We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
99
8
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
8
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house communal fridge big supermarket bean bags pre drinks sunset yoga visiting koh tao place to stay home away from home the staff are super friendly small kitchen a great stay felt like home stayed longer location is great great room min walk
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Summer guesthouse and hostel is a great place to stay on Ko Tao. The atmosphere is always super chilled during the day, and in the evening people are always gathered in a group around the table in the common area having a few drinks.
The doorms have good beds, the staff is very friendly and helpful.
All in all a very nice place to stay on ko tao.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Silas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Best place ever to stay. Everyone is so nice and a amazing vibe. Brilliant air conditioned rooms excellent value for money and staff are fantastic they make everyone feel welcome and help you out with ferries and coaches for onward travelling. FIVE STARS!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank nigelbassett8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Nice staff, good atmosphere and nice rooms. I stayed here for 4 nights whilst getting my driving license and had a great time when I wasn't in class or in the water. Everyone at reception speaks really good English and is always helpful.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Boris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Nice private room- slightly overpriced. The shower is extremely weak and stops on and off constantly. It made it very difficult to even wash your hair which given you want to go to the beach a lot proved highly inconvenient. That being said the room is nice. However they take a 500 baht deposit when you check in and say it is for the key. However when you check out they tell you it is actually a damage deposit and spend a very long time checking rooms. And even though our room was in perfect condition they took so long we missed our transfer despite arriving at the check out desk early. When we expressed are anger at this situation they blatantly insulted us in thai! Very very rude. Ruined the whole experience for us.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank bellamorag235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer_Koh_Tao, Owner at Summer Guesthouse and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your room and that you chose to extend your stay with us. Regarding the water pressure we have been testing a new system and had you informed us you were experiencing problems it would have been really useful to know.

Regarding the deposit - if you google 'key deposit' the first definition you will see is that the wording is used synonymously with normal security deposits around the world. Every time someone checks out of our private rooms one of our staff members goes to make sure you haven't left anything behind and to make sure the room is ok. This is standard practice with all private rooms in guesthouses and hotels all over the world and something I enforce with our staff as more often than not we find something people have forgotten and it saves a lot of aggravation trying to return belongings.

I've watched the CCTV - and here's an accurate account of the events of that morning. We arranged a taxi to pick you up (at your request) at 9am. You came downstairs to check out at 9:27. The whole checkout process (including checking your room) was completed by 9:30 and you left in the taxi (that was still waiting for you) at 9:32. I've confirmed with the taxi driver that you made it to your ferry (that was at 10:15) in good time so claiming you missed your transfer is a blatant lie.

Looking at the CCTV it is you that was being rude - gesticulating in the face of staff members then standing there with your arms crossed displaying very clear animosity towards the staff and speaking about them rudely to your friend. I have confirmed with all staff members present and the taxi driver that at no point did anyone insult you in Thai - the only communications was to ask the cleaners to hurry to check the room and to confirm with the taxi driver that there was no problem with a couple more minutes delay (after you already being nearly 30 minutes late). You don't speak Thai so to accuse them of insulting you when they were just trying to ensure there were no problems with you making your ferry is unfair.

I am sorry you feel your experience was ruined but to falsify your review to try and insinuate we excessively delayed your departure and caused you to miss your transfer is unnecessary. The whole process only took 3 minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

The staff is super helpful and have a professional but chill approach. We lived in a double room and had good daily cleaning. Don't showered too long, the water will run out. We ordered transportation from the ferry and the driver picked up three other girls (total of 5) and we had to pay 100 bth each. If you are a bigger group, I'm sure you can find a cheaper deal than given be the hostel. We preferred the location since it is walking distance to the beach and night life, and therefor also quite in the night if you want to sleep instead.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews