We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place Run By Great People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place Run By Great People”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I shared our honeymoon in Thailand and spent 6 nights in Villa 1 whilst we were on Koh Tao.

Guy met us at the pier and the taxi driver that they recommend you to use 'Mr Bear', was their to take us straight to the villa.

There are three things that made 'The Place' the perfect place for us on this trip:

The villa is beautiful, well equipped and carefully thought out. Guy and Bex have provided all of the amenities that you could need.

The villa is is situated up on a hill, in the woodland and in a peaceful position with awesome views. It is private but within easy reach of Sairee beach.

Guy and Bex are a really great couple, were extremely welcoming and friendly, and we knew that they were there to ensure that we had a great time. Although we didn't need it much, we were provided with a prepaid phone so that we could contact them if there was anything else we needed.

The only downside of the villa is that it made coming home that much harder!

Duncan and Sarah Macpherson

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    17
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
787
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

the time i spent at the place could not have been made better in any way. from the moment we were picked up we were welcomed by Guy and Bex and made to feel right at home straight away, they gave us water to cool us down on the taxi ride, and took our bags, the service was impeccable, the tour of the villa was lost on me... i couldnt concentrate, the view from the deck is simply incredible, the decor so tastefully picked out, and knowing that you can escape the sweltering heat in your own little infinity pool means makes your first impression of the place unforgettable... after our tour, we were left with a phone so we could contact guy and bex whenever we needed anything and were then left to our own devices... total privacy for two nights, and a tv packed with every show and movie you can imagine, recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIchigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at The Place for our honeymoon and had a great, relaxing stay here. The views of the ocean from the entire house, deck and infinity pool were amazing. Easily the nicest place we have ever stayed at! The staff there (Guy and Bex) were great, funny, and very knowledgeable about the Ko Tao area. They picked us up from the ferry and took care of anything we needed. Overall, this was our favorite place we stayed at on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I3igDmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I can't recommend The Place more highly. We spent 7 nights there of an almost two week trip in Thailand, and it absolutely delivered!

Their website describes: peace and privacy in a beautiful location. I think this is a perfect description. The villas are out of the main area of Sairee beach but easily accessible within a short taxi or 15 minute walk. We rented a moped for the week which made the trips in and out very easy - it was especially nice to duck into town and get some take away curries to enjoy on our balcony with the beautiful views of the ocean and beach in front of us, and then unwind on the deck or get in the pool, or head inside and watch a movie in the aircon if the heat was too much.

The villa itself was fantastic. Lots of open plan space, all the amenities we needed to use for cooking breakfast (you could do dinner if you wanted easily), filtered drinking water (somehow most luxury hotels in Thailand haven't figured this out), great bathroom and deck space, very cool open plan layout and modern bathroom, and also a nice media box fully loaded. It was great to curl under the air con and watch a movie when the temp got too hot for a fair skinned couple..

And then the infinity pool...that is what I call luxury. Loved being able to get in and get wet at any point of the day or night and cool off. It was absolutely fantastic. We preferred to stay private, so most mornings I did a very quick clean with the net (some leaves etc can blow in - no big deal) and we gave the filter a run for a few hours whenever we went out. Easy...saved having the staff come and take care of it..

Lastly our hosts Guy and Bex were very welcoming. Came and met us at the pier and also dropped us off, arranging and covering the taxi fare and looking after our luggage. They were very helpful with the information they offered and really friendly - we felt very welcomed. The service was fantastic, but they allowed absolute privacy - as much as we required.

We'd love to stay there again. Fantastic accomodation to enjoy the beautiful Ko Tao.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Our stay at 'The Place' was absolutely the highlight of 3 week trip to Thailand. It's the most gorgeous setting, nestled in the jungle with sweeping views of the coast off Koh Tao and an abundance of wildlife and flora. It really is one of the most beautiful places we've stayed in the world.

Guy and Bex, the hosts, could not be more accommodating - they provide A+++ service and I'm particularly thankful to Guy for all of his advice and assistance in helping us plan our trip to Koh Tao, including arranging pickups and booking the ferry etc for us.

The Place has everything, the attention to detail combined with the sheer natural beauty and laid back atmosphere of Koh Tao makes it the perfect place to unwind, relax and enjoy life!

They provide you with your own mobile, 'Mr Bear' the ever reliable taxi driver and lovely hamper on arrival that is most useful if you don't feel like dining out.

We will treasure our fond memories of staying in this beautiful place with the most lovely hosts, and are already factoring a return visit into our next trip abroad!

Thanks Guy and Bex!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get Bex to book a trip with Great Adventures. Tim, the owner, took us on a half day s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,234 reviews
1.2 km away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
336 reviews
4.2 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
2.9 km away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,245 reviews
4.2 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,017 - ₹ 15,256
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing