We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average property ..poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Fair looking property..but rooms need a lot of maintainence work...bathroom door frame rotting away...AC was ok...staff were unfriendly ..maybe except for 1 lady working at the activities counter..the rest of the staff are totally un smiling lot...u never get greeted with a smile...(tourism industry)...also while leaving the Bus boy was downright rude and said that he couldnt take me ..untill i had to tell him my family was already on board the bus and he only had to load the luggage...absolutely no courtesy whatsoever...will def not book myself into this hotel again..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avinash_gopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking your time to pen the review on your recent stay with us.

We are terribly disappointed that we have let you down with our service experience. We do take a serious view on employee service consistency. We do not condone nor do we tolerate staff’s being rude.

We apologize for the shortfall in service or distress you may have suffered due to the shortcomings. We sincerely hope you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back with a positive experience.


Sincerely,
Michael Tan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 732 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

Berjaya is a good hotel with all things which have to be in a 4-star hotel - pools, few restaurants, golf, tennis courts. But there is no romantic in this hotel. The bungalows are staying close to each other, a lot of people walking around, the restaurants are overcrowded almost always. The beach is really good - a lot of palms, great sand, no people. I stayed in Superior Room - nice, clean, with air-con and fan, but the room connected with other room and divided by door, so I can heard every noise from other room. Boat transfers are very expensive, more cheaper to buy them outside the hotel. The hotel connected with the Tekek by road, so you can rent a motorbike (about 10$ per hour or 25$ per day) to go to duty-free shops or restaurants outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your feedback on your experience at the Berjaya Tioman Resort.

We have taken note of your feedback about the connecting door. We will review this for our upcoming room renovation.

August being the start of the summer holiday period which is also our busiest time of the year reflected in the greater number of tourists. We regret that this has affected your experience with us.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you return in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Tan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here with friends for 2 nights n 3 days ,the stay is ok nothing to boast about ,the island though is beautiful ....rooms are standard with tiled flooring bathrooms are too small ...our friends room ac want working properly ...room service isn't great ,morning we called in the bell boy to collect our luggage he took his own sweet time to come n collect ....our rooms were located in the first floor which means we've to carry our luggage one flight of steps ,when we checked in the bell boy said if he's tipped he will take the luggage up or he won't ....ridiculous ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank preeti a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to share with us your review of the resort.

We are terribly disappointed that we have let you down with our service experience. We have sent a private message to your Trip Advisor inbox with regards to this matter.

We apologize for the shortfall in service or distress you may have suffered due to the shortcomings. We sincerely hope you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back with a positive experience.

Sincerely,

Michael Tan
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We took a mid week break to Tioman, with our youngest adult son visiting from the US. We had heard that the island was a relatively unspoiled jungle environment, with great snorkeling and a very relaxing atmosphere and were extremelly pleased with what we encountered.

We purchased a package deal that included bus transportation from Singapore and the ferry from Mersing. The trip took more than 6 hours (each way) but the destination was well worth it. ADVICE: go for a 4 day package, a 3 day package including the travel time is too short.

We had a nice comfortable room right on the beach with sufficient space for the additional bed. Breakfast was included in the package and it was pretty good. For lunch (which was not included in our package) we went ala carte and it was very good. We were well pleased with the food quality and service at the resort.

However for dinner we went to the seafood restaurant just outside of the resort which was really good, it is a simple open air strucutre but the fresh fish and seafood was delicious and the service was very friendly. Although they did not sell alcohol, we could bring our own wine and beer (buy it at one of the local duty free shops) and the restaurant even provided wine glasses and an ice bucket, we ate dinner there every night of our stay.

The hotel activities desk was very helpful and we went on the organized jungle trek and the snorkeling trip, both of which were very worth while. The snorkeling at the little island just off the resort was great.

We very much enjoyed out time at the Berjaya resort and on Tioman and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms are arranged in an unusual manner, for example we had a beach front room but our door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonandJean-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Introduction
Located on the scenic Tioman Island, near Tekek Village, the Berjaya Tioman Resort boasts the best, and most numerous facilities of any resort on Tioman Island. Furthermore, the Berjaya Tioman Resort is located directly in front of the Renggis Island diving spot, which is accessible via its own jetty.


Ambience
Ambience at Berjaya Tioman Resort is superb, being located beside the beach. You'll be able to catch the beautiful sunrise / sunset, and the waters are clear enough that you'll be able to see some corals near the beach. At night, stars are clearly visible.


Room
We stayed at the Berjaya Tioman Resort Superior Chalet, with came with complimentary breakfast at the Sri Nelayan Coffee House Restaurant. I found the Superior Chalet to be comfortable enough, with proper beds, bathroom facilities, mini pantry, and even air-conditioning. No kitchen or dining area though, but eating out isn't an issue.


Food
Food at Sri Nelayan Coffee House Restaurant is pretty decent, with a choice of buffet style or ala-carte. We didn't eat at any of the other restaurants and bars here, because there was cheap local food and beers just outside the resort.


Service
Service at Berjaya Tioman Resort is excellent. We noted that staff would clean litter from the beaches and resort in the early morning, ensuring that visitors would wake up to a clean and beautiful scene. They also cleared sand from the outdoor showers, and will tidy the rooms in the afternoon. Staff at Berjaya Tioman Resort are able to converse in English, friendly, helpful and very efficient. The staff are actually quartered just beside the resort.


Facilities & Activities
Tioman Island is known for its Beaches and Diving Sites. Not surprisingly, water activites such as Snokeling and Scuba Diving are among the most popular activities offered by Berjaya Tioman Resort. The lobby has a list of packages for your choice.

Tip: You'll generally be able to bargain for a slightly lower price, or for a package to include more activities. Also, the timings of the various activities are semi-negotiable.


For those who aren't keen on water activities, the numerous other indoor and outdoor land based facilities and activities offered by Berjaya Tioman Resort should keep you occupied. More popular activities include the Jungle Trek, Massage / Spa or Golf.

Room Tip: The Superior Chalet rooms are the furthest from the lobby, restaurant, and facilities. The Deluxe ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunningMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
7.6 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
532 reviews
10.2 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.2 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
10.2 km away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
347 reviews
3.6 km away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#10 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: ₹ 4,186 - ₹ 9,681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing