We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
376
38
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
38
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr berend his wife rabbit fish vegetable garden the owner lake toba tuk tuk pork ribs family boat organic farm special dinner group of friends memorable stay organic food full kitchen highest recommendation
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Review of Horas Family Home Tuk Tuk, Samosir Island, Sumatra November 2017

We stayed at Horas Family Home for 4 nights and found the accommodation and service from the staff to be totally excellent.
We loved the Batak house we rented with a perfect view over the immaculate vegetable garden running down to the lake.
The breakfasts were wonderful as was all the fodon’tod provided by the Family Home.
Beware the fish BBq which provides far more food than is possible to consume.
The owner Berend is very actively involved in the well being of his guests checking in with us constantly to ensure we had everything we needed. He organised transport for us which worked like clock work and gave us some good advice on our activities.We enjoyed the use of the Horas kayak.
A lovely place to stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank MJE100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We’re a big family stayed at this hotel.. their services are good and fast. We can get anything just on time. Clean hotel. Nice view and scene in front at hotel room. Recommend hotel.
Near to everywhere by walking. U can rent motorbike or bicycle outside the hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Thanks for having us horas family home, you've made our family holiday such great time
The location, service and the situation everything was very good

I LOVE YOU
I PROMISE YOU I'll be back with my whole big family

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Place is beautiful... walking distance from the jetty. Many activities offered such as canoeing, bbq, swimming by the lake and there are rabbits for the kids to play with. There is also a little beautiful garden behind the place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank lindahamid92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Our family of four stayed in Horas Mini 1 and Horas Mini 2 which served as a 2 bedroom apartment for us because it has a large shared open balcony space and bathroom. Everything was clean, fresh drinking water was supplied, the shower had hot water (don't assume this will be the case everywhere), flushable toilet (again, not to be taken for granted) and we made good use of the family boat and kayak. We had breakfast down by the lake and on our terrace which was very convenient. We had such an enjoyable time here we probably didn't get out and see as much as we should have of the local area. Good excuse to go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank SueFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews