We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“In the thick of it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Crowthorn
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“In the thick of it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We only stayed one night as we travelled through Phi Phi Island. The hotel is well placed for the port (we arrived by boat) and they send someone with a cart for your luggage. It's just a few minutes walk. This area of Phi Phi is really full on. Very busy with bars, restaurants, shops and people. It is very commercialised. The hotel was fine although the swimming pool was hot so not too refreshing. Breakfast was good and the pool bar staff were really lovely. Generally a good hotel with pleasant staff and most of the facilities you would need. Nothing to complain about here.

Room Tip: Can't help here as I suspect they are all similar but you might like to ask for the 'quiet s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    393
    312
    145
    114
See reviews for
125
500
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This place is awful- run down, dirty, damp and aircon doesn't work well at all so hardly slept. Given we were paying 4/5 star prices(for Asia), I would expect at least a clean and non damp-smelling room. Power cut out for about ten mins in the evening which didn't really bother me but it did worry me that the aircon was possibly going to cut out altogether. I've stayed in much nicer backpackers for a fraction of the price. Would not recommend this place at all. Location is probably the only good thing going for it - very close to where the boats arrive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneliseScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
353 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This place was so disgusting that I could only stay two nights out of the four that I'd paid for. In the process of trying to get a refund which looks unlikely now...

1. The hotel safe could be removed completely from the cupboard which defeats the purpose of putting valuables in the safe. 
2. The towels had large holes in them. 
3. There was a hole in our ceiling only 2cm in diameter but none the less not well maintained. And the housing around the lights did not fit the hole created in the ceiling for them therefore resulting in a 1.5cm gap between light housing and ceiling. 
4. Air conditioning was unsatisfactory and did not cool the small room (approximately 30 square metres) sufficiently. Perhaps requires re-gas. 
5. Upon arrival into the room there was a man standing on an opposite balcony completely nude, which is not appropriate as we have a 7 year old child with us. 
6. Cooling tower / water treatment facilities was opposite the entrance of our room and there was a constant foul smell. 
7. Door did not lock properly each time. 
8. The drainage was poor. The shower almost over flowed even though we waited 15 mins between each shower. Shower fixtures rusted and paint flaking on shower screen frames. Shower screen did not close easily and made a loud noise when you pulled it across. 
9. In general all facilities were not maintained. Ie. fountain in pool had all broken lights. Showers by the pool with rusted and blocked with calcium carbonate so the water did not come out properly. 
10. Our room did not look like the room shown in pictures for the deluxe triple room. 
11. Both nights, we heard the people slamming their door shut at 3am next door after coming home from partying and would wake us. 
12. Rooms were not sound proof as the night club music from the beach could be heard from our room each night. 
13. Bugs and cochroaches on pillows and in the room. 
14. Pool temperature was hot. It was cooler to be out of the pool.

DO NOT book here as it should be rated one star and charged at around the AU$30 a night mark.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family_of_thre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a disappointment! My friend and I were so excited to stay on Phi Phi Island and in the cabana hotel which was supposed to be our splurge for our trip. Poor front desk service, paired with less than par rooms and equally under par food=disappointment. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msadrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I think location is the one of the two selling points of this hotel. Another one would be the fantastic pool view and sea view from the balcony. When we first arrived Phi Phi and found it was only two minutes' walk to the hotel, we were so happy. The check in staff was friendly and we were lead by the bell boy to our room located on 3rd floor. Please note that there is no elevator in this hotel. It might be a problem for people who have problem with walking and steps . The minute we entered our room, we were so happy to see the view out of the balcony - swimming pool and the ocean view ! You can even walk to the beach from the back of the hotel ! The first thing we noticed about the room was the air condition. It was not cooling enough, it was like you just turned on a fan. At the temperature of 32C outside, we really needed the air condition! Some of the light switch on the night stand was broken. Room was clean and big although is aged, in fact the entire hotel is aged. I think some people may find the king -size bed very hard though. The bathroom was clean with enough amenities however the shower was too small. I could see a bigger size people would have a problem to fit in the shower. The water from the shower were salty! At first I though it was from my face because of the sea water but when I brushed my teeth in the sink, I could taste the water, it was salty like they just pump it from the sea! By the way, there is not hot water from the dink. Charlie had to shave in the shower in order to get the hot water. Although the bottle water was given to us complementary but the water tasted funny too! There was a coffee and tea making facility in the room but we did not use it. Luckily the old- fashion TV still work fine. The buffet breakfast was good but coffee were not not so as the juices - sugar water. We could see this hotel use to have their glorious days but seems like they don't have enough fund to keep it well running. The swimming was big but it grossed me out when I saw algae inside the pool. Some of the beach/ pool chairs were broken too. There is a small fitness center by the pool that looks good though. One more thing, there is a wifi service in the hotel for THB120 for an hour. You can get cheaper Internet when you go outside ( few minutes' walk) by using the Internet cafe or some of the coffee shop provide free wifi. We may not go back to this hotel unless they refurbished the entire property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 km away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 km away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.0 km away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
2.5 km away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#5 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel

Property: Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Address: 58 Moo 7 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,684 - ₹ 16,311
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Hotel Phi Island Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing