We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
240
291
118
52
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
291
118
52
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstanote bayeco cottagestaxi serviceshared bathroomno air conditioninglovely poolbreakfast was includedscuba divingbeach barbeach frontfanbahtislandpierbungalowtaxistao
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here March 2018 and we were so pleased we picked here! Got picked up from the ferry pier and taken to the resort (free of charge). When we arrived we were very impressed with the hotel! The pool was a reasonable size and right on the beach so the views were gorgeous! We stayed in a jungle cottage and it was clean and tidy and very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included and there was a choice of fruit, cereal, hot food and drinks. We also ate at the restaurant twice and the food was gorgeous and all the staff were very friendly! My only issue was that there were no sun beds or loungers around the pool or on the beach but overall we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend!
We also did a beginners 1 day scuba diving course and we loved every minute! The instructor (can’t remember his name!) was amazing. He let us change our lesson time on the day due to feeling ill in the morning and helped us along the whole way, showing us everything we would need to know. Could not fault it at all we loved every second and want to continue scuba diving in the future!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

This hotel is an good average - the food is good and the service and staff are great.
But the mattresses are really hard.

There's a lot of stairs there ;-)

Other than that - its located in surroundings thats nice and quiet and wonderful - nice scuba diving area too!! TIP: during full moon - the sight is not so good.

Room Tip: Ask for good mattresses and remember the mosquito balm!!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

If you are looking to go diving on Koh Tao, Montalay Beach Resort is a really good option to consider. The resort is lovely and situated right on the beach where there are reefs immediately off-shore. As someone who had never even scuba dived , completing my Padi Open Water qualification was a little bit scary. That said, the team at the school, headed up by Rob was knowledgable and had tons of patience when it came to teaching a complete novice! They were also very agile regarding my required dives as one of my travel companions was celebrating his birthday during our stay and I wasn't keen on diving the morning after. Overall it was a great experience and a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

So we booked this hotel last year and we really liked it, so we booked with Montalay again! Clean, spacious rooms, awesome bathroom and a nice balcony to sit and have a drink (or two). The bed is a bit hard, but we don't really mind.
The facilities are great! Nice pool, right on the beach, good breakfast (although I can't deal with the terrible coffee in Thailand), nice helpful staff, beach bar, diving and snorkeling facilities, a spa (massage) playroom for the kids and a taxi service to the pier (150 TBH pp).
It's really remote, so I'm here to escape the crowds at Sairee Beach. Just grab a Singha or Chang, sit down and watch the stars!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights and we were really not pleased with the service we received. The room did not have air conditioning it had a noisy fan instead. There was no safe available to keep our valuables in. The bathroom was dark, unclean, outdated and during our stay the shower head actually fell off nearly hitting me on the head it was quite a scare. Restaurant staff were unfriendly and the food was vile and that’s an understatement. The maid service was terrible our glasses didn’t even get rinsed that says it all. There are only 2 positives to this hotel the driver service is friendly and the washing service was fast.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank kirvingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews