We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 75
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
US$ 51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 155
US$ 129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 141
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
US$ 44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 45
US$ 42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ananda Villa(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 54
US$ 50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
US$ 73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$ 419
US$ 189
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
337
234
106
64
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
234
106
64
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrim laesairee beachhoneymoon villawhite sandthe cottagesbeach bedsoutdoor showerwalk along the beachocean viewsun loungerslow tidemain beachfour nightslotus barnight lifeamazing viewsmango bay
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

This was supposed to be our main honeymoon relaxation vacation and the second we stepped onto the Koh Tao Cabana grounds we were so let down and underwhelmed.

Upon arrival, there is a fountain in the middle of the roundabout and in front of reception, both of which were 75% drained and not clean. The presentation was upsetting and failed to come even close to the luxury Thai visit we were hoping for.

They brought us to our room which was room 52, the Koi Pool Villa, and we were again underwhelmed. The pictures online made it look much prettier and luxurious than it was. It is still very nice, but no where near what it seemed online. We contemplated checking out immediately and going to a different hotel, but we were told Koh Tao Cabana is the nicest property on the Koh Tao island, which was depressing. Since the last boat had already left for the day we were forced to stay and by that time we decided to suck it up. Not exactly the feeling you'd like to have on your honeymoon.

Next was the restaurant at the hotel and it was another let down. I ordered a burger that fell entirely apart, the meat wouldn't stay together and fell all over my plate. Another day we had breakfast and ordered omelettes, but it was obvious the omelettes were made from liquid egg and not real eggs. We decided to eat out in the town for each meal and luckily there are tons of great options in the town itself.

The maintenance of the property was unacceptable. The grass outside our cabana and walking to the beach was overgrown and you couldn't even find a path to walk through without stepping through miscellaneous grass and weeds.

As for the room itself, as I mentioned it was decent, very very spacious. There are many mosquitos so be very careful to apply mosquito repellant at ALL times. They even bit us while in the shower.

We wouldn't return to Koh Tao Cabana or the Koh Tao island and it is not a place to go on your honeymoon.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank andan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This is the first time I am compelled to write a negative review. We paid less for Impiana Resort and Escape Beach Resort in Koh Samui, The COAST in Ko Phangan but feel like we got so much more in terms of facilities and service/staff attentiveness. Koh Tao resort is maintained to such a minimal standard (perhaps only the rooms and restaurant is maintained during low season?) that if felt like 1/3 of the price would have been reasonable.

The signs to the "waterfall" indicates the swimming pool but the waterfall was inactive when we arrived. Had to get the attention of a staff member based at the pool who had better things to do in order to have it switched on. We really didn't understand the purpose of the second pool full of uninviting murky green water. Staying faithful to the unkempt jungle theme? Usually pools at resorts/hotels are a major attraction, especially with the hot weather, but we gave it a miss after the first 30 mins of our stay. It's also quite a distance from the beach, which you cannot see from the pool.

We took a villa, which was as some reviews have pointed out before me, quite the distance from the beach, restaurant and front desk. Please bear this in mind, as you may have to do these steps through the jungle (literally) at night with a torch in hand whilst ducking past large flying insects and branches.

This resort in the jungle, the odd lizard/cockroach in the room, mosquitos, sound of bugs louder than neighbouring bars, and bathrooms half outdoors with mosquito nets in place of windows will be great if you want this proximity to nature. If you are looking for something more modern and pristine, this could be a nightmare.

At some point, we got locked inside the bathroom in the middle of the night as the door hook lock fell into place whilst we were inside. Knowing that nobody could hear us with the villas so far apart and far away from any staff members (who were all off during those hours), we had to break the hook lock off to get ourselves out.

The same snorkelling boat trip around the island visiting 5 locations will be cheaper if you enquire in town. Cost us 500 baht whereas the hotel provided the same service from same company at 750 baht.

Positives
Location is fantastic if you want to be a short walk to the restaurants, bars and amenities by Sairee beach but not within the centre of it. View along Sairee beach is absolutely stunning, which is an amazing thing to wake up to over breakfast. We very much appreciated the free pick up/drop off to the port and complimentary mozzie spray you can find in the room.

This hotel might be for you and you may find it charming but be warned, it isn't for everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jaeyoung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Situated at the end of the main beach, this is the ideal spot in Koh Tao to be close to the nightlife without being deafened by the noise. We had the Koi Villa, which was huge and situated right on the beach, it was luxurious and spotless with its own pool. The Hotel staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The Housekeeping staff were delightful and the restaurant deserves a review of its own as it was the best in Koh Tao. (I would especially recommend the seafood BBQ).

There is free pick up and drop off from the ferry (look out for a driver with a sign) and check in/out was easy. WiFi is a little patchy but this was a minor niggle as it was lovely not to automatically have emails arriving and allowed us time to totally unwind and relax. Make use of the free mozzie spray, its excellent.

Book your own round island snorkelling trip as the company the Hotel use has the most obnoxious ex pat guide who I would happily have pushed off the boat. Snorkelling is amazing in Koh Tao. The island tends to attract young rich gap year kids who are learning to dive so expect lots of fire dancers and loud music in some of the bars.

I would definitely return to Koh Tao and learn to dive (its one of the cheapest places in Thailand to learn) and I would certainly stay in Koh Tao Cabana again.

Room Tip: Koi villa is amazing
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in honeymoon cottage 17.
The noise from the bars along the other end of the beach is ridiculously noisy!! Music played from 7pm to 3am every night we were there. Then at 5am the engine noise from boats in the bay start. We had to take a sleeping tablet on the 3rd night. I am a heavy sleeper and will sleep through just about anything. I also enjoy music and partying... But this really is ridiculous. We stayed out to 4am one night - if you can't beat them join them?!? Apart from this, nice location. I would not recommend staying here for a romantic or restful time. Maybe other rooms on the property will not have the noise issue??? Make sure you are not in villa 17!!!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a cottage treetop. The room itself is outstanding. The design , furnishing, the view from the balcony and bed- wowww. Everything is so special and pretty made, even the toilet paper holder. The outside bathroom-we liked it a lot. When will I get a chance showering under the stars again?! It's like ur in the middle of the jungle. So many beautiful plants and statues. The breakfast is lovely and all so fresh. The beach and pool clean and beautiful. A few issues- the noise from the boats and bars-It didn't bothered us at all but if u r a really light sleeper think about it. The shower was weird-sometimes hot sometimes cold and it's difficult to control It. But Overall-an amazing experience.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank gilgil84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews