We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This is a nice and peaceful place for families and couples. We stayed at a Deluxe chalet which was spacious and well kept. These chalets are situated on the beach, enjoying wonderful views as well as a welcoming breeze. Most of the furniture looked new and fresh.

The restaurants served a wide range of lovely food, but the prices are much higher than outside the resort.

Berjaya Tioman has a great staff - including garderners and housekeeping! Always smiling and helpful, wanting you to have a great stay. They may get flustered if you raise your voice or show your irritation, but if you try a softer approach they'll do anything for you.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe Chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tussi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 962 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

We spent two weeks on Tioman island, and 4 nights at the Berjaya. It was our least favourite place and I would recommend Bagus place (pricey but stunning) or Juara (cheaper but rustic) as we enjoyed both much more.
To be fair to the Berjaya, let me present the advantages and disadvantages as I saw them as follows:

Advantages:
*Very good breakfast and some choice for evening meals. The Corriander Seed on site was superb and the Chinese Seafood Restaurant outside the resort offered great food.
*It has the most facilities of any of the resorts on the island and so you can access lots of activities and keep busy- having spent 4 days in isolation at Bagus, this was novel for us at first.
*The swimming pools are nice and this would be a good place if you had children that needed to be entertained a lot.

Disadvantages:
*Our standard chalet was not decorated to a standard that you might expect for a room of this price in Asia. it may seem trivial to complain about an ugly lampshade but our experiences of hotels in KL and other parts of the island had raised our expectation and we found the room quite depressing in comparison.
*All of the standard chalets are attached to another room and they are not sound proof. You can hear the TV and coughing very clearly through the walls.
* There is a lot of loud music playing around the resort (by both pools, and it then carries to the beach front too) which really spoils the atmosphere. We didn't travel this far to a remote Malaysian island to listen to Lady GaGa all day.
*The water is a bit dirty on the beach and you can't see any good snorkelling straight from the shore. (in contrast to Bagus where you are swimming with sea turtles within 2 minutes). The beach front is also quite ugly, with a very large concrete jetty and lots of boats driving past.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jecad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Berjaya isn't exactly my kind of hotel, because it is a big resort in a place that could Be exquisite for a boutique hotel... Anyway, i enjoyed my stay as i could relax for real.
The beach is beautifull and maybe the best on this side of the island, the kayaking to redding island is really worth it and also the snorkeling there (that's a pitty that local fisherman and boat renters throw their rubbish directly to the sea!!!).
The rooms are old but clean (we stayed at a deluxe chalet, and the only think about deluxe there was only the size...)
The main problem is that is really hard to find a place to eat around here outside the hotel (everything is really really dirty).
At the resort please don't miss the coriander seed restaurant that is really superb (the chinese one is awfull and the main restaurant is ok).

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritalucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We arrived and was shown our Superior villa, dirty linen, dated, dirty floor, dirty toilet etc. Once I complained I was shown the junior suite, which was lovely but overpriced! So I had to argue to get the free upgrade. Then we headed to the pool for 18.30 even though the towel cabana was open until 1900 there were np towels. And then the pool in the bar was shut. We went and got ready for dinner and got to one of 3 restaurants, all expensive. We got there at9.20 but was told we were too late, even though last seating is at 9.30! So we had pizza in main restaurant. Breakfast was huge but flies all over the food, packed round the pool as not enough room for beds and the beach was dirty and not as lovely as Langkawi. Only found 1 member of staff who would help. And once you get there you're stuck as plane is usually full. There is no way this is 4 star and should not be allowed to put up the picks on the website that they do!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleanlittleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I had a really tough time with deciding where to stay...or even to go too Tioman.
My new wife and I spent 6 days here (March 30-April 5th) before headed to Bali, where we are now. I was oringinally in the Tioman island Resort through. RCI...don't go to these. Instead transfer to BERJAYA BEACH RESORT AND SPA. Next upgrade to the deluxe chalet, and a top floor if possible. These are excellent.
I contacted Berjaya to set up a honeyoon package. They did an excellent job on arranging flowers for the room and a personallized honeymoon cake. THE Mrsm was very happy.
Each day the staff cleaned the rooms and replenished the botteled water and coffee/tea supplies. Although you can apparently drink/use the water I still boiled. That which went into the ice tray.
The other thiing which sets this place apart from the others on the island was how many things can be accessed from berjaya. No joke, this island is tough to get around. There are towns/villiages which are only accessible via boat taxi or jungle trek. I am really happy in retrospect that I didn't book Jampala or Bangus, as nice as they are. There is just nothing to do.
Onto the food. Itms great but waaaaaaaay overpriced. Again, this gives you a chance to go experince the wonderful people on the island. Go up to SALANG for Lunch. In town you get some reallly amazing seafood and hang with the guy we rrefer to as grandpa, or just grab some great thai curry right outside the gates. And let's not forget the great food up in In ABC, Nazri's place offers some great food with a great view.
After touring the island and stopping for a beer or food in nearly each place I highly recommend this place. It also helps to tip the staff when arriving and talk to them a couple of times to confirm everytihng.
Have a good stay

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
7.6 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
535 reviews
10.2 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.2 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
3.6 km away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#10 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
580 reviews
7.3 km away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: ₹ 4,263 - ₹ 9,107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing