We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, big rooms and friendly service although a lot of stairs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Ranked #32 of 64 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Overall stay at the hotel was very good. We hated our previous hotel so changed to the Arboreal Resort which was less than half the price. The porter cam and met us at our previous hotel for check out and carried our bags all the way to the hotel, including up all the stairs. We stayed in deluxe room which was very big and nicely done, though in need of a little touch up. The staff, both on reception and in the restaurant, were really friendly with us and very helpful. The only thing I will say is be prepared for the steps. It is part way up to the island viewpoint and situated up a number of steps, but there sofas and fans in the restaurant so you can sit and get your breath back. Some of the deluxe rooms are set quite high behind the hotel so if you're staying in those it is even further. However for me the view is worth it as we had a stunning view out over the island. We also had a tsunami warning over the course of our stay and the hotel happens to be an evacuation point so you know that you'll be safe up there. Luckily there was no tsunami but it was good to know our things were safe. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 120 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

I travel a lot but that's the first time a receptionist insults me !

The day before the check in, we asked to visit the room before taking a decision, the staff showed us a nice room with a nice view. Then we agreed on the price (1700 Bath with break fast) and on the check in time (10 am). When we arrived the day after at 10 am, the reception told us the room was not available and that we had to wait until 11 am. After waiting 1 hour she gave us a completly different room with a bad view for the same price ! Moreover, when we arrived in the room, we had to wait 1 hour more because the shower was not working (I pass the nasty smell from the bathroom).

Next morning, we arrived at 11 am for the breakfast (included in the price) and the receptionist refused to serve us because it was too late ! Then she said we could have a breakfast but we had to pay more !!! We said that nobody informed us about this limit and that we wanted our money back for the break fast (300 baths), she refused ! After that, she insulted us saying that if we didn't want to pay more we could stay in our country .... INCREDIBLE !!!!!

I hightly do not recommand that hotel. Even if rooms are not too bad compared to our previous hostel in Koh Phi Phi, direction is dishonest and rude. We wanted to enjoy our last days of hollidays in a nice hotel and those troubles were the last thing we needed.

Room Tip: The rooms at 1300 baths have a poor value for money. The rooms at 1700 baths are more confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomtomTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Once in a while the adage "you get what you pay for" hits home hard. On our visit to Ko Phi Phi we decided to save some money and go budget: looking around the grungy main town it seemed like the thing to do anyway! Arboreal is a bit away from the center and up a long flight of steps, however the hotel porters do an excellent job helping guests with their bags to and from the ferry pier. Apart from these guys the rest of the staff are obviously straining themselves to be friendly. The rooms also reflect this overall theme of trying to do the bare minimum to be acceptable, but failing. There was a faint whiff of sewage throughout the place. The shower was broken. The room aircon looked like a kid had built it in a a school science project, and there was a veiled threat (listed on the rooms menu of fines to be paid for various misdemeanors such as breaking a cup or stealing a bed sheet) that if you left it on too long, it might catch fire, in which case you, the guest, would be responsible to pay the damages. We learned our lesson: life is too short to waste time staying at a place like this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrW909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We booked Agoda late the evening before arriving. Our booking had not come through due to a fault on our end, they were kind and gave us a room - same price as the one we thought we had paid. The stairs were massive, yes. We are pretty fit, so it was only just bearable, but on a hot day, phewf! The food at the restaurant - breakfast was nice, the other meals were pretty good, but I would prefer somewhere else. The rooms were clean and you could have them cleaned everyday if you wished.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Spent 3 nights here. Phiphi hotels cost more, so this hotel was $80 a night for what I'd rate as pretty average. i suspect you could get better value elsewhere.
Pros: good wireless but you need to use it in lobby. Beds are softer than other hotels we've stayed in the last month (huge plus for back pain sufferers). Lovely view of both sides of tonsai, 5 min walk to town & beach (we recommend that you follow the trail to long beach - easy 30 min walk & beautiful). Phiphi grew a bit old after 3 days - we found the sales pressure & inflated prices, and unwillingness to barter on "farang" prices frustrating. Also skip the charter tours and crowded boats. Rent a kayak and paddle 40 min to monkey beach woth some snorkel gear.
Room service was great, clean room each return in the afternoon. Shower has good pressure & is hot. Decent tv but no free wifi in rooms.
Cons: we were openly lied to by the front desk staff about the cost of the ferry to krabi. They wanted 900bht for 2 tickets, we knew it was half of that in town, we called her out on it. After some very awkward moments, she charged us the proper price, but our trust was broken. Dissapointing as We've had an anazing time elsewhere in thailand booking trips through our hotels who have been honest with us. check all prices in town.

Everyone comments on the stairs - yes they get your heart going but if you are fit/active, not a big deal, you will be glad to burn off the beer! The main town is a 5 min walk though you do have to go through what seems to be the local garbage dumping area, so hold your noses & don't walk in the puddles there.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caricar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.7 km away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
879 reviews
0.5 km away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#19 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
287 reviews
0.5 km away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
482 reviews
0.0 km away
Gypsy House
Gypsy House
#16 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4 reviews
0.6 km away
Phi Phi Andaman Legacy
Phi Phi Andaman Legacy
#15 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Arboreal Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Arboreal Resort

Address: 125 / 148 Moo 7 Ao-Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: ₹ 2,919 - ₹ 38,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi Arboreal Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Phi Phi Arboreal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Arboreal Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing