We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down ribs”
Review of Flaming Hog BBQ

Flaming Hog BBQ
Ranked #1 of 227 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 28
Description: Flaming Hog BBQ is real, high quality, slow-smoked, made from scratch Carolina BBQ and all that goes with it using family recipes and over 30 years of experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Flaming Hog BBQ is real, high quality, slow-smoked, made from scratch Carolina BBQ and all that goes with it using family recipes and over 30 years of experience.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

we read all 5 stars review and had a high hope for this place...we were dreaming of ribs that meat just tender and moist..and just about to fall of the bone...
what we got was a very dry and chewy ribs...with little meat and so difficult to cut through.
Roasted chicken also very dry and quite bland.
Tge good thing is the owner and staff are nice, always check if we are okay.

Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim992015, Owner at Flaming Hog BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

I'm at a compete loss!! Inaccurate in the extreme. If anything my food is too spicy. I think you have an axe to grind somewhere. After researching a little bit I realize you give everybody a poor rating! Good luck with your MacDonald McRib!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

If you want a feast your in for a treat. The chicken and rib combo was just the right fix we needed. Staff are friendly and welcoming, the owner deserves more credit for the effort he puts into his business. You must try this place if your in need of a meal closer to home to keep you going on your travels.

Thank paulwba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim992015, Owner at Flaming Hog BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thanks Paul!! Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. Phone problems you know... Always a pleasure!! Thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

No Frills restaurant with the BEST ribs EVER. Value for money. Jim the owner is just awesome and stops to chat to everyone and is most humble with the compliments received. His wife is currently the chef and is doing an amazing job. Their son Vincent runs about chatting to everyone as well which really gives the place a cosy family vibe. RIBS AND BAKED POTATO is highly recommended. Was great meeting you Jim... Thanks for a great night

Thank 222Jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim992015, Owner at Flaming Hog BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Your very, VERY WELCOME Jacqui!! It was great talking with all of you!!! Vincent still calling you the both of you "That nice Man and Lady!". It's a real pleasure and I hope see you again sometime soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Luckily we stumbled upon this place due to the rain tonight. I’ve been to many BBQ restaurants in the USA and this is up there with the best. The owner advised us on the portion sizes so we went for 1/2 ribs, 1/2 chicken combo and a side of corn on the cob. We cleared the platter and there was nothing left for poor Sprite the dog! The owner is a very friendly host and it was a pleasure to meet him and his family.

Thank RonnieGillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim992015, Owner at Flaming Hog BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for the great review!! It's greatly appreciated!! Sorry for the delay!! Phone problems his my life!! It was a real pleasure meeting you both!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I like my food i eat alot but this place is in my top 5 ever without a dout amazing highly recommended 10 out of 10

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim992015, Owner at Flaming Hog BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thanks you Michael for great review!!! You have to try the potato salad when you get back!! It's fantastic!! Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flaming Hog BBQ also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Flaming Hog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing