We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$304
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/02/23
Expedia.com
$294
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Hotels.com
$294
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Official Hotel$294
Travelocity$294
Priceline$309
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveller rating
850
160
23
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
850
160
23
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole tsavo west water hole mzima springs chyulu hills dining area lava flow amazing views safari lodge watching the animals game drives animals visiting ceiling fan the food is great stayed longer buffet style every meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2022

I added the Tsavo visit after a 2-week safari elsewhere and was beyond glad I did. From check-in to check-out this 2-day stay was terrific. Dorothy greeted me with a drink and friendly, professional check-in. Faith, Geoffrey, Dorthy and Ibrahim helped me resolve what I thought was a serious problem with my luggage (totally my fault) the same day. Lillian and Fabian were superb restaurant staff, where the food offerings were varied, plentiful and delicious, as well as offering a stupendous view of many animals at the watering hole, as well as Kilimanjaro. Tsavo NP seems less visited than other parks I visited in Kenya altho I was told visitors were less as a result of Covid. Again, lodge staff was great. Go to Kenya, visit Tsavo, stay at Kilaguni Lodge!

Room tip: I think all rooms have a view of the watering hole, which you can watch (and take phots of) from your balcony.
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alhlstnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 October 2022

Super nice view! The hotel is just great. From your room balcony, you can see a water hole or swamp, where animals gather to drink and wash. A super experience! The food is great. The stuff is very friendly!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pero J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

So this was an unexpected and exciting stay. So accommodation was lovely, clean and tidy. Out the back we had a balcony with a view on to the watering hole, saw painted dogs "rare", elephants, zebra etc and good unobstructed view. Restaurant was very good and and food nice but limited. We went with Newmarket package and the annoying thing is it was all inclusive except on safari? Strange? Staff as usual were friendly, polite and accomodating. But once again tip city, I do wish those who organised these holidays would pass the bonus and fees on to the poor staff. My other half had a birthday and they made it a special occasion. So all in all, accommodation great, animals great and the lodge was brilliant except and this is a little thing small choice on food. Thanks

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sightsee09532358976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henrietta Mwangola, General Manager at Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022

We appreciate you taking time to give us your most valuable feedback and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to hosting you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2022

I've been visiting Kilaguni since 1974. Never disappoints. The game viewing is superb, elephant and buffalo passing by the waterhole all the time. And the staff are genuinely helpful and friendly, they make you feel unreservedly welcome. Food excellent, too. I still think it's the best game lodge in Africa.

Room tip: I think all the rooms overlook the waterhole. You can watch elephants from your bed.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveSpawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henrietta Mwangola, General Manager at Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022

Thank you Steve for your patronage over the years. Indeed we pride ourselves with providing the best in product and service. We will continue to be of service to you at all times. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2022

Trip to Kenya from 14th to 25th August 2022 , 4 adults and 2 children.
Started from London Heathrow to Nairobi JKIA by BA.
The entire tour was organized by Mr. Aloyce Otieno of Serena Hotels. It was a luxury package and we have to compliment him for making the tour so memorable and we have returned we very fond memories.
We were received by Serena representative who drove us down to Serena Nairobi Hotel in a luxury sedan. After resting overnight and enjoying a very wonderful Indian cuisine, thanks to Chef Shankar Rawat, we drove down to Serena Amboseli Lodge with guide Mr. Mohammed in a Land Cruiser. Mr. Mohammed is an encyclopedia of wildlife and enriched us with lots of knowledge. After spending 2 wonderful nights in a 5* setting and safaris in morning and evening we drove to Tsavo West and saw a family of Cheetahs on the way. There are endless wildlife in Amboseli National Park, a feast to the eyes. Could see Mount Kilimanjaro.
Stayed in Kilaguni Serena Lodge for 1 night and the beauty abounding the Lodge is fantastic. Tsavo has endless natural beauty with Volcanoes ,Lava and Springs with Hippos and Crocodiles. Could see Mount Kilimanjaro very clearly. Oryx is only found here.
The rooms are very comfortable and overlooks a large illuminated water body and we could sight endless herds of Elephants, Zebras, Wild Buffaloes etc coming to the quench their thirst and take a dip. It was an unforgettable feast to the eyes. We went by road to Andei Mtiti Railway Station to board the Madaraka Intercity Express to Nairobi. After an elaborate Security Check boarded the train on time, which is very clean and we'll maintained. Were received by the Chauffeur of Serena Hotel and drove down to Serena Nairobi Hotel in the Toll Road Express Highway in a luxury Sedan. After enjoying wonderful lunch arranged by Chef Shankar Rawat, pure Vegetarian Indian Cuisine, and overnight rest were received by Mr. Mohammed our guide and went to Serena Elementaita Camp in a very comfortable Land Cruiser.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank drnrbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews