We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Port Dickson
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in Thistle port Dickson for 5 nights, and it was one of the best vacation stay among all the hotels and Places I have been to. Amazing helpful and smiling staff, 5 star hotel with 5 star service, great room with Sea view, There is nothing I can complain about even if I try to think and find fault. All in all, perfect place if you are looking for relaxing holiday with superb beach, pool, warm and welcoming staff and great room quality

Room Tip: Try to get a room on 5th or 6th floor as they have excellent unobstructed views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodFreak48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    482
    223
    95
    70
See reviews for
584
251
17
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

actually i went there when it was still named guoman resort.the first attraction would be the pool,really big,and my kids enjoyed it.room was ok,what you would expect from a standard hotel,all amenities provided.good service,good food.too bad beach in pd is dirty,being located in the straits of melaka,the busiest water ways for ships,thus the water tends to be oily,especially so during low tide.but this fact is compensated with the beautifully landscaped garden,plus the pool,so i would say it was a satisfying trip.minus point would be the cold tiled floor,atleast a rug or partial carpet would be good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putriizwaniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Port Dickson and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Your comments mean a lot to us and we will make every effort to implement your suggestions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaka, Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Went there recently with family and baby.Hotel was full but hotel did their best to cater to our needs.Hats off to the reception especially Mai for helping us with the rooms.She really tried her best(and succeeded) in our quest to have an enjoyable stay.
And the manager did his very best to make us feel important and welcome though we are locals.No discrimination over in Thistle (though we have experience discrimination in other hotels just because we are locals) because for them a customer is still a customer and they made us feel welcome
Hotel facilities was fantastic especially the pool .baby enjoyed himself swimming in the pool.There were many activities there but we were unable to sample all due to the time constraint. We would recommend this place and definitely come back to sample other activities.
In short Thistle is the PLACE to be if you are in Port Dickson.
Good job and well done!

Room Tip: Pick higher floor rooms to watch beautiful sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUPARJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for leisure with my husband and 2 kids. Location wise it's a bit isolated with other hotels but the rest are better. It has a golf course and the swimming pool is one of the best. My children enjoyed at the pool. You can go to the beach from the swimming pool but the beach is not suitable for swimming. Rooms are excellent, quite spacious but no bathtub inside. The service are good, particularly the room service. But if you want to have the best food, this is not the place. Brakfast and lunch that I tried were not to expectation. Otherwise this is one of the most beautiful resort in port dickson

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azumaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The price is very high for this quality of hotel. We had a company bbq which was not worth the money spent. On top of that, the facilities are not in perfect condition (aircond breakdown in the conference room, toilet trouble). In general, the staff are polite (restaurant, outdoor activities staff) except one guy at reception (possibly the manager) who told us inconsistent messages.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mergaspura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
15.2 km away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 33 in Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
8.9 km away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#3 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
15.1 km away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#6 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
14.6 km away
Paradise Spa Hotel
Paradise Spa Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.6 km away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#5 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Property: Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,223 - ₹ 8,037
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing