We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Just came back about a week ago, there were 9 of us, my room-mate got horrible marks from bed bugs the first night when she slept in the room, we requested to change the mattress and bedding stuff the next day. The rest of the girls all got bitten by bed bugs in the TV room where the cushions on the sofa were full of bed-bugs. None of us could wear skirts for the next couple of months, all thanks to the horrible marks on our legs. Still cannot imagine that we could get bitten by bed bugs in this kind of resort.

Other than the bed bugs, we enjoyed our stay in the resort. The snorkeling was amazing!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank vvworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us at the Berjaya Tioman Resort. We value your valuable feedback as it allows us to improve for the benefit of our future guests.
Our deepest and most sincere apologies for experience. We have since appointed the services of a well known International Pest Control. We are following up and monitoring closely.
We are pleased that you did enjoy other aspects of your stay especially snorkeling. Next time you plan to visit Tioman, please do let me know and will ensure you have a more pleasant memories.

Michael Tan
Hotel Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 876 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

Thank you for this opportunity to voice my latest holiday woes with your Travel Enthuasist's.

My Family and I stayed September 23th for four nights at The Bejaya Resort Tioman Island. We have stayed previously and encountered similar problems as other guest's with leaking toilets, bathroom in desperate need of repair and A/C not working to full extent..in which case you have got to wonder if the Maintence Dept are aware of all chalets repair's or management 'Just dont Care' . Our room this stay, was excellent with interconnecting (for my teenagers). Apart from the Bathrooms desperatly needing a makeover we went for two days without knowing about a switch that turns on the hot water heater. The weather was hot so cold was OK!. Our Kids managed to get food poisioning at the same time -from where we are not 100% sure. I have to give praise to the the main Chef who we spoke to while overseeing his Buffet - we mentioned that our daughter is Chronic Ceoliac he appeared to understand all the implications with this and offered to cook a delightful breakfast.. as well as offered any further assistance for the lenght of out stay. The staff generally were friendly, but the lack of English and what appears to be Hospitality Training, is a major negative for this resort.
Allowing Smoking in restaurants....Yes it appears the Europens havnt heard 'it's just not acceptable' from the rest of the world.
You have one magical location, one 3 star hotel in need of repair, and such potential begging for marketing and sales!
There is a pool swim up bar. My husband and I went to sit on the 'dry side' for a eveing cocktail. Without sounding snobish, we had to ask the two staff members who were smoking & lounging around, if we could use the 'only two' bar chairs, to sit and watch the sunset with a cocktail. The Music was Doof Doof and played repeatly. The staff had No Idea about service more about playing on their phones and 'smoking'. There were no staff taking orders/delivering drinks poolside, let alone offering nibbles with cocktails. We dont expect 'Rafflles' but surely when your classified as 4-5 star resort these are the things that make sitting beside a pool with coctails, rememerable!

The Sandflys are at epademic levels. It is day 14 since being bitten and still suffering. I have scars on my feet from over40 bites per foot. My head , back, arms and legs front and back are so severly bitten I have had to take some days off work upon return. The Staff (management) are well aware of this and I feel they should at least warn you about certain times of day to stay off the beach. But again it gets back to their simple lack of care attitude and lack of english/hospitality training.
The Island is a Divers and Snorklers Paradise. I have raved about it to all of my friends, but feel now that we wont be recommending nor returning.
I would invite Mr Tan to come off his Yacht and vist his Resort. Walk around the pool and get a feel for his clientelle.

Room Tip: Bring your own Mattress and Pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Guest,

I am deeply sadden and sincerely regret to read your feedback. There is no excuse and I would like you to accept my most sincere apologies for the poor service rendered to your goodself and family members. Rests assure that your comments have been taken very seriously and highlighted to respective heads for immediate action and follow up.

We received a few complaints about sand flies in September and we have scheduled treatment to prevent the sand flies for breeding. We are monitoring the situation and results have been positive so far.

We are so sorry to know that you will not be returning to us but if you ever change your mind and give us benefit of doubt then please do let us know and we will be happy to welcome you back

Michael Tan
Hotel Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Located just a short drive away from the Tekek ferry terminal, the Berjaya Tioman Resort sits on well-maintained grounds and has its own scenic stretch of private beach. We stayed in a Superior chalet – slightly dim, the fittings and furnishings are old but fit in with the rustic atmosphere and are well maintained.

Service was excellent. The staff are consistently helpful and friendly, and it’s easy to chat with them. Free wifi only in the lobby and restaurants, but that’s good enough for a seaside getaway. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Some sea view (Deluxe) chalets will get the evening sun. The Superior chalets have a garden view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

having just returned from the Berjaya Resort I must say it was one of the most relaxing holidays I have ever had. All the staff from the gardener to the managers were most helpful and friendly.
The restaurant staff were also most attentive and looked after us very well.
The snorkelling was amazing , what beautiful fish!.
For anyone looking for a peaceful holiday in beautiful surroundings, this is THE place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryPANGBOURNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here 2 nights superior twin chalet and they managed to get booking wrong as we got to the room we found a queen bed but they managed to sort that out in 10 mins and gave us another room. Rooms are very tired looking. Stained couches, ants in bathroom and toilet seat (check them before you use them as they are big!), TV the size of a computer monitor. Sheets was very thick and warm though but in the tropics? We tried booking a snorkeling tour for the next day from the Activities Desk but the person selling the tour had zero interest at all and gave us one worded answer to my queries. He probably would have been more excited in watching paint dry. Also ended up the trip with multiple red itchy lumps on my skin - bed bugs or sand flies? We never ended up going to the snorkeling as the morning session was cancelled and we were down with food poisoning from the beachside restaurant outside the resort (dont eat seafood there as I dont think they are fresh and it killed the rest of our holidays). Overall - for what we paid, I dont think the hotel is up to standard.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback on your experience at the Berjaya Tioman Resort.
Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the poor service rendered to your goodself.
Rest assure that your comments have been taken very seriously and highlighted to the Rooms Division Manager and the Sports & Recreation Manager for their immediate action and follow up.
We empathize to hear that you did not manage to go for the morning snorkeling trip.
Next time you plan to visit Tioman, please do let me know and will ensure you have a more pleasant memories.

Michael Tan
Hotel Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
7.5 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
535 reviews
10 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.3 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
3.6 km away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#10 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
580 reviews
7.3 km away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: ₹ 4,230 - ₹ 8,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing