We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed in the 2-bedroom/2-bathroom apartment unit for 3 nights. The unit is nicely decorated, no frills and unnecessary decorations (i.e. dust collectors). Overall it is a clean and comfortable stay.

The apartment has a kitchenette, complete with a stove, cooking utensils and fridge. Basic tea & coffee-making facilities are also available. 2 x 500mL drinking water is provided daily.

The TV has about 20 channels - all local networks and some international channels e.g. ESPN, HBO. The unit is fully air-conditioned.

Basic toiletries are provided. Towels are changed every day, and the beds are made every day. Being on the 23rd floor, we were treated to beautiful views of Miri.

Our only gripe would be the shower area where the water does not flow down, but pools at the opposite corner to the drain hole.It only clears up when the cleaners clean it up every morning. Perhaps it was only our unit that had this flaw and it cannot be generalised for the whole hotel.

There is a shopping mall at the ground floor of the building. The department store is especially great if you need to run down to quickly grab something. If you are inclined on bigger, more 'modern' malls, the Bintang Megamall shopping complex is a stone's throw away (a 5-minute walk, or a 3-minute run).

The apartment unit has a 'home away from home' feel, unlike the typical hotel room. Would recommend this to families or big groups.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biancajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    119
    68
    8
    3
See reviews for
74
29
11
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The greatest asset this hotel has is the fact that it is located right in the middle of Miri city with a shopping mall attached to it.

In terms of customers' service mindset, the management need to seriously look into implementing a work culture to SMILE more. The management must remember that the comfort of your guests staying at your hotel is your number ONE Priority and they deserve a service with a smile from your staff. This was clearly lacking when I checked into the hotel on 27 April 2012 where the reception staff servicing me has one of the most "unwelcoming" face I have ever encountered. To further add to this when I inquire whether there were WIFI available in the room, instead of answering me, he just pointed to a small notice near the counter that said "WIFI Available". I was shocked at the response I received and I wonder is that the normal work culture of this hotel or only just especially for me?

I will be making monthly trips to Miri and will give this hotel another try this month (May 2012) and if the lack of customer service attitude still persisted, I will give this hotel a pass after May and will seriously not recommend it.

Cheers

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in a One-room apartment suite on the 22nd floor of this Hotel March 2012. The suite room is spacious, reasonably clean and quiet, although a bit dated in its furnishing. We could see the sea and the hills from othe bed room. The hotel is centrally located and close to most amenities, restaurants and cafe. The service is professional.
When in Miri, I recommend visiting Tua Pek Kong Temple, the Fan Garden and SE Asia's biggest Taoist temple, the San-Qing temple in the Krokop area. Take a walk up (30 minutes) or a taxi ride to the Canadian Hill to visit Malaysia's first oil well, the Grand Old Lady and the petroleum Museum. On top of the hill, you could get quite a good view of the whole Miri City.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if you want good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 410Kim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is my favorite hotel when I am in Miri, Sarawak. Good location with good room at 23rd Floor which meet my expectation. Good value & always satisfying. This is the only hotel that provide complimentary imported mineral water, Evian Brand! If anyone who visit Miri for the 1st time, stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanifflai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A group of 7 of us rented a 3 bedroom apartment. Place was spacious, clean & comfotable.
Location was convenient. Price was very reasonable. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.3 km away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.2 km away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
180 reviews
0.4 km away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
251 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#7 of 31 in Miri
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Imperial Hotel Jalan Pos, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,644 - ₹ 4,257
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Miri, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing