor. In fact witnessed one of the housekeeping staff chasing away a huge monitor lizard on morning of 27th June, by throwing rocks at the beast.

Would I recommend?
Yes. It's still a good hotel to stay. Try it at least once.

I'll be moving to Miri in August for a 4 years assignment. For the first 30 days I will be staying at a hotel. Most likely would not be staying at Marriott again because it's far from my office and nightlife.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank headsteadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks whilst away on holiday. From the outset of booking direct with them the customer service to the point of being dropped off at the airport and everything in between was exceptional. The staff are all so very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The accommodation was lovely. My room was quiet and well furnished etc. The only down point was some days with the housekeeping - one day I had to ask for my room to be cleaned and made up at 1730 hours, and others had to ask for toiletries that had run out and not been replaced and the complimentary water bottles, but given the overall experience this was just a minor aggravant. The king size bed was just sumptuous and I slept like a log throughout the holiday, which I don't even do at home. The bed linen too, typical Marriott, beautiful quality and lovely pillows. The TV was huge. The pool is just lovely and huge and the staff at the pool bar and pool boys just brilliant. I felt like I was at home throughout the holiday. The breakfasts were great with a huge selection. Beware the sand flies though when lying by the pool at the sea end - ow they hurt and leave really nasty bites. Put spray deterrent on your towel to deter them, it seemed to work. Also beware the mosquitos in the pool toilets but that is just part of the experience in being 90% humidity. The shuttle service into Miri town centre is really useful if you want to eat at 'local' restaurants/bars or do some shopping in the malls, but make sure to book with the concierge as some evenings it is very busy. The hotel is really quiet although busy during the week with the primary customers appearing to be in business. However, beware the weekends, when loads of families arrive from Brunei on Friday through to Sunday when the peace and quiet of the hotel is shattered, but I don't blame them staying here as there are so many facilities for the kids and it is only for less than 48 hours. Highly recommend the hotel and staff. They make your stay really comfortable and relaxing. Thank you for an amazing time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiobhanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
3 km away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
3.2 km away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
3.4 km away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
242 reviews
4.7 km away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.6 km away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miri Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miri Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: | Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range: ₹ 4,467 - ₹ 5,871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miri Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible sunsets, lush tropical gardens and soft breezes from the South China Sea await you at the Miri Marriott Resort & Spa. Award-winning 5-star Sarawak resort and one of the best resorts and hotels in Malaysia. Located near the city centre and airport, our resort features rooms with breathtaking views, broadband Internet (chargeable if not a Marriott Rewards member), luxury bedding and other choice amenities. Our top restaurant offers best international buffet and live entertainment at the lounge while our delicatessen is known for the finest breads and cakes. To relax and rejuvenate, visit our Mandara Spa or enjoy other recreational facilities including the fitness centre, Sarawak's largest free-form pool, and resort activities for all ages. Our 9 meeting venues include a Ballroom accommodating up to 600 guests. When planning a holiday, conference or honeymoon, there's no better choice than our Borneo resort near shopping, nightlife and national parks showcasing Sarawak's natural wonder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miri Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miri Marriott Hotel Miri
Miri Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Miri Hotel
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing