We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charm Churee Villa
Nearby Hotels
US$ 86
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 94
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PD Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
US$ 44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
US$ 40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 59
US$ 26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
US$ 44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ananda Villa(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 48
US$ 44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 155
US$ 133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 135
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$ 129
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
373
323
165
66
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
323
165
66
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjansom bayelvis barstarlight restaurantprivate beachtropical fishwalk into townbeach baran upgradeoutdoor showermosquito netsuperior roomsairee beachrecommend this resortstayed longeramazing viewsjunglebamboo
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 992 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have a love/hate relationship with Charm Churee.

When you arrive at CC, you realise that your in a jungle. If your older or have a walking impedement, this is not the resort for you as there is an immense amount of walking to and from ammenities within the resort and its up and down hills like i have never had to climb before. However...

On arriving, we managed to change our room to 30A. What can i say...absolutely amazing location. Uninterrupted view of Nang Yuan Island and the water and shared walk down to a small rocky beach...shared with only about 4 other units. The unit was completely privtae and the water was so clear and full of vibrant fish that i was gobsmacked when i took my first swim. However...your paying purely for location here. The accomodation is rustic...and by rustic, i mean bamboo structure, no TV and at night, we had the horrendous task of listening to all sorts of live animals playing cat and mouse games on our tin roof. A giant water spider on our toilet paper on the first night in the bathroom was a ghastly surprise, but again...your in the jungle.

Despite all this, i love the location and the private beach at Jansom Bay. So prvt and protected, the snorkelling was amazing and i couldnt get out of the water since there was sea life everywhere, from feeding schools of fish on coral to even a blue spotted sting-ray. Absolutely heaven.

I will be back i am sure, but only due to the location and Margo and her team, including Ben at the Charm Churee Dive shop. They made our experience truly worthwhile and we survived on snorkeling and scuba diving for 5 days, wishing it was longer.

All in all, loved the place and a little hint..take your own mossie spray...the buggers are the size of mice over there. Also, be wary of organising excurision through the hotel as we did a fishing trip which was a disaster and the long tail boats are easy enough to hire from Mae Haed harbour and a lot cheaper than through the hotel. Also, there Starlight restaurant is a very pricey, but a beautiful location. However, we found the Elvis bar at the beach was great.

Room Tip: Try find a room close to the beach or the ocean. Getting to town from there is easier anyways.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WadeNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A very secluded resort, with bungalows "hidden" between treetops up the hill. A long walk to the nearest town, but the private beach is just beautiful! It is a little bay, with crystal clear water and you can snorkel for hours. There is also an amazing spa, and beach bar and restaurant there as well. Just beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Had an amazing 5 nights here...
The 4 poster bed was picture perfect with sea views and private sunbathing platfrom in the jungle. The room was well equipped, had a large comfy bed and keen cleaning staff who waited outside each day with armfuls of clean towels!
Breakfast was average with little choice, not excellent but the friendly staff made up for it. The Elvis Bar had decent food for lunch but very overpriced. The Starlight restaurant was great, very romantic, bitten to pieces by the mosquitos though!
The private beach was lovely, clean, very small but just big enough, with loungers and seating areas, bamboo rafts out at sea and all the snorkelling you could dream of. The tropical fish were plentiful and the Dive shop team was great - we saw a whaleshark with Ben - such lucky people!
I read reviews before booking which suggested peace, quiet and no kids - which we got mostly - a bit of late night music from a bar further up the bay, some noisy Thai kids early one morning screaming on the beach....just our luck!
'Rustic Charm' is a perfect description by the hotel - a partially outside bathroom and we shared our bedroom with a selection of noisy lizards which crapped on the bed netting every night...but this added to our experience.
Overall a beautiful, romantic setting but dont expect 'hotel style' luxury for the price!

Room Tip: Our room was in the middle of the resort map, no38, which put us 2mins from the beach downhill and 10mins up a huge hill to the resort reception - a fairly good spot to be in
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurac86_holidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Charm Churee is made up of quaint little bamboo villas dotted throughout the rainforest around the gorgeous Jansom Bay. Getting to Ko Tao is Ok, from Koh Samui there area few boats a day - booking online worked well and saved the queues.
our villa was perched on a huge boulder looking right out to sea. It was split level with 2 decks, a little living room and separate bedroom and bathrooms. It was beautifully put together - not 5 star luxury, but very pretty and appealing. To get to the breakfast restaurant you have to weave between the rocks, over the beach then up the rainforest path. I wouldn't recommend it if you have a stroller, or aren't very mobile.
We spent our evenings on the loungers drinking a beer, looking out to sea. Great!
Ko Tao has some nice restaurants and cool bars in the town - about 15 mins easy walk away. It's also known for it's excellent diving. We went with Planet Scuba and the were fantastic.

Room Tip: All look lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyliea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We asked for a room on the beach and you couldn't have written it. Bear in mind this is a series of individual accommodations built inside a jungle right down to the beach. We had a family of Iguanas living right outside in the sand. Our four poster bedroom was 5 metres from the water and glass all around. The bathroom was all outside at the back built into the rocks. They have fantastic massage girls on resort for £5 an hour, amazing.

Room Tip: Get as close to the front as possible
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews