We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
12
7
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
7
0
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one month at 10,000 baht. It was cheap for Koh Tao now, and it included a kitchen and we were allowed to pickup gas cookers, microwaves, toasters and kettles below!

The apartment we got was great. Comfy room, nice bathroom and kitchen! With a large balcony with a table and chairs. The place could of done with a deep clean, but there was no damp or mould or anything too major!

From reading other reviews, I get what they mean about management. They were a bit uncaring, but really the people that stay here tend to be longterm. So the management isn't involved in your day-to-day living, so yes, you do have to buy your own toilet roll? It's a longterm bungalow, not a hotel!

Perfect for our month, we had a few small inconveniences but nothing of too much significance!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eilish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Me and my boyfriend came here a week ago because he had stayed there for six months in 2012 and then he payed 3500bath per month for a big fan room with kitchen.
We came to koh tao in search for work, so what i write below is not due to hangovers.
When we arrived there was a new owner and she had pushed the price up to 12000bath per month for the same room.
We got a room with double bunkbeds because everything was full on the island.
She promised us that we could pay 7500bath for a month but in the end she tricked us.
She had put brown covers on the pillows so we couldnt see they were totally black with poisonus black mold, we found that out after we had been sick for a few days and opened the covers if the pillows. We both got extreme headaches, problems when breathing, caughts and chestpain. I aso got skinrash and extreme fatigue.
In our bathroom there was a family of rats, the fan we got was broken and also the second fan we exchanged it to was broken.
They turned off the electricity and water a few tmes during our stay.
The room was extremely dirty we had to clean it at arrival with rat and gekko droppings/poop everywhere.
The sink was clogged and my boyfriend had to clean it too.
The room was super noisy during the night you can hear the dancemusic from AC bar down at the beach as if it was next door... so no sleep was possible until the club closed at 4am.
I can honestly say this is the most disgusting place ive ever been living in my whole life and cant recommend anyone to stay in ok view.
The only reason that we stayed one week was that the island was full and no other rooms available at all.
On top of that the manager and the staff were intruding on our privacy, on our last day they opened the locked door to our room in the morning while we were asleep...
The manager didnt keep her promise that we could pay as the rate would be for a month divided by the days. She screwed us by charging much more expensive per day rate instead.
I promise that you can find a hundred times better accomodation for the same price somewhere else on the island.
Ok View is NOT Ok in ANY way!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SveaSveaSvea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed here after a week of staying on Sairee beach, we'd had enough of the noise and partying and wanted somewhere a little more out of the way. OK View Bungalows is up in the hills and would need a motorbike to get to or good legs! We paid 800B a night for one week here and were more than happy to pay it - the rooms were large with a large balcony and all the bungalows were well spread out making you forget about any other people staying there! We had bungalow 10 which had hot water. The wifi is only available in the reception area but if you are staying for a long period of time (1week+) then buy wifi from the town and connect anyway on the island. There is not much need for aircon, we had a fan, because up in the hills there is always a breeze and it is much cooler than on Sairee Beach.

There were often power cuts and water shortages whilst here BUT this IS the common thing in Koh Tao anyway - we stayed in Koh Tao for 2 weeks and there were power cuts all over the island all the time. There is a backup supply of power and water at OK View - the only problem is that if the lady who runs it isn't around you have to wait until she is back! Or for her French husband to do it.

The lady who runs OK View is 60+ years and once you get to know her she is adorable. She runs a travel agents, restaurant and OK View Bungalows so is rushed off her feet most of the time so you are left to your own devices a lot of the time. You do have the the two Pugs in reception to keep you company though!

People may complain about the small problems here but we loved our time here and also the lady who runs it. You have to remember you are on an island which gets its supply of power from Koh Samui and often cuts out all over the island. I would recommend staying here for long stays of a week or months to learn to love OK View because a short stay may give you a bad impression.

We rented a bike from DD Hut on Sairee beach for the length of our stay (2 weeks) on Ko Tao. I was charged for a scratched wing mirror, which was scratched but i didn't actually do it. My advice would be to video the whole bike before renting to avoid any hidden extras, we were warned about this but on the day of return we were running late for the ferry so didn't have time to argue.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I've been visiting Ok View for 8 years, and always had a lovely friendly stay with Kerry and her staff, HOWEVER !!! during my last visit there was a management change and things now are really bad. First we had no water, then no electric, we had to witness the owner screaming at her staff like a mad woman, when we asked the owner's husband for toilet roll, he said NO !! and said it wasn't his problem, very rude. The bar was always closed, but the final straw was when they decided to turn off the lights on the paths up to the bungalows ( i guess it was to save money on electric ) but it made it very difficult under foot and was dangerous walking in total darkness.
We decided to book in somewhere else , for the rest of our holiday.which was extra expense to us
I will never stay there again and would NOT recommend it to anyone .

Thank you Kerry and Pun for the last 8 years.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Caroleecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Hi There!
Just wanted to let the community know what´s going on at OK View:
on the 22nd Kerry and her stuff quit managing OK-View... since then it´s going fast down the slope, atm the owner herself (the nurse) "tries" to manage it with her daughter, since then this happened:
1st day without Kerry & Sprite: no drinks, no bar stuff
2nd day without ´em: No Water (not drinking water , you couldn´t even shower which is great at 32 degrees+ and a lot of humidity!)
3rd day: today mick + carole, and another couple from there poped just up at our new resort and told us they don´t even have electricity anymore at okview.....
...just ridiculous...!!
how to -- up a wonderful place & atomsphere within 3 days or less!!!
two nights after kerry quit managing Ok-View, we finally moved out from OK-View, yesterday...won´t see us there staying again...(we stayed there the last four years everytime mostly 3 months longterm rent , it was always nice and friendly there, but these times are gone..)
...and i would not advice anyone to go there unless you want to stay at a place with no supplies and a mad thailady screaming around at all her stuff........
...and thx to Kerry, Pun, and Sprite for the awesome Times you gave us there....!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank supergrobi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews