We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience ”
Review of Assava Dive Resort

Assava Dive Resort
Ranked #35 of 104 Tours in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive Koh Tao with us at Assava Dive Resort (Formerly Sunshine Divers), located on the Southern bay of Koh Tao in Chalok Baan Kao. Assava Dive Resort is a recognized PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Centre offering a Accommodation to suit all budgets, Small Groups for personalized diving experiences with a focus on quality diver training for PADI scuba diving courses and fun and a relaxed atmosphere. At Assava Dive Resort you're not only a student diver or guest, you become part of the family. Located directly on the beach with gorgeous views of Chalok Bay and landscaped gardens and close to all several restaurants, shopping , atm's and medical facilities. Our newly renovated resort is affiliated with Ban's Diving Resort on Sairee Beach allowing our guests access to more diving and resort facilities if you wish to explore the party side of the island. Our new Restaurant and Bar "The Cove" offers breakfast, take out diver breakfasts for the early morning divers, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took me years to pluck up the courage to dive, really glad I did it with Assava. The whole team are very welcoming and always go out of their way to speak to you, and reassure you if or when needed.
My instructor, Nicole was excellent. She explains things very clearly and always put me at ease when I needed it. Excellent all round.
Hoping to return here one day to complete my advanced

Thank Jonnyape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team-2010, Manager at Assava Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hey John,
Thanks for the wonderful review, will pass on the excellent feedback to Nicole. Look forward to your return for more diving and taking the PADI Advanced Course.
Happy Diving around the world.
Cheers Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"diving school"
in 10 reviews
"open water"
in 22 reviews
"amazing vibe"
in 2 reviews
"chalok bay"
in 4 reviews
"thank you so much"
in 5 reviews
"thanks guys"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful bay"
in 2 reviews
"whole team"
in 5 reviews
"made us feel"
in 6 reviews
"two months"
in 2 reviews
"my girlfriend"
in 5 reviews
"enjoyed diving"
in 2 reviews
"explaining everything"
in 2 reviews
"amazing instructor"
in 4 reviews
"personal touch"
in 2 reviews
"friendly atmosphere"
in 2 reviews
"laid back"
in 4 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This wasn't my first dive experience, and to be honest, I didn't have the best dive conditions while in Koh Tao, visibility was not great due to rain in the previous days. But the dive school is definitely not to blame for that. I can even say, that despite the reduced visibility, I had great fun dives. Jack is a great instructor and guide with a lot of dive knowledge, and very keen on showing everything the underwaterworld of Koh Tao has to offer. Also the dive masters around are very well trained and not fooling around. If I wouldnt have had my open water and advanced yet, I would have definitely wanted to obtain it with this great group of people. Whether you want to do a course or just fun dives, I'd reccomend Assava to everybody

Thank MBtravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team-2010, Manager at Assava Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi MBtravels,

Thanks for your fantastic feedback and we hope you are enjoying your time travelling throughout Asia.
See you back in the future,

Kind regards,
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my 2 friends did our PADI open water course at Assava Dive Resort and we absolutely loved it! The people working there are great and our instructor Marcus was the best we could have asked for. Assava only does courses with small groups so you really get the most out of the course. Besides that the resort is beautifully located at the beach.

Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team-2010, Manager at Assava Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Tom,
Thanks for your feedback and truly glad you enjoyed your time at Assava Dive Resort. We look forward to you returning for more diving and fun!
Kind regards,
Natalie Hunt and Assava Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ghent, Belgium
3
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly dive resort. Instructor Jack did an amazing job and thanks to him we have our open water padi. There is a lot of patience, empathy, goodwill and understanding for beginners. We are so happy we chose this diving school!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team-2010, Manager at Assava Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much knowing you enjoyed your diving experience with Jack.
We are glad you had a wonderful time at Assava Dive Resort and we hope to see you back again in the future,
Kind regards,
Natalie Hunt & the Assava Dive Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

What can I say. Absolutely the best time. The accommodation was lovely and the staff have all become friends. I wanted to try diving so I began in the pool. The diving instructors were so patient with me as I kept freaking out as I am claustrophobic. At the end of our weeks holiday I am hooked. I came away an advanced diver with a wreck specialty !!! Yes you read that right, a claustrophobic with a wreck specialty!!! That tells you how amazing they all were. Gonna miss you Assava x

Thank Claudine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team-2010, Manager at Assava Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Claudine,
Thanks for the wonderful review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay and diving with us at Assava Dive Resort.
Enjoy the remaining time of you holidays throughout Asia and hope to see you back again soon,
kind regards,
Natalie Hunt & The Assava Dive Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assava Dive Resort also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Assava Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing