We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst dining experience of our entire trip” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciao Bella Phi Phi Island

Ciao Bella Phi Phi Island
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience of our entire trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Inattentive service: our server sat meters from us at a table without making eye contact for the majority of our stay. Our food was not only tasteless and undesirable, but one of the dishes also came with a metal twist-tie in it. When confronted about the twist-tie, the server tried to explain to us what it was used for, but ultimately had that dish taken off then bill. It was the worst pasta and the worst mussels I have ever eaten.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robjl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    103
    41
    23
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Three weeks of travelling in Thailand and this was the most tasteless food. So many more to choose from. Don't be fooled by the Italian name.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshineandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Most boring pasta ever”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

After a week of Thai food, we wanted a change and decided to test ciao bella right by the beach. It is run be Italians, so it should be good, right? The prices were European anyway... I ordered pasta with a cheese sauce - super disappointing! And the pasta was undercooked. The pizza wasn't that great either. The place itself is however super nice and romantic.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aennikae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“So bad i decided to write a review”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had such a bad experience at this place that I decided to write my first review so people are warned! I travelled for 2 months around South East Asia and this was the only place I got sick - and from the first bite I knew I was going to be sick! My fish must have been caught a week ago! My friends were OK but their food was not amazing. And the service was not good, particularly for the price.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonLikesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Went here one night craving Western food after weeks of Thai and actually had a great pizza - nice crust, good toppings etc. Not at all expected!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao Bella Phi Phi Island also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Ciao Bella Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing