We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
62
26
19
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
26
19
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower dive shop diving school yoga studio offer free transportation closest beach is open bathroom swimming in the ocean aow leuk bay main beaches snorkel gear an amazing view remote location per day my girlfriend dev mimi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay at Baan Talay and were impressed by the descriptions and reviews. Upon arriving the hotel is very well presented we had our own bungalow with outdoor shower and a hammock outside. The price is expensive for what is offered, there is no water or drinks facilities and we were not given fresh towels during our 5 day stay. The restaurant has a selection of food that is made fresh. There are not many vegetarian options and many of the ingredients were unavailable or out of stock such as the fresh coffee. We were in fact charged the same price for instant coffee which once disputed was reduced. The service was average with the staff shouting orders up to the kitchen. The location is away from any other facilities so at points we felt a little trapped within the resort. They do offer a free shuttle to the beach each morning with a return at 4pm be sure to be visible to your driver as we waited in the cafe one day and were told the driver had been and gone without announcing this to the two groups waiting inside from the rain. The owner is friendly but own the hotel, as well as dive shop and cafe you are dropped at each day so feels like lots of profit is being made from a very basic service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shakira b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Baan Talay is a great place if you want to relax in a remote location and be away from the hustle and bustle at the main beaches. If you're looking for a place to explore bars and go party, then it is probably the wrong location for you.

My girlfriend and I stayed at Baan Talay in mid-June and had a great time. The staff was wonderful and always helpful, the food was yummy and the view from the deck made breakfast unforgettable. We always used the free shuttle to their dive school in the morning and went diving with their dive school New Heaven Diving or to the beach and took their shuttle back in the afternoon to relax in the hammock of our bungalow, have a good read and a nice dinner. You can go swimming in the ocean, but need to hike a small path downhill from the bungalows to reach a small deck at the stone shore. Access zu the water is not that easy, but bring Snorkelling gear and one is rewarded with a reef teeming with life (especially in the morning).

We would definitely stay again at Baan Talay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Saad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay at Baan Talay. The staff were fantastic and the 3 times a day free shuttle to Chalok was a fantastic bonus. The rooms were very clean and simple yet sufficient and the view was to die for. The best yoga studio I have ever been to. Dev, who is incredibly knowledgable and passionate about yoga, will take you on a different yoga journey every day!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

I spent two nights here with my boyfriend and we loved it! Could have easily stayed for longer. The huts are really nice, beautiful and the view and surroundings are also incredibly beautiful.
The way to the sea is a bit steep, yes, and you have to swim a bit to get to the beach-beach (takes maybe 20 minutes incl. swimming to get to the beach). But it is probably the best beach on Koh Tao and bring snorkelling gear, since there are so many colorful fish and corals to enjoy on the swimming trip there.
The restaurant at the hotel made us some delicious food. A bit pricy, but not really compared to similar hotels on the island. And the smoothies are incredible - not the typical Thai smoothie, but really creamy and just delicious!
The staff was friendly and very helpful at all times, very nice!
All in all, beautiful settings for a romantic getaway at the cliff-side! Would love to return one day!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Malene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Baan Talay for two nights and we loved it. The kids had a hut and me and my husband had a sea view suite. Very simple and cosy both of them. The view was fantastic. We felt really relaxed while we were there. Having yoga classes with Dave both evening and he is a really good teacher. The staff was very friendly and funny. We had a lot of good connection even if their English was a little poor. The food was good but we ate our dinner at Blue Heaven 5 minutes away. It is a fantastic restaurant and when you sit on the terasse there you have an amazing view over the see. We will come back to Baan Talay in the future. That's for sure!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rikke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews