We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Essex-UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good resort for the price!”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2008. We arrived by speedboat to the beach but the tide was too high & rough for the boat to stop, so he took us in to the next bay which was calmer, pheww as I was not looking forward to wading in with my bag above my head.
So we negotiated for a driver to take us to the next bay.
We arrived and checked into our little bungalows, they were perfectly fine for what we wanted & what we paid. Clean comfy, air conditioner, tv etc
It had a small pool and the resort is right on the beach, our bungalows where round the back in the gardens. It had an amazing backdrop, jungle clad hills behind. The first morning I got woken up by the loudest Frog chorus, it was quite funny really then the most deafening insect buzzing I have ever ever heard, Don't worry after the 2nd day i was used to it and it did not wake me.
I was not too impressed with the food here, even the breakie but it was included so we ate it!
The best place to eat is at the Baan Puri, gorgeous gorgeous! We also ate at another little hidden place that also had a cocktail bar can't remember the name. The beach is wide and big, sand lovely & clean & soft! The water was calm & clear one day then wavey & murky another. I enjoyed both to be fair. No snorkelling to be done there really. Yeah I loved the little bay for a few days. They had the odd jet ski on a few days, but we just lazed around on the sunbeds, great really. I did return but only for the day as part of a trip and was quite happy to be back on the beach. So yeah I would go again.
I had friends staying at the Panviman which looked lovely but I would have preferred to not spend double the money to be honest, same beach etc. Its just a bed at the end fo the day as long as its clean & bug free who cares (unless its a honeymoon or something).

  • Liked — Cheap & did the job! right on the beach.
  • Disliked — FOOD
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snuggleybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    26
    20
    12
See reviews for
19
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We arrived December 30 at Raiwin Beach Resort.

Arrival - We had pre booked a fold out bed for our room. The hotel staff couldn't remember if they knew about the bed or not. We arrived to our 'average' room and the fold out bed was sitting on the front porch. They promised that when we returned to the room it would be set up. When our third guest arrived and took her bags to the room there was no bed set up and no bed on the verandah. Finally, they organised the bed, after much probing.

Food - the food at the restaurant was the most expensive of all the cafes and restaurants on this beach and by no means value for money.

Massage - As too were Raiwins massages the most expensive on the strip but again, they did not offer any superior service.

Cleanliness - while the bed sheets were crisp and clean the bathroom left much to be desired. The glass left in the bathroom for brushing teeth which was wrapped in plastic usually represents a hygically cleaned glass ready for use. When I removed the plastic I found dried up toothpaste and water marks all over the glass.

Towels - there was a serious shortage of towels at this hotel. We were given one for showering. When we would ask the desk for a towel to take to the beach they would suggest we needed to use the towels from the room and they would then replace them in our room. We were well aware if we took this advice we would be left without a fresh towel to shower with. Again, after much probing, we were sometimes successful in securing a second towel but it could take an hour or two. One time my husband requested a towel and was told to come back in Feb or March when they weren't as busy.

Our overall impressions of this hotel were fairly poor and based on the above instances I would NOT recommend Raiwin.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dahltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

First time to Thailand and we weren't disappointed. Flight from Bangkok to Ko Samui and ferry to Ko Phangan. Once on the island, 45 minute taxi (bench n the back of a truck) along windy bumpy, dusty and mostly dirt road - where are we going!?. Once we arrived and saw Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, all anxiety disappeared. Beautiful 1 km long sandy beach with turquoise water.

Ten days of complete relaxation in a beachfront hut at the Raiwin Beach Resort and Spa. We woke every day at 5:30 AM to move to the porch to watch the sunrise. Great swimming, enough wave for some body surfing. Every morning we were greeted by the friendly staff that positioned our beach chairs strategically so that we could catch the last rays of sun as it set in the evening.

The hut was clean with AC, fridge, safe and TV (satellite with about 3 English speaking stations). Our beachfront unit was 3200 Baht per night although we understand units a few rows back were less than 1000 baht. For us the rates were reasonable, but everything is relative. Down the beach, very nice clean huts could be found for less than 500 baht.

The Raiwin had a spectacular beachfront restaurant, however the food was mediocre. Breakfast was disappointing and dinner was worse (oven baked pizza was ok). As a result, we had lunch and dinner at the three/four very good and more reasonably priced Thai/Burmese restaurants along the beach. Almost every guest at the Raiwin felt the same - surprising since we heard that the owner is a restaurateur on Ko Samui.

Overall, we’d return to the Raiwin in a heartbeat. The hotel was everything that we wanted for our ten-day escape.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BernVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Thong Nai Pan Noi is one of the nicest beaches I have ever been to: turquoise waters and pale golden sand the texture of talcum powder. It's truly beautiful.

We stayed in the Raiwin bungalows for a couple of weeks in October. The bungalows are very clean, modern and fairly spacious. They are tiled throughout and have a large balcony, hot shower, TV, fridge and A/C or fans.

We stayed in the cheapest fan option which was located at the back of the resort (2 mins to get to a sun lounger on the magnificent beach).

They were doing a special off-season promotion of 900 baht a night which was a really good deal. This included a pretty lousy breakfast. The food selection at the resort next door was much better quality.

Location is a key factor in terms of price at Raiwin and some of the bungalows closer to the beach were 3000/4000 baht a night which seems like a bit of rip off. I presume the prices are even higher during peak season and I don't think the resort merits these kind of rates.

There is a lot of development going on at Thong Nai Pan and they seem to be moving away from backpackers to a more up-market kind of tourist. Hopefully some of the cheaper options will remain on this wonderful beach.

I would stay at Raiwin again if the price was right.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank FisherTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.5 km away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#49 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
140 reviews
1.1 km away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
230 reviews
1.2 km away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.1 km away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#28 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
247 reviews
2.7 km away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuwadee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuwadee Resort & Spa

Property: Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Address: Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range (per night): ₹ 906 - ₹ 2,199
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuwadee Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Phuwadee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuwadee Resort And Spa
Phuwadee Hotel Koh Phangan
Phuwadee Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing