We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
42
19
6
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
19
6
7
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Delicious Bruschetta, Home made Bread, best mojitos of the island, and a french typical menu and breakfast, Le Rendez Vous is the place to go once in Ko Phi Phi. Owners are really friendly and made everything to make our stay magic. Food, and excursions were really great.

As a French and Italian traveller, I would for sure go back to this paradise spot Thank You For Everything Guislain, Bruno and Chitra

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Let me preface this review by saying that if we had paid $20-30/night instead of $80/night, I would have given Le Rendez Vous a 4-star review; however, when you're paying $80/night in Thailand, you expect a bit more than a rude and uncomfortable hostel.

Going in, we knew this place was not on the beach - but we figured "Hey, we're on Koh Phi Phi - the nearest beach can't be far away" except that the nearby beaches are on the property of other, nicer hotels - and all their guests look at you like scum when you try to use their beach without one of their plush, branded towels. We spent a few hours walking around the island to try to find a deserted beach without a hotel property on, and had no luck.

Pros
- The room was exceedingly clean and had a nice balcony to sit out on with a cold beer.
- The hostels seems to be owned by a couple - a French guy and a Thai woman. The woman is one of the nicest people we have ever met. She is warm, inviting, pleasant to chat with, and happy to help with just about anything.
- Air conditioning worked well.

Cons
- The showers in the rooms work on salt water - not the most refreshing experience after a day out in the sun and ocean.
- The French guy is a complete jerk. Very rude. Can't be bothered to speak with guests unless he thinks he can try to sell them an overpriced boat trip (you can get them for 1/3 the price at a little shop around the corner). Only speaks to the French guests.
- They charge you to "rent" beach towels for the day.
- The non-breakfast food is pretty bad - especially when there are so many amazing little hole-in-the-wall Thai restaurants within a five minute walk.

We ended up cutting our stay short to head back to Krabi. We heard another couple doing the same. It's an awkward experience because the Thai woman clearly is trying to make things right, but it's tough when you don't have beach access and can't offer people fresh water to wash their face and shower with.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank glamour_bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed at Le Rendez Vous in Decemeber while travelling Thailand, i was worried about arriving and nearly didnt go after reading the horror stories on here. We stayed for 3 nights and stayed in a Deluxe room which is directly above the shop/bar/restuarant. The room was big and clean with air con a sofa and a lovely big balcony. Yes the water is salty but I wasnt expexting it to be much better due to being on a remote part of Phi Phi.
The Village is amazing lovely little resaturants and a few bars but very quiet . As a couple it was perfect.
We used the pool at Ourigger which was lovely .. they also do lovely food and coctails! The beach closet isnt that good :(
We went on a speed boat trip organised by Bruno - this was fab
This place isnt for everyone as there isnt much to do ... if your looking to relax in a quiet part of Phi phi this is the place.
Pad Thai and Red Tune restaurants are good!
Looking to return ASAP

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Do not go to the Rendez Vous at ko phi phi. It is situated on a swamp,smells and has the worst food and most unfriendly owners.
They would not give us more than a tiny bar of soap and refused to change our towels.
So unless you are masochists stay away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelchick60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We booked five days in the "Deluxe Room". This room is directly above the reception, kitchen. It was a miserable room, topped off by a bathroom from a Turkish prison. The highly sulphurous odour from the rusty sink and disgusting shower head made entering the bathroom a challenge. The water from those devices was like bathing in sulphuric acid, it literally burnt on contact, probably a ph under 2. We were warned about using the toilet for toilet paper, so had to use a bucket for disposing soiled paper. We did not shower after the first day.
Bruno notified us that our two threadbare towels would only be changed every 3 days. We would be responsible for our own soap after the first bar.
Service was at best mute, without the slightest care for their guests. They would be better termed as wardens.
Breakfast was barely edible with no choice, and you were notified that you would be charged if you asked for extra butter, or jam.
We left early, in utter disbelief that this could be considered a hotel, that the dour cheap proprietors could be allowed to continue in that line of business. My advice to anyone is that if you have a fantasy of spending good money to live in a Thai prison, book this nightmare. Otherwise, I'm fairly sure that virtually any hotel in Koh Phi Phi is a huge step up. As for us, at least we have a new 0 in our ratings of hotels, our previous 0 now ranks a 5. You have been warned!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank redsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews