We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel with room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in the deluxe king size bed room.

Pro

1) It's clean because the hotel is rather new.

2) Tactful staff

Cons

1) Find it a bit pricey as the room is quite simple even though it's spacious.

2) Door not very secure, no double lock from within

3) Air con was not working in the midnight. The reception advised me to take out key & insert again. Quite weird air con system.

4) American breakfast too simple for the price paid for the room.

Overall, pay less for superior room to make your stay worthy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shironuhiubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    9
    11
    7
See reviews for
4
24
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I've been travelling to Sandakan monthly for Business meeting for the past 2years, been hoping into multiple hotel in the region ranging from budget to 4-star.
I found out about this hotel and decided to try it on as i've already seen every hotel available in sandakan.

Upon arrival it doesn't really make a good impression, but it all changes when i stepped into the reception lobby,
Staff - very friendly, welcoming me with warm smile

Check in - was very fast although i did booked online, some other hotels still take times even if you've booked it.

ROOM - I MUST STRESS, this is 1 the thing that blast my mind out as when i walked into the room it was SPACIOUS, CLEAN & PLEASANT. It's almost like i've check into a 5-star hotel room.

INTERNET - if you're someone who need high speed internet for work this is the only HOTEL in whole of sandakan you'll be staying. SpeedTested with download speed of 1Mbs, compared to the 4-star hotel i've stayed which is only around 200kbs. Needless to say i need this speed at least.

LJ Grill - dine in on 1 of my night, food variety is not much but quality of food i must say 1 of the best steak i've had in sandakan better than English Tea House. Was greeted by their F&B manager, a really friendly guy.

Overall, i'll be in this hotel for as long as i need to be in sandakan. No more other hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is only about RM50 extra, and it's twice as big compared to the standard room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khusari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Yes the hotel is located in a slightly inconvenient location in Mile 4 however you aren't missing a whole lot by not being located in the centre of Sandakan.
Absolutely everything surpassed my expectations. The service and cleanliness of the hotel room was far better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed at in Asia.
I can highly recommend this hotel particularly if you are looking at a relaxing night before you head off somewhere else.
The rooms include wifi and Internet connectivity through the tv.
Unbeatable for the price!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maxxxi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

This hotel has been open about six months, and is spotlessly clean with all amenities, even free WiFi and TV internet facilities. It appears to be family run, and all the staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. There is one restaurant open even though two are advertised on the website. Food good, a mix of western Malaysian and steak. Breakfast is in an open air covered atrium, and was a choice of Continental or American. Atmosphere great.
However, the hotel has been built in the middle of a new satellite commercial centre about 15 minutes from Sandakan. None of the commercial spaces are occupied yet, which gives the hotel the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere. It suited us though, as we were visiting the Orang Utan sancuary at Sepilok and the hotel is on the road to Sepilok, making it 15 minutes closer than Sandakan.
I really hope they can hang on long enough for the area around it to develop, they deserve to make it. It is a lovely place.

Room Tip: When the area develops, a room overlooking the atrium may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandJ150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Not sure where to start with this review, which is most unlike me, but like a good responsible traveller I almost always post a review of where me and the hubibie stay. First up, I realised that the Best Western in Sandakan, was relatively a new hotel when I booked, but I hadn't realised just how new until we turned up in a taxi. When our taxi pulled up outside my heart sank, but more about that in a minute, but first the positives.

Check-in was friendly and efficient, great bell boy service and we were served fresh orange juice and then shown quickly to our room on the first floor. We'd booked a deluxe room which was just absolutely pure luxury; king size bed, flat screen TV, rainwater shower, desk and chair, sofas, kettle with complimentary tea and coffe and well, probably one of the best rooms that we have stayed in throughout Asia. Breakfast, which was included in our price, was great and the free Wi-Fi was quick and solid. A real bonus, especially because we needed internet for both business and travel blogging. All of the staff were friendly and smiley and couldn't do enough to make our trip more enjoyable.

And now for the downside and I'm afraid there is one. Best Western had only been opened a couple of weeks when we turned up and building works were still in progress. Not just in the hotel but also in the hotel block and the surrounding blocks. We'd booked a deluxe room because the booking.com website said it had a private baloncy; it did not and neither did any of the rooms appear to have private balcony's. Our room looked out on to an unfinished industrial block with works very much in progress.

What was worse still, was the fact that the Cowie's bar, as advertised on Booking.com and in the hotels own literature, wasn't finished or open and neither was there a functioning restaurant or any room service available. There was a smalll Malaysian restaurant about a minute away from reception in the same unit as the hotel, but only Malaysian food on offer and no alcohol. Perhaps the worst thing about Best Western Salakan is that it is s about 15 minutes from Sandakan town, okay only 10 minutes from the airport, but its in the middle of nowhere. No bars, no restaurants, no nightlife within walking distance. No nothing. Mind you, Sandakan town itself, is a dump, so there is really no need to stay in or be amonst the centre.

All in all, a lovely remote hotel with great potential. Maybe in 12 months time, when the hotels has established itself and building works have been completed it will be a real secret gem. But for now, only stay if you want remote luxury, and only then, if you can negotiate a good price. I was happy with my stay but would have been even happier with a cheap rate bearing in mind that the hotel wasn't ready. BTW, I booked with booking.com and the rate was even higher than the Best Western website rate, so check that out first before booking.

Room Tip: Search the internet for the best rate or, if staying in 2011 negotiate best rate with the hotel dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SerialBlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
14.7 km away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
17.7 km away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
18.0 km away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
18.8 km away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
10.6 km away
The Pavilion Hotel
The Pavilion Hotel
#13 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan

Property: Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Address: Lot E-1-G, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4 Lorong 3, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,426 - ₹ 3,954
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best WESTERN Sandakan Hotel and residence is now affiliated to RCI, THE only RCI hotel in Sabah. We have added 32 New hotel rooms and now we have a total of 80 rooms. We have mine 2 Bedrooms family apartment , 1 handicap Room, 1 honeymoon suite and 69 standard, superior and deluxe rooms.We have a new banquet hall capacity for 600 pax Fully air condition., suitable for marriage function, annual dinner, meetings , concert etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing