We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful and fitting”

Sandakan Memorial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 725.96*
and up
3-Day Tour from Sabah: Sandakan Sightseeing and...
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 20 December 2017

This small oasis of calm and peace is a fitting tribute to all those who lost their lives in this appalling act in recent history. The small museum was beautifully constructed and the gardens well kept. The old machinery gives a small sense of plave and purpose as well. Our disappointment was there was nowhere to be able to make a donation towards the upkeep. Do visit and learn more about this little known part of the war.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank CalHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"death marches"
in 94 reviews
"pow camp"
in 48 reviews
"australian government"
in 19 reviews
"british soldiers"
in 15 reviews
"who lost their lives"
in 16 reviews
"moving tribute"
in 12 reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 11 reviews
"an aussie"
in 9 reviews
"during wwii"
in 22 reviews
"brave men"
in 9 reviews
"second world war"
in 20 reviews
"dawn service"
in 7 reviews
"sobering experience"
in 7 reviews
"small museum"
in 17 reviews
"moving place"
in 10 reviews
"japanese occupation"
in 12 reviews
"piece of history"
in 9 reviews
Filter

84 - 88 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Eating time of day to visit. It was dusk and all the insects were biting. Peaceful contemplating the horror of years gone by

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We visited the memorial on the way to stay at Sepilok we asked the taxi driver if he would divert and wait for us while we visited. We spent about 45 minutes walking around this very peaceful place. Not having known too much about the history before our visit it was shocking to learn what had happened and of the sheer brutality that had taken place. It is really worth taking time to go there and remember those who suffered.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Beauf0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We timed our trip to Borneo to attend the memorial for the service to commemorate the Sandakan Death Marches. The service held annually on the 15 August each year is a poignant reminder of the sacrifices made by service men and local people in defence of freedom. The lives of the 8 Australian soldiers would not have been saved except for the help by the indigenous people. The story of the deaths of over 2500 allied troops would then never have been told. It is definitely worth the trip to this memorial to learn about the sacrifice and bravery during those dark times.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Sunshine3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

i have been to kundasang memorial park and although both of these memorial parks speaks for the POW, kundasang memorial park is more happy with people taking nice pictures of the scenery, while the one in sandakan is more solemn and more stories written and presented at this place in a proper museum. according to the history, this site has been destroyed previously and left very little remainings and thus a lot of it has to be done with imagination. Im not a history person but i find this place interesting.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank dogtortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandakan Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Sandakan Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing