We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
5
4
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
4
2
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2015

It 'hard to give a real assessment about Rose Ecolodge: not so close to Baluran National Park, not too quiet at night (Islamic prayers in the nearby village), not too easy to find. So, ok, it's a bad place to go, someone can think about.
But is not so.
Rosa's Ecolodge is a little, pretty, gem in the confusion and dust of the north-east of Java: a nice lodge, with big and clean rooms and wonderful garden; a friendly and speaking perfect English staff, an excellent cuisine, maybe one of the best tested in our entire trip in Indonesia; and, overall, Rosa, a so well learned and kind lady, a grande dame.
I can't give 5 stars only for the little problem of night noise, but, trust in me, if you travel around East-Java, you can't miss Rosa.

Baluran Nat. Park, 30 min from Rosa's Ecolodge, is nice but a bit arid and dry; anyway you can see many animals ,deer, buffalo and monkeys especially.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Volpes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Rosa`s Ecolodge is situated in a small town, with hardly any tourists (we liked that). When we arrived Rosa offered us a Welcome drink. The Bungalows are very clean, nice and new. The dinner was delicious, but unfortunately some of the dishes were served cold. Important: You have to eat there, in this little town there are no other restaurants. Rosa is a very kind person, we trusted her that she will give some of the money to the inhabitants (Rosa is managing the Ecolodge on her own, her husband passed away.) We took a tour to Baluran National park. It is really beautiful there. The tour was not cheap (i think 40 euros per person - we were 2, but there was our guide and the driver of the jeep who spent the whole day with us). So we liked our stay. Its not cheap but if you want to make a break from all the tourists you should visit Rosas Ecologe!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katjaaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at Rosa's for 3 nights in august. Because of the information from the website, we thought you were obliged to take at least 1 tour for every night you were there. We decided to do 3 tours: the snorkeling tour ('lonely beach') (700.000 rp p/p), the night safari (700.000 rp p/p) and the village tour (300.000 p/p). Every tour was guided by Ahmed, a friendly, well English speaking guy. According to the given information, the first tours should take 6 hours each, and the village tour should be 3 hours. Because of miscommunication (the night safari actually didn't excist anymore, it was an evening safari because of new regultaion, only Ahmed 'forgot' to tell us when we booked the night safari tour), we ended up doing the snorkeling and night safari tour in one day, which caused Ahmed to finish the snorkeling tour early. The snorkeling was nice, the boat trip too, but the title Lonely Beach isn't true at all; there where other locals on the other side of the beach, and the tourguide stayed on the beach as well, 200 mtr away from us. They did cook us a fresh tuna fish right there for lunch, which was a nice experience. Then the night (evening) safari; we were hoping to see some exciting wildlife, but we only saw some monkeys, deers and birds. Still we drove around in the park for about 5 hours, from which 1,5 hours was spent to have dinner on a beach (consisting of sate and.. some more sate..). The guide and driver took their time to eat since it was ramadan and they hadn't eaten all day, but for us this was just (realy expensive) waiting time. When we got back we were really disappointed. The next day we took the village tour, which consisted of walking around the village with Ahmed, who tried to show us some handcraft, only a lot of things were closed beacause of ramadan.. So after walking around a while we sat down in the middle of the rice field where somebody brought us some snacks and drinks. Then we were sitting there again for a relatively long time, which was ok but took too long and the tour finally again ended earlier then promised. Of course, when the bill was presented, we had to pay the full price for all of these tours, even while we didn't get the amount of hours that were promised and also a lot of things were closed etc. (which Ahmed could have known and still took us). He also arranged a driver to bring us to the Bungawangi trainstation, but 'forgot' to tell us the price, which was 400.000 rp. Of course we did ask for the price but he has a 'funny' way of prevaricate the anwser. Also, the roomprice was relatively high: 500.000 rp per night.

Overall all the things we did were nice and okay, but WAY overpriced. This is why I would NOT recommend you to stay at Rosa's and to book their tours. If you can arrange a lower price then it's ok. We felt kind of ripped of..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Birgit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

On arrival we found that we were the only guests staying in one of the four semi-detached bungalows (i.e. 8 rooms) set in a small, pretty garden in the middle of a village. Our simple room & its tiled walk-in shower/toilet were OK.
We later learnt that the eponymous Rosa's husband had been taken ill but we were politely looked after by (?) Ahmed.
There is no avoiding the fact that this place is a little strange. The room directory contained only advice on our good behaviour & we were immediately asked to remove our shoes before entering our floor tiled room which was clean but not immaculate. We were then taken on the apparently compulsory village tour (or "safari"). As there were only two of us it did not feel too voyeuristic &, unlike the reviewer who did not actually stay at Rosa's, we saw no evidence of local animosity. The room directory had stressed the necessity of women dressing modestly so we were rather surprised to to find the river full of naked men & women of all ages - perhaps only flabby pink flesh is offensive.
The evening meal cooked for us was made up of tasty local dishes, no choice as to time or menu.
ECOlodge- no idea what that means, but the A/C in our room was, thankfully, very efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

I must admit that I haven't actually stayed at Rosa's ecolodge - I wanted to, but was warned off it by Indonesian friends who didn't have a particular axe to grind, but they told me that the guy who owns it is an ex-military man (a general I think) and that it's a long, long way from being 'eco' friendly in any way.
For instance, he takes his mates shooting in the Baluran National Park which they're next door to - not exactly designed to foster biodiversity conservation! He also has nothing to do with the local community - there are big walls all around the hotel and the community hardly benefits at all. My friends have had lots of complaints from people who have stayed there - the staff are badly treated, the so-called wildlife watching trips they run are superficial, and the food is stingy.
You're better off staying in the national park itself - the guesthouses there are incredibly basic and you have to take your own food, but at least they don't pretend to be anything they're not, and if you get up early you'll see some interesting wildlife (2 species of monkeys, 2 species of deer, lots of birds, amongst others).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eastridinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews