We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
View Rock Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$ 86
US$ 63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$ 155
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
US$ 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 78
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 37
US$ 35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 53
US$ 42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 26
US$ 25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
US$ 83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlawn Villas(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 40
US$ 39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
22
22
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
22
6
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is our second time to the resort in our travels and we have only been here a few weeks. We are already trying to incorporate another stop here after visiting some other islands.
The owners are so friendly and helpful, always with the biggest smiles and great advice about anything you could ask.
The staff is incredibly attentive and the huge menu is filled with the most delicious food!
The laid back atmosphere and breathtaking views can really suck you in! Best not to book your next stop until after you have arrived here because you might wind up extending your stay!
The ocean breeze keeps the mosquitoes away and your body temperature down.
Highly recommend this place to the laid back traveller looking for a nice place to get away for a few days, weeks, or months!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thailandfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was our favourite place in Thailand. Staff picked us up from the ferry and took us over to their resort. We initially stayed in town and wondered why we had come to Thailand as we were overun by tourists on noisy motorbikes. However over at View Rock we were the only people there... we had the most amazing view out over the water. Bungalow was clean and we liked immensly. Staff were so helpful and friendly. It was so quiet and peaceful. We went snorkelling and saw great fish...can hire snorkles there.. we enjoyed the food too... at good price. If your after a place to party then this is not for you - but we loved it, the peace and quiet and beutiful surrounds of nature were just what we wanted. HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We knew there was no beach, that this place would be remote and simple, but we didn't expect quite so many fish! Each day a HUGE shoal of thousands of fish came into the bay and were a joy to see! As soon as you enter the water from the rocks or pontoon, you are surrounded by fish; not so many corals but lots of fish. We had the large family bungalow apartment which had a huge veranda (you could take a mattress out there and sleep out in the open under a mozzie net). Great view too. Very simple accommodation but ok. Friendly staff. Exciting journey in from the ferry port (which has a horrible, busy town with no character at all) along a very steep road. But the driver was very careful (unlike some of the tourists on motorbikes we saw) and we felt very safe. Food ok. Peace and quiet was great. Only downside was the daily tour groups arriving for a set lunch which disturbed the peace for a couple of hours and then left again.

Room Tip: The large bungalow apartment sleeps 4 in two double beds - but there is a strange empty second room; it would have been better of one of the beds was in there!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PinkNosedPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

After being 6 months in Bangkok with my best friend, we took this one-week trip to Koh Tao. As students we didn't had that much money left for this vacation so we booked View Rock Resort: looked good and remoted, and after several luxurious hotels we've been before, this was exactly what we were looking for. When we arrived (after a very bumpy but extremely fun ride in the back of the owner's truck) our baggage was carried by the staff all the way down the rocks! After a chat with the very friendly owners of view rock resort, we entered our cabin, and it looked so romantic with the white musquito net and cute pillows (too bad I didn't bring my boyfriend here). However at night there might be some ants coming trough the wooden floor but hey isn't that adventure? Also we had a couple of visits by a lizzard and a squirrel but they won't harm you. Everything looks clean and comfy and did I mention the view from your cabin?? It's magnificent!! When the sun goes down, we noticed there are thousands of glowing plankton particles lighting up in the dark ocean, very spectacular and again, romantic.
At day you can enjoy breakfast, some drinks, and the sun. Don't expect very good food though, and be sure to bring something to do (the resort has it's own library which is nice) It's good to be there for like 3 days but If you tend to stay longer like we did, this resort might be too boring for such a long time. You will miss the beach that isn't there, and the people around you. If you're lucky, there might be 4 others checked in at the most. Unless you like loneliness..
We stayed at the resort for the whole week, but after going to the other (busy) side of the island the last day with some guys we met, we regretted the fact that we didn't pick a resort at the other side of the island for the last 3 days, where it was more crowded, the food was great (even on the crowded side of the island there are quiet beaches!!) and the sea was more approachable. (My foot was cut open while climbing the stairs to get out of the sea the second day at the resort, imaging climbing up and down all these steep rocks with one bad foot. the staff took good care cleaning the wound, but they didn't had anything to stitch it and now one year later you can still see the scar)
I would recommend staying there for 2 days, and then head off to the other side of the island for some fun (sairee beach). Also, the beach at where the boats are arriving (Mae Haad!) is a very very nice and quiet beach, and you won't get bothered by the longtail boats as you would expect.

View Rock Resort is perfect for you if: you are backpacking, like adventure, like being very very remoted, are romantic, care for nice friendly staff, are staying there for 2-3 days at the most, like great snorkling or diving, cold showers and pet friends coming into your cabin.
You should avoid View Rock Resort if: you're bad at foot, have children with you, enjoy good food and wines, you plan to stay more than 3 days, you like crowded areas, appreciate a beach, get bored really quick, don't like insects.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fancymeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

As other reviewers have said, you have to know what you are getting into when coming to View Rock: it is very, very isolated, and it is unlikely that you'll leave the hotel while checked in there. But why would you want to leave? The rooms are comfortable with amazing views of the ocean; the food is very good (though a little pricey); the snorkeling in Hin Wong Bay is awesome. We stayed there for 4 relaxing days in January and wish we could have stayed more. There's no beach on the bay, but the sun deck next to the ocean is great and you can jump off the dock into the fish.

One bit of advice: Bring some snacks and liquor from the mainland, so you don't have to pay the high prices at the hotel or at the overpriced 7/11 near the pier.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTWTripper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews