We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Coco Lodge(Mahajanga)
US$ 58
US$ 54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lovencie Lodge(Mahajanga)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Saara Hotel(Mahajanga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 27
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Akbar(Mahajanga)(Great Value!)
US$ 21
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 26
US$ 22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Park Resort(Mahajanga)
US$ 30
US$ 26
Booking.com
View Deal
Sambo Milay Bed and Breakfast(Mahajanga)(Great Value!)
US$ 24
US$ 21
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 94
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seatyzen Lodge(Mahajanga)
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
58
38
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
38
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishsunsetlevellodgemenuseazebupool
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean and well manteined. Rooms are new and well equipped . The pool is small but useful and with. Nice view. The food for lunch is good. I asked to leave room late (15.00 and not 12.00 ) and manager agreed to dnt charge the day use if I would have lunch there . Until this point all fine the problems starts with the service . One little shower gel for 2 person , I asked for one more and the room maid came after 3 hours to give it with the smartphone in her hand having chat conversation. No towels at pool. the breakfast is ridiculous they give 2 croissant (not even fresh) and they charged extra cost for one more croissant . The two waiters have their breakfast in front of the guests. To finish there is no match between the cost and the service . Receptionist not able to manage guest issue . The manager should teach them that if they have a job is because a guest is going to the hotel . This small details make the difference . I mean is not nice to charge 1 euro for croissant when the room cost is approx 70 euros or to give only one small bottle of shower gel in the most hot city of the north west! The price of the the Room is absolutely too high for the service given and out of the Malagasy market. A five star price for a 2 star service .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc D, Gérant at Karibu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Merci de votre commentaire. Le prix de la suite et non chambre est de 52 € et non 70 €, voir 56 € pour 2 personnes. Le PdJ est inclus dans le prix de la chambre. Si vous trouvez un 5 étoiles pour 56 € avec tout à volonté, alors profitez en bien. Pour le reste, 95 % de nos clients sont satisfait du service, même si des fois il y a des ratés, toutes nos excuses, on est à Madagascar. Les seuls mécontents sont ceux qui ne veulent pas payer. Il y a plein d'hôtel à Mahajanga qui seront dans votre budget, à 30 € la nuit et heureux de vous accueillir. Bien cordialement. Luc DAVID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

The best place I've stayed during my stay which was 1 year in Madagascar I will be traveling back and all the staff were fantastic the kitchen was the best this hotel I would visit again and can recommend anyone to use this hotell .......................................................

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
Thank Bjørn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Rooms are very spacious. Pool is amazing facing the ocean. Great for beautiful sunsets. Location is great not far from a local grilling of fish, seafood & meat kabobs down the street. Their restaurant is good too. Food was tasty but s bit pricy for madagacar.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Nissan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I have been travelling to the Northern part of Madagascar last April 2016 and could experience this lodge at least for one night. The cottage is really comfortable and nice looking and the food were very nice. We were allowed to use the pool at any time which we appreciated the most. We defnitely recommend this address.

Room Tip: The Morondava room is just near the pool and have a great view to the sea
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc D, Gérant at Karibu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Thank you very much and happy to see you nex time......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We stayed at Karibu Lodge for 4 nights during our stay in Mahajanga. It is a beautiful spot with views of the ocean and a sweet infinity pool. Rooms are clean and spacious with everything you need. The atmosphere is quiet at night with little noise to disturb your sleep. Simple breakfast is included and includes coffee, tea, fresh juice, croissant and bread. If you want anything else, you need to order it from the menu.

The staff were friendly and helpful with getting us a reputable company to take us to Ankarafantsika National Park and answering our many questions. The owner is very personable and makes an effort to greet everyone at night in the restaurant.

The restaurant is a nice place for a sunset drink or meal. They have a nice wine list to choose from as well as mixed drinks. The chef is wonderful and will talk to you about the menu options available and how you wish to have it cooked. We loved the food and chose to eat there for many of our meals.

If you only speak English, make sure you bring a French English dictionary with you for all your travels and you will be fine. Karibu Lodge is no exception -nor should it be! Practice your French... learn some Malagasy, and enjoy the experience!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gail o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews