We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tree-Top haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tree-Top haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at "The Place" for 3 nights during our travels through Koh Tao and the neighboring Thai islands on our honeymoon this August. From the very first email exchange with Guy it was a calming, relaxed, professional experience that made our stay effortless.

The Views of Koh Tao from The Place are stunning and the excellent finish of the villa makes it worth your consideration. From the infinity pool perched on the edge of the canopy to the complete open glazed window aspect of the bedroom, you have a picture perfect horizon of Koh Tao.

Nothing is too much trouble for Guy and 'Becks who were as helpful, friendly and discreet as the best hotel concierge service.

If you want a luxury villa away from the hubub of the town, yet within walking distance of all the amenities with fantastic, friendly hosts, this is "The Place" for you. Thanks Guy and Becks for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Villa 1 has an amazing uninterrupted view of the Coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
733
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Well what can I say, The Place is absolutely amazing, the hosts are tremendous. The services levels are second to none,

Guy and Bex were an absolute pleasure, they know exactly what customer service is and always go that extra mile for the guests 24/7 and with willingness and a smile. I really do not know where they get their energy from. Guy and Bex think of everything from providing you with a mobile phone with credit and pre programmed numbers, at no cost and no deposit, absolute trust is given to their guests. They provide torches with the villa keys and pre programmed TV Box with hundreds of films and series availability. They provided details of an excellent taxi driver (Mr Bear), who was always polite, well presented, informative, on time and available, even at very short notice.

Guy and Bex also provide the opportunity for a chef (Ed, fantastic person) to come and cook at your villa and Bex sets up the table. After dinner all you need to do is deposit the crockery and cutlery into a sealed box outside and in the morning its gone, can't be any easier and no dirty pots to wash or laying around. The food is fantastic, so much so we availed of this service for 2 of the 3 nights of our stay. Well worth the money, and still cheaper than a standard restaurant meal in Dubai.

The villa was a dream, the interior design was amazing and carefully thought out, if I had any slight concerns it would be the clothes storage, which was a challenge for us as we had brought far too much clothing, for those visitors packing sensibly the storage would be sufficient I am sure.

We will definately return for a quiet break, probably each year. Well done to both Guy and Bexs for achieving such incredibly high standards of service and care.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in Villa 1 for 3 nights whilst on our travels around Thailand. We were greeted at the dock by Guy and Bex who were the prefect hosts for our stay. This small private getaway has been well though out, has great views, is quet, relaxing and yet within walking distance to the centre of Koh Tao.
Each villa has an infinity pool and kitchen area, so you can stay tucked away for a few days relaxing on your own private deck, soaking in the sun and enjoying the spectacular views. The bathroom was exceptionally spacious and well designed and the fridge well stocked with 'necessities' (beer) at inexpensive prices. The in room entertainment was also outstanding with numerous films and music choices.
We would certainly return if we were ever back in Thailand and would definitely stay longer next time. It is the perfect place to unplug and re-charge your batteries - Well done guys :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

...There was a time when Inns were run out of personal pleasure emitting through the hospitality and services of the inn keepers; there was a time when technology wasn't scary but exciting; AND there was a time when thoughtfulness was palpable and not from a formula.
Rejoice! At The Place you will still find all of this!

1- The hospitality and the services:
These two people are subtly electric, and they simply "get it". They know why you're staying there and, as they say, they transfer their idea of a perfect holiday onto you. They give you the convenience of space, while never makign you feel that you're not tended to. They are like referees in a football match, the best ones are the ones you don't notice... they let you play for the love of the game - which in this case, is to relax and have your senses blown.

2- Their understanding of technology into your stay.
There's enough electricity, enough hot water (unlimited), enough appliances (nearly a full kitchen minus a milkshake machine, microwave, and magnetic marshmallows), and a perfect understanding of tasteful lighting, pool settings, and perfect TV and non-ominous internet (if you need it). By "perfect TV", I mean this: they have a TV system with approx 500 movies on demand, TV shows on demand, and best of all, no direct news channels (ie: live TV), but they may be able to fenaggle that. They have ALL sorts of movies for those rainy days or long evenings (you'll want to spend time indoors...), and all ranked by their personal scoring system, and by language (they even had two russian movies!), and even by release years and classics. To me, that represents the stay itself --- you have all you need, without any intrusions (commercials, adverts), plus the ability to turn it on and off.

3- Their thoughtfulness.
This starts in the email exchanges (yes, we all agree that Guy's the man and he makes us all feel uniquely special with his efficiency and accommodating nature), then leads to the impressions of them both when they welcome you, and this it permeates as they leave and you're left alone in your Villa. In your Villa - it's one of these types of stays - you will find yourself mumbling (or chanting!) "wow... they have thought of everything...... even that!". Some examples are flashlights on the mobile phones they give you, the selection of menus to order food from (they have bagels deliverable), the size of the pool, the depth of the lounge chairs, the amount of seating options, the positioning of the fan, the space of the bathroom and the lighting from the skylight, the different types of flooring, the lighting around the mirrors, in the pool, and in the corners, the simpel mornign text messages, the honesty of the island, the style of the recycling systems, the choice of towels, the perfect size and cushion of the bed plus the weight of the cover and the suction of the pillows, etc...

While you're lucky to be going there, let's all say a prayer that Guy and Bex find a wizardry way to maintain their thoughtful approach as they expand from 2 to 12 villas. Who knows... Maybe they can create some clones while they re-create the hospitality industry's style. Their style, after all, is a modern marvel of a bygone era, and one worth diving into from your own balcony!

Room Tip: Renting a moped is a real nuisance from the agents in town (they don't trust, it's a new ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuitcasedSoul_MGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I shared our honeymoon in Thailand and spent 6 nights in Villa 1 whilst we were on Koh Tao.

Guy met us at the pier and the taxi driver that they recommend you to use 'Mr Bear', was their to take us straight to the villa.

There are three things that made 'The Place' the perfect place for us on this trip:

The villa is beautiful, well equipped and carefully thought out. Guy and Bex have provided all of the amenities that you could need.

The villa is is situated up on a hill, in the woodland and in a peaceful position with awesome views. It is private but within easy reach of Sairee beach.

Guy and Bex are a really great couple, were extremely welcoming and friendly, and we knew that they were there to ensure that we had a great time. Although we didn't need it much, we were provided with a prepaid phone so that we could contact them if there was anything else we needed.

The only downside of the villa is that it made coming home that much harder!

Duncan and Sarah Macpherson

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 km away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.5 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
4.2 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.7 km away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 km away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,254 - ₹ 14,740
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing