We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sairee Cottage Resort
Nearby Hotels
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
US$ 44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 128
US$ 110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 110
US$ 105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 108
US$ 82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

PD Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 61
US$ 38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ananda Villa(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 54
US$ 50
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$ 46
US$ 42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 50/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$ 227
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
349
203
74
39
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
203
74
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolside roompurple roomdive schoolopen waterthe cottagesswim up barbasic bungalowdive shopfun divesawesome divediving coursepool sidedive packagedive staffper nightbeach hutdiving instructor
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Myself and my partner stayed here in dec in an ac bungalow. The bungalow was fine, it was fairly basic, with a double bed, some storage space and a small cubicle bathrom with a hot shower. It was cheap enough, around 250 euro for 7 nights, so i guess it was fine for that price. This resort is in a great location, right across the road from the sea (although you may have to walk five mins in either direction to find a nice bit of sand to lie on), its not exactly nestled beside golden strecth of sand. Its also only a couple of minutes walk from sairee village, or bans diving centre in the other direction.

So anyway, the positives about this place, the location is really convenient, and the accommodation is a reasonable price. The sairee cottage massage and treatment centre is really lovely and the women who worked there were really sweet and friendly. Lovely!

The negatives: Really noisy in the mornings, the cock crows VERY early! and the moped traffic starts pretty early too. But yes, this can be helped with ear plugs. The bathroom was not great, and the toilet got blocked up almost every day, quite annoying.
BUT, the thing which annoyed me the most about this place was the staff! The receptionist (younger woman), i found quite rude. The owners - I also found them quite rude, they never once asked us how our stay was, even on the morning we checked out. And i get the impression that they dont even have to try and be nice to guests because they know there are ferry loads of travellers turning up every day. It is unfortonate that they dont extend the irish/thai welcome that they should. And finally, the restraunt staff were equally rude and dismissive, and the food was terrible (coffee was really awful awful awful), take a walk five mins down the road for better value and service.
I was really hoping that i would enjoy this place, particularly as it is irish owned, but the service put me right off the place and i wont stay here again. I work too hard for my money to spend it in a place where the customer is treated like an inconvenience.
And also, just to note, this is my 3rd trip to thailand and ko tao, so i am not aware about what to expect in terms of service etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate128Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We checked in here for one night and stayed in a basic garden hut for 400 baht a night .(£8.50) The room was fine, very basic, cold water and very small but that's what to expect for the price. Overall the resort was ok but we couldn't bear to stay another night due to the incredibly rude Receptionist.

From the moment we met her she looked at us like a piece of dirt and pretty much threw the keys at us. She shouted at us when we stroked the Sairee pet puppy, and she had no interest in helping us at all. When we asked about where we could get WIFI she made a dismissive gesture at us and suggested there was no where near by, but we later discovered there where numerous bars and restaurants which offered it for free. The final straw was when we asked her about doing our laundry. She pointed to the floor by the door without saying a word so we asked if we could weigh it so we knew how much it would cost. She refused, obviously because she wanted to charge us more than the actual weight, everywhere else we had done laundry they had weighed it in front of us. Then when we asked for a ticket to prove we had left it with her she also refused in a very aggressive manner. I even asked her to just right it on a piece of paper and she just bluntly said NO!

This is the first time we have ever written a review on a hotel, but the receptionist at this place was SO rude and angered us that much we had to share it with you. We're usually fairly laid back and can handle our fair share of rude or ignorant hotel staff but she was a whole new level of nastiness. To the manager of Sairee Cottage, please sack your receptionist, and I'm sure you will see your level of business increase significantly. We moved hotels just to get away from her, there are many other better budget resorts that have a lot friendlier and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clewless07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We discovered Sairee Cottages on our way to Koh Tao. And we'reglad we did. We'd booked a place near Mae Haad pier for the first night, but after a chat with a traveller on the way to the island we decided to look at Sairee Cottages on a recommendation. We looked no further.
We stayed six nights and loved every minute of it.
By the time we left our family, 2 adults and two kids (15 and 10), had completed a 4 day open water diving course with a very capable patient instructor, enjoyed a few more adventure dives (in cluding a night dive), looked forward to our many meals at the restaurant in the company of the helpful and charming restaurant staff and felt the firm hands of an experienced and traditional Thai massuer.
And the Sairee Cottages receptionist was always willing to help us or direct us to assistance. Just the right tone for a laid back island.

I could go on about accomodation... great room.. very clean...quiet lush tropical surrounds...small scale....felt completely safe with young family.
The diving..we did an open water course as a family of 4.. taught by highly qualified english dive instructor to international standards.. very clear instruction especially to our young daughters... we all developed a great confidence and rapport with our instructor... we all felt we were always in very safe hands ( essential when diving with the kids).

The restaurant... beautiful fresh food and drinks... very reasonable....affordable.. friendly smiling helpful staff.
Much of the thrill of the travel for us is chatting with the locals. English is not everyones first language but smiles and a willingness to try and understand make it all the more fun.
We'd go back again and we'll recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daymow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

A group of friends and my partner stayed at Sai Ree Cottages recently and were stoked with the value for money.

We stayed in fan bungalows (which are often offered at a further discount, or free, if you're diving) which did the trick - simple rooms with a fan on the ceiling and concrete bathroom/wetroom attached. For $NZ9/night we definitely weren't complaining, but the Cottages have a full range of accomm - from shared dorms (quite far away from the beach, but with the option for aircon) to airconditioned bungalows on the beach.

The restaurant was great (delicious and very reasonably-priced, with daily Happy Hour) and we found all of the staff to be really helpful, friendly, and good for a laugh.

The location is perfect - on the main strip of beach in Koh Tao, very close to lots of small shops and restaurants and the buzz of the bars at nighttime. If you're a very light sleeper, you might have a problem - with the windows open, you can definitely hear the bars not too far away, but it really wasn't an issue.

I would recommend this place if you're looking for a very cheap, clean place to stay in a good location (although the beachfront aircon rooms would be even nicer!).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimLarNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

There are many resorts along Sairee Beach. However, there are either many boats anchored off at some stretch of the beach or there is a sewage stench off some beach area in front of the bigger resorts. (Refuse disposal is a huge problem at Koh Tao!)

We love the beach in front of Sairee Cottage. The compound actually occupies a fairly long stretch of the sand and its restaurant facing the sea is a bonus

However, the lady who manages the reception seem very erratic with her service. She was extremely rude one day, and all smiles the next day. We cannot figure her out.

The chalets are basic but clean. At a budget, its a small price to pay for the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews