We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Trip =)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Tioman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Kampar, Perak, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Trip =)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I spent my graduation trip with my girl friend at Sun Beach resort, it's memorable =)
Clear clean water, can snorkeling over Jetty there, there was hundred of fishes surrounding us~
Other than that, we went to Reggis Island and Marine Park for snorkeling.
We also spent RM20(2 person) for 30 minutes kayak in front of the resort, the water is so clean and we can see the coral clearly!
the receptionist is friendly and responsible, the guy will give u briefing personally about the activities and the schedule.
Sun Beach resort is very convenient for us as there are many shops nearby.
The foods is tasty, especially the BBQ dinner and nasi lemak~
There are mango trees at the resort, the mangoes very sweet and it was free! We ate four mangoes on the beach and we feel so relax, enjoyable!
However, there are a lots of mosquito during night time....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

A very basic lodging that provides travelers basic needs (roof, bed, washroom) and nothing more. The resort frequently houses divers and students who travel to Tioman for their diving certification, which was the reason we were there.

The rooms were pared down, washrooms were musty-smelling due to lack of ventilation, and had low water pressure most times of the day. Bedsheets were clean, and pillows were surprisingly firm and extremely comfortable.

All meals were decent - low on variety and definitely really basic once again, but suitable for local palettes - I did enjoy their steam rice, curries and seafood items.

The resort is a 5 to 7 minute walk from the jetty, plus the proximity from jetty, dive shop (to hose down equipment and yourself between dives), and rooms were convenient for divers.

If you're a diver or traveler on a super tight budget, you can try this place out - after all you pay for what you get. It is a matter of expectations, and despite all of the above, I walked away recharged and relaxed from my weekend of island life and scuba diving. However, if you have more to spare and you're looking for a romantic getaway, look elsewhere.

PS: We traveled via coach (4hrs) and ferry (3hrs) from Singapore and it was trecherous. Take a flight into Tioman airport if you can provision for that. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gracetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went there as part of the diving package with dive instructors, for the price i paid, couldnt ask for much so dont get your hopes up too. We got a room on the hill. The room's toilet was small, the sheets and towels provided were thin and although they wash it, it looks very used. .... About the food, there wasnt much choice of food... but when you are hungry from diving... who cares!

I wont recommend this place if you are like planning a honeymoon or romantic holiday definitely. :X

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChinkChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Everything is pretty much said in the title.
We got a bungalow in the hill which was absolutely disgustingly dirty: dead bugs everywhere, sink and toilets were leaking litres of water all day long, the sheets were sticky...
About the food, I would say only two things: uneatable and no choice.
Do not stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed in the Ocean View Suite for 3 days 2 nights. Our Suite is like just next to the beach. It was an unforgettable suite and great scenery it got. Food buffet moderate. Great beach and everything were perfect for us.
Food were easily found. Nearby Restaurant They also provide family game for us for free..
I will go there again, definitely.

Rooms are affordable, clean and neat.
We can even see the sunset from our Hotel.
Overall experience were GREAT & FUN.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ratumoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
7.2 km away
Japamala Resort - By Samadhi
Japamala Resort - By Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
7.6 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.3 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
0.1 km away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.6 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Resort

Property: Sun Beach Resort
Address: Kg. Genting, Pahang Darul, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sun beach resort located on Tioman Island, Pahang. This place is suitable for those who need peace because this resort area adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Hotel Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing