We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location but don't expect a lie-in!”
Review of Nha Khach So 02

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nha Khach So 02
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Central location but don't expect a lie-in!”
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We stayed here for four nights towards the end of january 09. We hadn't booked in advance and just turned up in the evening after getting the bus from Saigon. The Nha Khach So 02 used to be owned by the Vietamese government, so it has a slightly cold institutional feel.

We paid $28 for a double room and it had two double beds in it. The rooms themselves are large and the bathroom is a reasonable size and clean. We had aircon, tv, breakfast and a balcony overlooking the river, which was great to watch the sunrise.

On the downside, the breakfast was pretty greasy so we didn't eat there very often. Try the Mekong restaurant down the road it's much better. The reception staff seemed a little off hand but i think that's because their english wasn't very good. Lastly, the noise from the boats was deafening at times. If you're a heavy sleeper then you'll be ok, but if not, the boats start chugging away at about 5am and don't really stop til about midnight.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

As we were travelling from Ha Tien to Saigon, we decided to stay at the Na Khach So after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our time was limited and we wanted to do Can Tho justice so staying by the river was the ultimate answer. We phoned about 3pm on the afternoon of our arrival and they understood our needs really well especially as we wanted 3 rooms.

The staff were hospitable and extremely helpful especially with our taxi driver who wanted more than agreed on in Rach Gia and especially since they were busy preparing for TET.

Our rooms were fantastic and overlooked the river on one side and the street markets off the corridor on the other side. They were very clean.

It was very central to everything and we could get a boat easily at 6am to go to the markets, just by walking 50 metres down the road.

They organised a taxi for us next morning to take us to the Bus Station and farewelled us in true style.

  • Liked — location on the river and central to everything;its price
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

This state run (you can tell it by the way the unsmiling girls at the reception greet you, or not, when you step in, it is REALLY state run indeed) place deserves a double thumbs up.

We liked :
1 – Big value for the money; at 25 mere USD all inclusive, the room we had was above expectation. Large and clean, AC, nice view over the Mekong, large bathroom… Everything!
2 – Breakfast is included, you have a few choices so if you stay here more than a few days, you may try some local dishes, along with a hot drink.
3 – The restaurant that serves from morning till nith with fantastic view over the Mekong. Take it easy here, at anytime of the day.
4 – Hectic, but wifi is available from your bed

We did not like :
nothing

This happened to us :
1 – Tired and unsmiling girls at the reception made everything possible to avoid us, either by looking away or by abruptly hiding under the reception desk, every time we tried a tactical approach. This said, there was always someone at the desk, and everything we asked, had been done properly. As old Deng said, no matter what colour the cat is, as long as it catches mice…

Tips:
1 – Ask for rooms on the second floor where each has its private balcony.
2 – If you use MAI LINH minibus, you can ask the reception that this private company come to pick you up at the hotel, and rush you back to the central bus station, on time for your bus. This service is free, of course if you have bought your ticket with them.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — soviet reception
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Nha Khach So 02 is a comparatively new hotel. It is located in the heart of the city, right on the waterfront and almost next to the old market.

My room has a balcony directly above the Can Tho river, from which I can watch all the water borne activity,

The rooms have all you would expect to find in a good tourist class hotel, including satellite TV with English,German and French language stations,

Breakfast is included in the price and the breakfast menu is very long indeed, choosing is a problem.

I paid $28US a night as a single.

  • Liked — location, view, value
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.4 km away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#19 of 45 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 km away
Can Tho Guesthouse
Can Tho Guesthouse
#33 of 45 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 km away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 45 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Nesta Hotel
Nesta Hotel
#31 of 45 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 km away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 45 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
4.2 km away
Anh Dao Mekong 2
Anh Dao Mekong 2
#12 of 45 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nha Khach So 02? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nha Khach So 02

Property: Nha Khach So 02
Address: S8 05 Hai Ba Trung, Can Tho, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
Price range (per night): ₹ 969 - ₹ 1,357
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Nha Khach So 02 Can Tho, Mekong Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing