We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,738)
Filter reviews
1,738 results
Traveller rating
358
734
372
164
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
734
372
164
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri nelayan restaurant main restaurant beach bar deluxe chalet dive centre fish rengis island main gate tekek village dinner buffet small island water activities coral island beautiful beach monitor lizards beach front marine life
Filter
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 1,738 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We live in KL and went in person to their KL office to book. I asked if there were any detached chalets right on the beach and I was told no there weren’t and that the best we could get would be a deluxe chalet with a sea view in a block of 4 chalets. She lied of course, but the detached chalets are the standard chalets, not as expensive as the deluxe, so you know the rest.

The first room we were offered was right next to the pool, so I declined because of the noise factor and the only other room with a sea view that they had was at the far end of the resort close to the entrance. On arrival at the room we were dismayed to see an ugly water effluent pipe running above ground and discharging into the sea right in front of our room. Our room backed on to a suspect looking creek and there was a distinctive odour, whether it was from the pipe or the creek we weren’t game to check it out.

The deluxe chalet was fine, everything worked but it was plain and rather boring in a 1980’s type style with louvered shuttered doors that banged. There was an adjoining door so you could hear the baby crying next door. The air conditioner was situated right alongside the bed so we had to pin a sarong using some string to deflect the air flow from us, so we could sleep.

To say this resort owns a huge amount of land, the architect couldn’t have done a worse job if he had tried. The chalets are all on top of each other and there is a distinctive Butlins feel about the place. The resort is obviously in with the major tour agents in Europe and in August was full of German/Dutch families so you can imagine how many free beach beds there were. I suspect the better positioned rooms are block booked by these agents. The pool was unsupervised and chaotic as a result, balls landing close to your head as you tried to swim.

The dive centre is a twenty to thirty minute walk away and there is no shuttle service, although you can sometimes get one of the buggies to take you, if you are lucky. The snorkelling in front of the hotel is poor and it is quite a long way out to anything decent. Snorkelling trips run from the dive centre to Rengis island and they drop you off on a floating pontoon. Unfortunately there is a strong current running constantly around the island so you have to swim the gauntlet into the island where the current abates. It is not for beginners but decent snorkelling when you get there.

Three days into our stay, my husband had to make an emergency visit to the doctor in the town. Whether he got the dysentery from the lunch we had outside the resort or the buffet dinner at the resort later that day, we will never know, but the doctor quickly diagnosed the problem, gave us the correct medications and only charged us 15RMB. The best deal on the island!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ronaldmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to share with us your review of the resort.

We will share your comments with our Central Reservation Office. Our Standard and Superior Chalet are basically Garden View while Deluxe Chalet is located near the beach front. We have some single unit Standard and some double unit Standard. As for Superior and Deluxe, they are in blocks of four (two room upstairs and two rooms downstairs)

Meanwhile we would like to take the time to clarify that the discharge meets the national standard set by the DOE. (National discharge standard set for Islands is higher compared to Mainland). We are required by law to get independent lab testing for the discharge which will be submitted to DOE directly. At the same time, DOE does regular spot checks on the discharge as well.

The closest snorkeling spot is Renggis Island. For snorkeling, we recommend the part facing the marine centre directly (the back portion of the island is more for diving as it is deeper). Snorkelers are required to use lifejacket as a safety precaution.

We are sorry to hear of your husband’s condition. We trust that he has recovered and is well.

We apologize for the shortfall or distress you may have suffered due to the points mentioned. Thank you once again and we hope to see you return in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Tan
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this resort and had very good experience. The chalet was clean and maintained well through our stay. The beach was raked nicely which made it a pleasure to sit at and watch the beautiful waves and jump into the blue water. We also enjoyed diving in Berjaya, it was well done as the dive master really focussed on each person individually and ensured ultimate safety throughout the whole dives. The spa was very clean and very professional - we both enjoyed it. There were smaller incidents (e.g. ants at the bar area) which once mentioned during a chat to Pravir (assist. manager) were addressed and resolved. In general, the customer satisfaction seems to be a main focus and concern (any concerns were followed up on - which for me means that we want to return). Check-in and out were smooth and really quick, staff was friendly and helpful - overall I would recommend this resort for a nice, relaxing getaway - Andre Franzen

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed there in a deluxe room facing the beach in mid August and it met our needs even if it was slightly below expectations.

We still had a very good time because location is fantastic.

But as I see too many reviews, I decided to concentrate on usefull tips :

1- Berjaya Air : Don't expect a nice jet. They are flying Dash planes which are very old. Even though the 1 hour ride from Kuala Lumpur was smooth, they should really think about upgrading the fleet !

This is still the easiest and quickest way to come to Tioman. And if you booked at Berjaya resort, a bus will drive you there.

2- Rooms : Found the Deluxe rooms ok even if bathrooms would need refreshing.

Air conditioning however was an issue. The remote control will not direct the flow as you wish. So you end up with the cold air in your face at night, best way to catch a cold !
All you need to do is fix the flap by hand.

3- Food : Breakfast is ok. Lunch is a la carte and is ok.
Dinner buffet is mediocre and would definitely need some improvement.
But the Thai next to it is much better even if it is more expensive.

4- Beach : The resort does not have enough seats on the beach. To have one, you need to do what others do. Go to the beach very early morning and put your towel on a seat to mark your territory, then have breakfast etc. Otherwise, you will never have a seat in the shade.

5- Swimming : Water is quite shallow is it is safe for kids. The sea is full of fish and very nice ones.
To make sure you get the best, make sure to bring your mask. Otherwise, you can buy one from the gift shop in the lobby. Absolutely necessary.

When you want to find fish, find the rocks in some areas. They are usually where the fish will gather to find food.

6- Diving : if your package has a snorkelling trip included, do it !
The boat takes you to a platform and leaves you there ! You are supposed to have only 30 minutes but they don't really watch the time so stay as long as you want.

But note this is for relatively good swimmers as the water around the platform is about 10 M deep. It gets shallower as you get close to the Renggis Island.

We were lucky enough to see a turtle and a baby reef shark about 1 M long (they are easily scared and dissapear very quickly).

The corals are fantastic in quantity and shapes.

7- Glass bottom boat : Not as impressive as we would have thought because the glass is too small and the boat casts a shadow over the very nice sea bottom colors which would need light to reveal their splendor. It takes you to the same area as the snorkelling trip and is still a great option if you are not confident enough to swim.

8- Overall Feeling : Found it was a good holiday even if you get the feeling that you are at the Hotel California... Everything is organized so that you will spend your money there and it works. We did not venture going outside because the resort has plenty to offer. And because the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JeffBHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your staying with us and also feedback on your experience at the Berjaya Tioman Resort.

We would like to clarify on Berjaya Air operations for Tioman Island. Dash 7 is the only plane that can land and take off for the existing runway in Tioman Island. Berjaya Air operates the newer ATR 72 for Redang Island as the runway is longer.

One can possibly get a Northern Indian or Thai dish for less than the price of a buffet dinner at Sri Nelayan. Alternatively, ala carte is available at Sri Nelayan or Steamboat fondue at Matahari.

We have taken note of your comment about the air con and the bathroom. We have changed air con units for 90% our Deluxe Chalets. The balance will be completed by later this year.

It is nice to know you had a good holiday. Thank you once again and we hope to see you return in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Tan
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The service and facilities as well as the restaurants are very good and also fair priced I would say. Unfortunately we cannot say the same for the rooms. The bathrooms need urgent renovation. Hairdryer does not work and the shower leakes. Water heater also does not work and the shower head has to be taken off the holder to shower. We even didn't have hand towels for the first two days.
The mattress is an old spring core type which is too soft and not really comfortable. There is also no minibar but an empty fridge.
If you have neighbours, good luck! The walls are like paper and two rooms are connected with a door that does not insulate at all.
Now, the positive things: The facilities are really nice and the service is great. There is a very beauiful private beach with enough beds for everybody. We always found an empty spot. Also the pool and poolbar are very nice.
We had dinner at the Coriander Seed and the main restaurant. Both was nice and delicious but the buffet dinner is overpriced with 70RM. We had ecxellent dinner in the Coriander Seed for less than that incl. dessert.
If you intend to book any trips, better book with the Hotels agency and not the other one. They charge a bit more but the service and packages are worth the higher price. Trust us here!

If you travel by ferry, please check the schedule more than just one time with multiple sources. Check the schedule right at the ferry terminal and ask two or three people at the counter for confirmation. Make also sure you get tickets for the right ferry when signing up! Doublecheck more then one time here as well. We had to wait almost 4h as we signed in the wrong list. First come - first server? No really!!! And the ferry should cost 70RM return ticket. Not 30USD!

But the island is perfect. Soooo nice. It was worht all the hassle.
Stay around Tekek as you have good connection around if you feel bored at your beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanzarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback always appreciated to enable us to improve ourselves.

We are disappointed that we have let you down with our service experience. We take a serious view on service consistency and had spoken to the Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager to look into their service standards. We have taken note of your feedback about the connecting door. We will review this for our upcoming room renovation.

Mini bar are intentionally left empty for Standard and Superior Chalets for guests to fill up the minibar with their preferred drinks. As pointed out, ordering ala carte at Coriander Seeds can possibly be cheaper than our Buffet Dinner.

There is only one Ferry operator plying to Tioman Island, Bluewater Express which is RM70 per person return. We do recommend guests to check and verify with Bluewater Express on a day before departure for the updated schedule.

Thank you for your valued comments again. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Michael Tan
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Fair looking property..but rooms need a lot of maintainence work...bathroom door frame rotting away...AC was ok...staff were unfriendly ..maybe except for 1 lady working at the activities counter..the rest of the staff are totally un smiling lot...u never get greeted with a smile...(tourism industry)...also while leaving the Bus boy was downright rude and said that he couldnt take me ..untill i had to tell him my family was already on board the bus and he only had to load the luggage...absolutely no courtesy whatsoever...will def not book myself into this hotel again..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avinash_gopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking your time to pen the review on your recent stay with us.

We are terribly disappointed that we have let you down with our service experience. We do take a serious view on employee service consistency. We do not condone nor do we tolerate staff’s being rude.

We apologize for the shortfall in service or distress you may have suffered due to the shortcomings. We sincerely hope you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back with a positive experience.


Sincerely,
Michael Tan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews