We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 152
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Minang Cove Resort(Pulau Tioman)
US$ 158
US$ 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bagus Place Retreat(Pulau Tioman)
US$ 265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$ 379
US$ 313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 159
US$ 132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Impian Inn(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$ 44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tioman Dive Resort(Pulau Tioman)
US$ 66
US$ 59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 80
US$ 73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveller rating
356
717
368
163
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
717
368
163
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri nelayan restaurantmain restaurantbeach bardeluxe chaletdive centrefishrengis islandmain gatetekek villagedinner buffetsmall islandcoral islandwater activitiesbeautiful beachala cartemonitor lizardsbeach front
Filter
Updating list...
1,031 - 1,036 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We spent two weeks on Tioman island, and 4 nights at the Berjaya. It was our least favourite place and I would recommend Bagus place (pricey but stunning) or Juara (cheaper but rustic) as we enjoyed both much more.
To be fair to the Berjaya, let me present the advantages and disadvantages as I saw them as follows:

Advantages:
*Very good breakfast and some choice for evening meals. The Corriander Seed on site was superb and the Chinese Seafood Restaurant outside the resort offered great food.
*It has the most facilities of any of the resorts on the island and so you can access lots of activities and keep busy- having spent 4 days in isolation at Bagus, this was novel for us at first.
*The swimming pools are nice and this would be a good place if you had children that needed to be entertained a lot.

Disadvantages:
*Our standard chalet was not decorated to a standard that you might expect for a room of this price in Asia. it may seem trivial to complain about an ugly lampshade but our experiences of hotels in KL and other parts of the island had raised our expectation and we found the room quite depressing in comparison.
*All of the standard chalets are attached to another room and they are not sound proof. You can hear the TV and coughing very clearly through the walls.
* There is a lot of loud music playing around the resort (by both pools, and it then carries to the beach front too) which really spoils the atmosphere. We didn't travel this far to a remote Malaysian island to listen to Lady GaGa all day.
*The water is a bit dirty on the beach and you can't see any good snorkelling straight from the shore. (in contrast to Bagus where you are swimming with sea turtles within 2 minutes). The beach front is also quite ugly, with a very large concrete jetty and lots of boats driving past.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jecad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Berjaya isn't exactly my kind of hotel, because it is a big resort in a place that could Be exquisite for a boutique hotel... Anyway, i enjoyed my stay as i could relax for real.
The beach is beautifull and maybe the best on this side of the island, the kayaking to redding island is really worth it and also the snorkeling there (that's a pitty that local fisherman and boat renters throw their rubbish directly to the sea!!!).
The rooms are old but clean (we stayed at a deluxe chalet, and the only think about deluxe there was only the size...)
The main problem is that is really hard to find a place to eat around here outside the hotel (everything is really really dirty).
At the resort please don't miss the coriander seed restaurant that is really superb (the chinese one is awfull and the main restaurant is ok).

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritalucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We arrived and was shown our Superior villa, dirty linen, dated, dirty floor, dirty toilet etc. Once I complained I was shown the junior suite, which was lovely but overpriced! So I had to argue to get the free upgrade. Then we headed to the pool for 18.30 even though the towel cabana was open until 1900 there were np towels. And then the pool in the bar was shut. We went and got ready for dinner and got to one of 3 restaurants, all expensive. We got there at9.20 but was told we were too late, even though last seating is at 9.30! So we had pizza in main restaurant. Breakfast was huge but flies all over the food, packed round the pool as not enough room for beds and the beach was dirty and not as lovely as Langkawi. Only found 1 member of staff who would help. And once you get there you're stuck as plane is usually full. There is no way this is 4 star and should not be allowed to put up the picks on the website that they do!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleanlittleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I had a really tough time with deciding where to stay...or even to go too Tioman.
My new wife and I spent 6 days here (March 30-April 5th) before headed to Bali, where we are now. I was oringinally in the Tioman island Resort through. RCI...don't go to these. Instead transfer to BERJAYA BEACH RESORT AND SPA. Next upgrade to the deluxe chalet, and a top floor if possible. These are excellent.
I contacted Berjaya to set up a honeyoon package. They did an excellent job on arranging flowers for the room and a personallized honeymoon cake. THE Mrsm was very happy.
Each day the staff cleaned the rooms and replenished the botteled water and coffee/tea supplies. Although you can apparently drink/use the water I still boiled. That which went into the ice tray.
The other thiing which sets this place apart from the others on the island was how many things can be accessed from berjaya. No joke, this island is tough to get around. There are towns/villiages which are only accessible via boat taxi or jungle trek. I am really happy in retrospect that I didn't book Jampala or Bangus, as nice as they are. There is just nothing to do.
Onto the food. Itms great but waaaaaaaay overpriced. Again, this gives you a chance to go experince the wonderful people on the island. Go up to SALANG for Lunch. In town you get some reallly amazing seafood and hang with the guy we rrefer to as grandpa, or just grab some great thai curry right outside the gates. And let's not forget the great food up in In ABC, Nazri's place offers some great food with a great view.
After touring the island and stopping for a beer or food in nearly each place I highly recommend this place. It also helps to tip the staff when arriving and talk to them a couple of times to confirm everytihng.
Have a good stay

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

--> one of the few compliments, booking the hotel on the phone worked fine
--> arriving in our room, we faced a not cleaned toilet, tiles in the bathroom have seen maybe 1 year ago cleaning utilities and remained dirty until the departure. As it looks like the rainy season was not long enaugh for Berjaya Tioman to organise standard room cleaning
--> condition of rooms, called Superior Chalet (sounds nice, but looks sad and run down) can be compared with Homestay at Kampung
--> Restaurant, we can onlz comment sad sad sad, starting from service and quality. To be honest the cheap Rest & Ride Restaurant you find on the malaysian highways offer 5 star dishes in comparison to Berjaya Tioman Restaurant. Dinner package and breakfast was included in package, but travelling 4 years through beautiful Malaysia I have to say it is the most sad experience we faced.
--> Rainy season was not long enaugh to finish construction work on the beach huts.....
--> as it looks like, on of the biggest pleasure of Berjaya Tioman employees is, to ride a stinky motorbike to the parking lot inside the resort. In order to do so they have to pass the street beside the Chalets and believe us traffic in our Condo in KL is less then in the RESORT. So never ever intend to let your kids running outside alone.
--> cleaning of common streets was done maybe before the rainy season in 2010 everywhere you can see stones and sand
--> interested to rent a bike, yes u can do so 15 RM for 1 hour.... ok in case the bike is a) state of the art b) maintained I would say expensive but ok lah. Having a look on the bikes, you start to ask yourself if management is able to count to 10. In Europa such bikes are disposed and or max 2nd hand vakue is 35 MYR.

To be honest we know that Berjaya Group can do much better and we are a lover of Berjaya Redang resort. As it looks like management and staff from Berjaya Tioman were never able in their life to leave the island and learn about cleaning, hotel management, restraurant management, cooking etc.
Therefore we suggest to use the nice Berjaya Air Plane and send some of the Berjaya Tioman staff for intensive training to their Redang outlet for a couple of month and do not forget to repeat the same for a couple of years as current condition of Berjaya Tioman will really need to overcome the current and sad situation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loebe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews