We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,737)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveller rating
358
733
372
164
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
733
372
164
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri nelayan restaurant main restaurant beach bar deluxe chalet dive centre fish rengis island main gate tekek village dinner buffet small island water activities coral island beautiful beach monitor lizards beach front marine life
Filter
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We (my wife, our 3 kids (6 yo, 4 yo & 9 months old) spent 7 days in July 2012 at Berjaya Tioman Resort.

We had booked our stay 3 or 4 months before and thus had had great prices. We succeeded in booking two connected Deluxe rooms, and we asked to be placed not close to the main "food" building to avoid noise in the evening.

To sum up our stay, I will do a "+" and "-" listing. I try to be objective, and to clarify, I have spent time in [--] hotels such as in top luxury ones in my life.

+ :

> they respected what we had booked (connected rooms, baby cot, far from the pool/restaurant)
> staff is mainly super cool, especially with kids. you can ask them things (for instance at the buffet when something is lacking. they will go back in the kitchen and bring you some stuff you asked for back)
> beach is great, lots of fishes to see (snorkling) close to the beach (with only 1 m deep)
> pool is really great with fun things for the kids. they loved it!
> buffet & bbq food is really great. no belly aches at all during the stay. lots of choice, ideal formula with kids. fresh, for all the tastes, easy.
> deluxe rooms are comfortable, spacious, and really close to the beach what is a blast! (we had the 235 & 236). beds are great. air con works, TV with 4-5 international channels too. easy safe, ...

- / advices :

> staff and local people don't speak english well. so sometimes it is very hard to explain what you want.
> rooms and especially bathrooms are too old. a renewal would be great. it is no big deal (they are clean), but a great renewal would let people think that the resort is a real 4 star one. those bath rooms cannot make you think this. you will survive. it's just you cannot take a bath without filling water all the time (the dump is not waterproof for the bath and for the sinks).
> do not buy a coconut from one of the guys who clean the alleys close to the beach. they will be more expensive (10 ringgits) and not as good as the ones you can buy at the pool bar (fresh and at 8.5 ringgits).
> do not say yes to the pool towels man (orange shirt) who will propose you a road trip in the island in a 4*4 Mercedes. he will ask you 200 ringgits. the car was insecure (no Mercedes...but a small Proton one), they don't really care about what you want to do. I think you should try to do it by the official way with better cars. the towels guy is friendly but I suggest just to say "no thank you".
> if you want the good spots to stay and tan near the pool or the beach, wake up early (7-8 am) and put your own stuff on the long chairs you want (don't forget mattresses). if you don't, it will be difficult to find great spots later.
> the chinese fondue at the restaurant close to the lobby, on the beach, could have been great. BUT: they only have light plastic table and chairs, it is badly organized (food to cook is on a plate close to the table that stahds on a fragile stand, and the fondue machine takes quite all the space on the table and there is boiling stuff in it)... and it is quite dangerous because all this stuff is unstable.
> the day you leave, the plane for Singapore takes off at 12.45 but Berjaya Resort ask you to be at the lobby at 10 am and the airport transfer bus goes at 10.30 at the airport. at 11am, you are in the "airport boarding room", all stuff done (luggages, check-in, immigration, ...) and so you have nearly 2 hours to wait for in this little room that is quite hot (hopefully there are fans that work). toilets are [--]...

to sum up : a great place to stay for a family with young kids. the resort needs a kind of refreshment (bathrooms especially), but it is a great value. the place is amazing, and it is easy to manage the kids, and organize your "lazy life" there :-).
I recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChuckM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
1311
Reviewed 13 August 2012

A nice hostel in Tioman Island but very expensive for Malaysia
We booked a superior chalet for 520 RM/night. The room was clean and quiet, the king size bed was just wonderful. We especially appreciated the private beach which was like a dream.
I recommand it for a last night in Malaysia before coming back to France.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spend 3 nights with some friends and we enjoyed our stay very much . Free shuttle service from airport to the hotel was provided with no delay. The Resort is build with chalets spread out with an awesome beach front. The Resort is equipped with full recreational facilities, an 18 hole golf course, a dive centre , Games room, Gymn room, 2 swimming pools , a spa, gift shop , coffee house , restaurant and beach bar . The activity desk at the front lobby handles bicycles for rent and trips to island snorkelling at Coral island. We stayed in a Standard Chalet. It is big with comfortable kingsize bed, complimentary mineral water & coffee/tea facilities. Superb bathroom amenities and good clean thick towels. This is a nice place to relax , we shall not hesitate to recommend our friends here .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Berjaya Tioman Resort recently.

We are glad to glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The resort also offer a football field, volleyball and basket ball court as well in addition to the facilities mentioned.

We are grateful that you took time to rate and review our property and we are looking forward to have you once again with us.

Sincerely,

Michael Tan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I really love the island and we had a great time, but there are just so many things the resort fail at:

- service is bad, lack of friendliness and good service. The staff have problems understanding basic english, which led to a number of misunderstandings.
- We were promised an refurbished room, but on arrival the room had "hot" water problems. How convenient...

- Bar had friendly staff but we noticed on our last night that they actually cleaned all glass by hand with no soap, just a quick rinse with water and serve to a new unsuspecting guest. I could not believe my eyes. What is the kitchen like?

- Are you looking to sleep on your vacation? The resort is crammed with kids and families that pay no attention to other guests wanting to sleep in. We were constantly awoken by kids screaming from 07.00 + staff driving their noisy cars at all hours of the day.

- Food: the buffet was ok but eating there felt like being on a feeding fest with hungry lions and kids, total chaos. There is one good restaurant at the resort, which is an indian/thai inspired restaurant. Fantastic food:-). Stay away from the main buffet restaurant.

- At this resort it felt like being back in school. Everyday we had to sign for towels and bring them back by 7, or be smacked by a fee. Sunbeds are hard to come by. And why is there no drink service at thebeach?

- Rooms are ok, but in need of an upgrade.

You might think we had a bad time, actually not, as we enjoyed our stay. All the things mentioned above + more are things to consider . This is not a 4 star resort. The island is a 5 star place, so make sure you spend time outside and not too much time on the resort:-)
BTW: Tioman has fantastic water and scuba opportunities.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to share with us your review of the resort.

Our Guest Services had pre blocked a room for you. However, the said room had problem with the water heater. We had to change the water heater and it had taken longer than expected.

We have taken note of the comment on the bartender and wish to inform you that we had been making regular spot checks to ensure that no such thing happen.

We have seen an increase of families travelling during this summer holiday period which is also our busiest time of the year. We regret that this has affected your experience with us.

We do not enforce the towel ruling strictly but we would like to get all the beach towels back for us to wash and prepare them for the next day.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort or distress you may have suffered due to the shortcomings. Thank you once again and we hope to see you return in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Tan
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

A huge sprawling resort built on prime location with kilometers of fantastic beach. It's just a shame though that when the tide is low, you could see dead corals littering the sand. I wonder how it must have been 20 years ago. Facilities include golf course, dive centre, games room, bicycle for hire, activities desk, water sports and two swimming pools. Our package include dive or golf lesson, which we did not use. We wanted to use the spa and kept on dialling the number stated on the brochure, which no one picked up. Later we were told that their phone was faulty. Ha! We were housed on the upper level of Superior chalet next to the tennis courts and a stone throw away from the beach. The room was spacious but dated. Bathroom kit was marvellous and gentle to the skin and hair. Bed was huge and comfortable. We did not like the tiled floor though. Buffet breakfast and dinner were alright. There's a good café just outside the hotel main gate. Tasty food and much lower price. Shuttle service to the small airport is free. But there is no shuttle available to the main village, Tekek. A nice place to just sit back and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevelLingMinahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews