We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, great service.”
Review of Horas Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horas Family Home
Ranked #1 of 28 Samosir Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Location, room and service were great: fulfilled our wishes. On request, guests could order food. Grilled fish and beef rendang were delicious. Transport and other services arranged by the Horas Family Home were excellent, and very reliable. A big yes to going back on our next holiday to Indonesia.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank anne201801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

Stayed there with family on December holidays. Good service by the humble staff, food is fantastic with reasonable price & its safe for family. Enjoyed with their fishing and boating activities. They are building a new swimming pool facing the lake. Will go there again with family for December 2018 holidays, maybe for 3 nights. Keep it up Horas family home.

Room Tip: Great rooms with air condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darmindar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Review of Horas Family Home Tuk Tuk, Samosir Island, Sumatra November 2017

We stayed at Horas Family Home for 4 nights and found the accommodation and service from the staff to be totally excellent.
We loved the Batak house we rented with a perfect view over the immaculate vegetable garden running down to the lake.
The breakfasts were wonderful as was all the fodon’tod provided by the Family Home.
Beware the fish BBq which provides far more food than is possible to consume.
The owner Berend is very actively involved in the well being of his guests checking in with us constantly to ensure we had everything we needed. He organised transport for us which worked like clock work and gave us some good advice on our activities.We enjoyed the use of the Horas kayak.
A lovely place to stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank MJE100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We’re a big family stayed at this hotel.. their services are good and fast. We can get anything just on time. Clean hotel. Nice view and scene in front at hotel room. Recommend hotel.
Near to everywhere by walking. U can rent motorbike or bicycle outside the hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Thanks for having us horas family home, you've made our family holiday such great time
The location, service and the situation everything was very good

I PROMISE YOU I'll be back with my whole big family

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samosir Island
0.6 km away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#1 of 7 in Samosir Island
215 reviews
39.2 km away
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
21 reviews
0.9 km away
Judita Cottage
Judita Cottage
#3 of 7 in Samosir Island
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Inna Parapat
Inna Parapat
#1 of 9 in Parapat
89 reviews
0.3 km away
Toba Village Inn
Toba Village Inn
#2 of 28 in Samosir Island
235 reviews
0.1 km away
Zoe’s Paradise Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horas Family Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horas Family Home

Address: Jln. Lingkar 3 | Tuk Tuk, Siadong, Samosir Island 22395, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Beach Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Samosir Island
Price Range: ₹ 4,232 - ₹ 6,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apart from providing a perfect base for exploring Tuk Tuk and Samosir Horas Family Home, directly on Lake Toba, is a destination in its own right especially for groups of friends and for families with children. Fishing, swimming, kayaking, feeding rabbits, orchid garden, organic garden, cats, dogs, chicken, building castles on our small sand beach. From the Horas Family Home kitchen we serve specials such as the famous Horas Family Home Fish BBQ, Roasted Suckling Pig (Babi Guling), Small wild forest pig (Bayi Babi Hutan Liar), Forest Snakehead Fish (Ikan Bujuk), Roasted Village Chicken (Ayam Kampun Guling) and of course the regulars out of our pond Crayfish (Fresh Water Lobster), Tilapia (Ikan Nila) and Catfish (Ikan Lele) Horas Family Home is a complete two storey house in Batak Architectural style and comes with a fully equipped kitchen. Horas Family Home sleeps 8 guests in two double king size beds and 4 single beds in two rooms. Horas Indah is a spacious apartment on the second floor in a separate building. It is fully furnished and comes with a kitchenette and an upstairs attic. Horas Indah sleeps 6 guests in two double beds and two single beds. Horas Mini ORAS MINI consists of two rooms on a second floor in a separate building. The two rooms share a spacious bathroom and balcony. Horas Mini sleeps 5 guests in one double king size beds and 3 single beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Horas Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horas Family Home Samosir Island, Sumatra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing