We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
69
21
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
21
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden monkey trekvolcanoes safarisnational parklocal communitybatwa experiencethe cottagesa great experiencehour drivecouple of daysmade us feelfree massagegrounds are beautifulhot water bottles in bedthe entire staffhot chocolategorilla treckingshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We had the great pleasure of staying here for two nights following our gorilla trek across the border in Rwanda. The team at the lodge made our stay very special, great food and service. The bandas were spacious and well laid out - with a fire to keep you warm. I would definitely recommend this wonderful lodge and hope to make a return visit!!

Room Tip: All rooms are similar - some are a further away from the main lodge
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear ekip2017,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mount Gahinga Lodge.

Looking forward to welcoming back to Volcanoes Safaris lodges soon!

Best wishes
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed 3 glorious nights at the Gahinga lodge. The road to the lodge is daunting and seemingly goes on forever but worth every bump (locally referred to as the African massage). Our stay was quite possibly the most rewarding experience we have ever enjoyed throughout our many world travels. The lodge staff were amazing at every moment from early morning wake up tea to preparing our room at night before bed. The setting is glorious and only minutes from the park entrance. We enjoyed visiting the Golden Monkeys, Mountain Gorillas and a “nature walk” up the volcano on successive days and were in awe at every step. Despite the overwhelming beauty of the Gahinga lodge and its surroundings, it was the people and their genuine warmth that made our stay truly memorable. We cannot wait until we are fortunate enough to return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank hfinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear hfinb,

Many thanks for your great feedback, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at the lodge and that you have loved the experience at Gahinga so much! A stay at Gahinga is definitely great for the amazing landscape, the wildlife activities and the walks, but it's also incredible from a human point of view, which you kindly highlighted.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Thanks again
Best wishes
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Beautiful location, gardens and bandas. Pretty colours and nice furniture. Lack of storage/hanging space. While we were there the solar panel for the hot water did not do the job (old? broken?) but the staff brought us a hot bucket shower every day, so we could have a warm shower anyway.
It is very close to the NP gate for activities in the Park, five minutes away. There is one habituated gorilla group and a Golden Monkey habituated group. We did the Golden Monkey habituation experience but the monkeys just kept moving away and after 4 hours we gave up and asked to stop. Other guests did the gorilla tracking and loved it.
The food was good and the chef very accommodating, thank you!
The staff is very nice and they try hard but are a bit inexperienced, they will be great with a little more training.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Mmerlot,

Many thanks for your review and feedback following your stay at Mount Gahinga Lodge, glad to read you had a nice stay.

As a company sensitive to sustainability, solar power is used at all lodges for heating and electricity. If weather conditions are not allowing this, our staff is happy to provide hot water buckets to guests' bandas.

It's important for us to hear how we can improve the service and experience of our guests, therefore we will be sure to pass on your notes to the team.

Thanks again
Best wishes
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

We just finished three days and two nights at the lodge, and highly recommend it. After a bumpy drive up, you reach the lodge, and life is good. The rooms - separate cabins for each guest, are spacious and comfortable. Each night they light a fire and put hot water bottles in the bed while you’re eating, so you remain warm - it’s over 7000 feet here.

The food and alcohol are top notch and included in the rate.

What really makes this special is the closeness to the park entrance (next door) and their affiliations with the local Batwa Pygmies - who they employ and support through various programs . I highly recommend the cultural experience. Very educational and interesting

The service was top notch. Our butler, Gerald, saw to our every need, even cleaning our boots just before departure

Come and stay!!! It’s the real McCoy in an African safari and much more genuine than the experience in neighboring Locations

Big thumbs up

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Wrldtvlr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Wrldtvlr27,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to read that you participated in the VSPT community projects and that you highly recommend the Batwa cultural experience.

We are also delighted to read that Mount Gahinga Lodge is the real McCoy in an African safari and much more.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the top notch food and alcohol.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Mount Gahinga Lodge, or one of our other lodges in Uganda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Perfect place for travling in the area. Beautifull place. Very clean. Delishes food. Managed on the top level. Our batler Jane was very good. Sensitive and very servicing oriented. The room was great include good wine, many fruits and all bath staf. We wake up with coffee to the room. Any moment there, all our need was suplied.
The staf is very helpfull with smiling face. Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Motygrunwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Motygrunwald,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to read that Mount Gahinga Lodge is the prefect place for traveling and that all your needs were attended to whilst staying at the lodge.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the delicious food, wine, fruit basket and butler service. Jane and the rest of the lodge staff will be delighted with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Mount Gahinga Lodge, or one of our other lodges in Uganda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews