We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise but staff really need training.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Paradise but staff really need training.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

When you are on your boat approching this resort you could not ask for more it really is a paradise island, you are greeted by the most amazing check in staff who make you feel most welcome and make sure you are fully informed about the resort.

The rooms are huts on stilts which are of a good size but the bathrooms really need a refurbishment, ours bathroom actually smelled of an open drain so the door had to be kept shut as it was that bad, if you don't like lizards then this is not for you as you will be joined by at least one or two each evening in your room but they wil not cause you any harm.

The swimming pools are very good and sunbeds are plentifull it has a large beach front but the beach is not the best.

Our faults with this resort would be the Bar & Restaurant staff. The pool area staff are the most lazy people you will ever see in Thailand, unless you go to them to ask for a drink or food they will never walk around and ask people if they require anything or help with parasols if you are struggling to move them or put up but they are happy to stand chatting to one and other, if the pool bar is busy with one member of staff working the other staff will just look at people waiting and won't bother to help.

The restaurant staff especially at breakfast are just useless it can take 20mins to get a cup of tea or coffee and service areas always running out of plates and Bowles, there is just no management of service staff.

Be warned of the all you can eat evening buffet that is controlled so you can only eat what you are served, everything from these buffets is cooked while you wait and it's amazing how they can make one chicken serve 100 people by giving you the smallest amount of meat and filling your plate with vegetables.

We was told the hotel was being taken over by an American company and that staff would have to up their game this could not be further from the truth, if staffing problems were resolved this really would be paradise and we would certainly return but as it stand at the moment the management really need to sort the staff before we would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thefunkymonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,403
    1,141
    401
    143
    96
See reviews for
559
2,625
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

my husband and I stayed there last summer. We had the worst time ever. the resort itself its really beautiful, but it is a trap. there is no road, the only way to get out is a boat ( very overpriced). if you like activities it is not for you. i felt like a prisoner, after one day we decided to leave and go to a different hotel, management was very unhelpful , they were trying to charge us for the whole time we paid for ( although we cancel it within 24 hours) we spend 4 hours fighting with them.
activities they offer are not interesting and much more expensive that in a town, food was not good. overall the experience was bad, we were very happy to leave the resort. never ever again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AsiaI60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Asial60763

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of your stay with us. We're sorry to hear that your stay at our property eight months ago fell short of your expectations. There have been many changes and improvements since then. I would say that Phi Phi is a remote island and there are no roads anywhere on the island. Many guests tell us our beautiful and quiet and quite isolated location is why they enjoy staying with us. It all depends what you're looking for in a holiday. We're very sorry that it didn't work out. Regardless, your comments have been very useful to us. Thank you

General Manager, Mr Chao T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Have stayed here twice in the past few years- the first time in Oct 2010 and most recently in Nov 2011 and I love it. The first time we stayed in a beach front bungalow for 7 nights. It was fab and the weather was great too. The second time we stayed for 4 nights having been there, done that and we wanted to see more of Thailand but I can't wait to go back. This time we didn't splash out on the beach front but because we were returning clients they gave us a lovely upgraded room and treated us well for our stay. The weather was a bit disappointing but still we indulged in spa treatments again - it was noticeably quieter there- and ate in the restaurants. There were some changes to the resort- minor all the same- ie where breakfast was held is in a new location but it was still fab. We ate as usual in the village behind the resort and that too had changed but we loved the food and it's nice to get a break from the hotel food and go for authentic Thai. This time we didn't go to where The Beach was filmed but that was fab the first time. Do your research re boats etc before going- ie reaching the island itself and then day trips go with the locals and you will thoroughly enjoy. This is pure paradise and I hope to return in a year or two!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinklady96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed there 5 times over the last 6 years for a reason. Remote, quiet, beautiful views and magnificent food. Dream of sitting by the water looking out at the stunning views every day we arent there. Have recommended it to friends whom have all stayed and loved it. Going back

Room Tip: Stayed in all rooms types and were happy with all.Ocean views are worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraWorm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent our last 4 nights in Thailand here, after 3 weeks of travellig and it was the best choice for a quiet relaxation at the end of the vaccation. The bungalows are very nice, clean, every day clean beach towels, some further some closer but easy to walk to. Swimming pool and the beach are clean and there is plenty of options for refreshments, all charged to the room. We were not thrilled about the food though. Since we don't eat sea food the theme nights were not such a great deal for us, rest was let's say "alright". We also found the food and some services extremely overpriced (for Thailand). Breakfast was great, also choice of activities (yoga, diving, board games etc.). I could even try diving in the pool for a few minutes for free. Every evening got very windy so had to bring long sleeve to dinner. This place is great for people looking for a romantic escape or simply some space to "turn off" and relax. It is a secluded paradise, but not for those longing for fun & party. Big party nights take place on the other side of the island which isn't that easy to reach. The boat transfer is pricy and the walk is long. We had 1 night on the other side in the main Phi Phi village to experience the young nights.
Regarding getting to the island, we all organized individually and booked the resort via booking.com so we had to find our way there ourselves: we flew to Phuket, at the airport we booked a transfer to Phi Phi island via an agent in a booth there and the price included a taxi to the pier and the ferry. He recommended us to buy one way as booking in Phi Phi is cheaper. Taxi in Phuket took about 20-30 min, ferry about 1,5hrs. One night in Phi Phi village (we booked the ferry back at one of the agencies there), next morning we found a representative of Phi Phi Island Village Resort at the pier, he took care of us & luggage and at about 11am we left for the resort. The boat took maybe 30 min and cost 200 THB per person (1 way). Getting back to the airport: boat to the pier from the resort at 11:30am, ferry at 2pm and the taxi we took ourselves when we arrived to Phuket. They offer taxi bookings on the ferry but you can always find a taxi once you arrive (they even told us we will have a problem so just that we book and we didn't). Also, there are many people sharing a taxi but it takes time to fill the taxi and it's only insignificantly cheaper. We arrived, hundreds people trying to share a taxi, and we just took one, bargained the price and left way before all of them.
P.S: No internet in the room but there is a place with computers and you can prepay minutes. This was inconvenient when we only needed to do check-in.
P.P.S: Lizards get inside the rooms but there is a friendly warning as they are harmless and bring luck.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pashoshina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.2 km away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,284 reviews
3.2 km away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
826 reviews
2.2 km away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,398 reviews
2.9 km away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,763 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,048 - ₹ 32,125
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing