We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unpleasant check in otherwise ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“unpleasant check in otherwise ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights deluxe villa. Positives; friendly porter to carry your luggage to and from pier. Big pool and nice sunbeds. Quiet part of island so relaxing. Breakfast ok.
However I had a very negative experience at check in, the happy holiday mood which had grown as I walked from the pier to the hotel quickly vanished when on arrival to the reception desk I was met with a sullen faced young boy who didnt smile or say hello, simply barked "you have reservation?"when I said yes and gave my name (I was still smiling at this stage in my happy holiday vibe) he then again barked at me "show me reservation" At this stage holiday mood quickly sank, I gave him my reservation confirmation and placed our two passports on the desk. He looked at reservation and said "passport" At this stage as I genuinely was almost mute from shock at being shouted at for no reason I pointed to the two passports where he then barked back "only need one" looking at me as if I was the stupidist creature he'd ever seen and waiting for me to hand him the passport even though it was literally at his fingertips. This experience really clouded my stay at the resort. The next day I asked to speak to a manager but was fobbed off and I have in the meantime e-mailed my complaint to the hotel. The other reception staff I found to be ok but this boy seriously needs to go back to training school to learn how to greet guests on arrival to his resort. Also for the money I dont think the deluxe villas are worth it, stay at the cheaper villas. Another negative is the crap air conditioning in our room, even though someone allegedly came to fix it, it didnt improve, nights were unbearably hot

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for deluxe villa also no true sea views so dont pay extra for those either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    205
    126
    80
    91
See reviews for
78
265
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I am not sure why some people think this hotel is paradise. The island location surely is, but not the hotel. We stayed here 5 nights, at about USD 100 per night. I tried to extend checkout by a few hours and was told that to do so I would be charged 500 baht per hour! The staff even tried to stiff me on a so-called missing glass from the room when I was collecting my 1,000 baht key deposit. It is not advertised but the shower and sink water is brackish. Some may not appreciate this inconvenience.

I had to keep ‘fixing’ the door handle to our ‘villa’ as it kept getting loose. Without these adjustments it would have fallen off. The toilet seat was broken. The shower backed up each time we used it. Clean towels were available after 6:00 PM - usually. There was one pump bottle of thin liquid soap that was to be used as a face soap, shower soap and shampoo. I had to buy a spray to kill the mosquitoes in the room each evening. The staff were generally unfriendly and unsympathetic to the lack of towels etc etc. Most of them should not be in the service industry. The pool was nice until you looked closely. A number of ceramic tiles have separated from the base of the pool and the grout on the side walls has black algae.

Now, on a more positive note. We were met at the ferry and shown to the hotel – a nice gesture. The breakfast was pleasant and varied. The sheets on the bed were clean. Wireless worked in the computer room, the breakfast area and by the pool.

Room Tip: get a quieter villa in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

+: next to the beach, booking office at the reception, private villa/room,
-: far from main street of PhiPhi (restaurants, shopping, diving center) and far from harbor. Many TV channels but bad reception, old style and overvalued price!
=: even it was not a bad experience, I would go and try another hotel next time (look at my other review)

The hotel is good but I think it is too expensive compared to what you get. I tried another hotel after staying 2 nights, and this second hotel was much better even a bit more expensive.

What I liked at this hotel is that it is next to the beach and is in a quiet place of PhiPhi => I would really recommend this hotel for families or couple looking for quiet place (kind of private as it is in a "corner" of PhiPhi).

But you have to think to walk 15-20 minutes from the harbor where you land from the ships (from/to phuket or Krabi).
Therefore, I would not recommend this hotel for people looking for shopping or places to have fun as around the hotel there are only few attractions which close early in the evening.

=> Location is good and bad, depending what you are looking for!!!!!

Swimming pool is nice, but not really for swimming. It is more a place where you can relax and meet the monkeys looking for some food!

Finally, rooms are clean and good as it is a kind of Villa/bungalow as you would imagine due to the name of the hotel. I really liked this style and really felt on holiday which was fantastic. Unfortunately, I did not really like the bathroom which is really old style and not modern at all.

In conclusion, I think this hotel a bit overprice and I would suggest you pay less if you go there or try my 2nd hotel review on PhiPhi which was much better (location, room, swimming pool, breakfast), but of course a bit more expensive... (but worth to spend the extra money)

Room Tip: take a taxi boat to go around PhiPhi (max 1200 baht 3.5 hours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehlstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayence, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Despite a good location and facilities, this was the worst run hotel we have stayed at for a long time. The (Luxury) room was spacious but the bathroom filthy; despite asking management to clean it and provide a basin plug, nothing was done. The first morning there was no water at all. The breakfast was terrible; we dont expect too much in Thailand but this was the worst ever. Anything we brought to their attention was just greeted with "Don't worry Papa"!
We had the impression that Koh Phi Phi is so popular and generally frequented by low end (indescriminate) young people that the resorts and resturants don't have to bother to give good service.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed in the Deluxe Family Suite for 6 nights, which is tucked away behind the pool area. There is 2 good size bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a lounge area in between which we had a fold up bed set up for our son - 5 of us fitted very comfortably. The pool area is lovely and we shared our time between that and the beautiful beach at the front, depending on the tides. Carpe Diem which is at the front of the hotel is really cool to relax and have a drink, with live music in the late afternoons which was nice.

The walk in to the heart of town takes about 10 minutes but there are shops / bars / cafes all along the way so it never seemed to take long. A bar called U2 sits on a small hill along the way and has the most stunning views across the bay.

Our "kids" aged 18 to 22, loved their stay here also and thought the nightlife was surprising good given the quiet feeling of the island during the day.. plenty going on at Do Jo's bar late afternoon and the crowd then goes on to the Beach Parties afterwards which is in the opposite side of town - so we didn't hear it at all from where we were, but kids didn't have far to walk home afterwards.

The down side to this hotel is the breakfast is awful. I only ate there once and after that went out for breakfast to other cafes which wasn't a problem as there are many to chose from. Also the beds are on the hard side, but it seems most Thai accommodation share this trait.

I can honestly say that on all our walks, I didn't see one other resort that I thought looked better than this one. Contrary to a couple of other comments here on T.A., there are 2 bungalows that face the beach with unobstructed sea views which would be lovely. Don't go with 5 star expectations and you won't be disappointed. Can't wait to go back one day for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.0 km away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.6 km away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.8 km away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.3 km away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#13 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
2.4 km away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Villa Resort

Property: Phi Phi Villa Resort
Address: 1 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,287 - ₹ 6,315
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi Villa Resort is a Thai Boutique style resort located on the beautiful island of Koh Phi Phi. The Resort has its own white sandy beach with magnificent views of the Andaman sea and the famous Phi Phi Lay Island. The 62 Rooms, Bungalows and Villas are set in lush tropical gardens. The facilities include a Spa, Gym, Cafe and the largest private swimming pool in the Ton Sai Bay area. Officially 2 star but looks like 4 star, especially the new rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Villa Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Ko Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing