We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget bungalows in a gorgeous location”
Review of Thongtapan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thongtapan Resort
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Budget bungalows in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of August.

Getting there:
It is an approximately 30 minute taxi ride from the ferry. The taxi cost between 200 - 300 baht per person and the ferry from Koh Samui was 350 baht (both prices one way).

Location:
The position on Thong Nai Pan Noi is absolutely stunning and the northern end is particularly peaceful. The beach is tree-lined and relatively flat, with 3 - 4 restaurants dotted along this section. Food was standard Thai budget stuff but the setting more than made up for it. Enjoyable beach bar run by Coco.

Accommodation:
Accommodation was clean, but somewhat basic. Bungalows are scattered in a pretty garden setting up the hill behind the beach, with a few bungalows with sea views. The bungalows with seaviews looked quite dated though. Most, if not all bungalows had air conditioning, as well as fans. Bathrooms had cement sinks, an electric shower and flush toilet (no bucket needed!).

Negatives:
The biggest draw back with the place was the rubbish and general mess/building rubble located alongside the northern border of the resort. Although you couldn't see the mess while lying on the beach or at the restaurant/beach bar, it kind of ruined the tropical, peaceful, far-away feeling when you walked to your room and looked at the squallor next door. There was also at times a sewage smell that wafted through, but there are few budget places in Thailand where this doesn't happen! If they could sort this out and clean up this mess, it would be a very beautiful budget resort.

Other facilities:
The reception area had an internet cafe and free wifi if you brought your own laptop. For a fee you could also apparently get wifi in your room. From the beach you can hire jet skis and organise dive trips. Longtail boats were available to take people to various dive sites/snorkelling.

Overall:
Despite my comments on the neighbouring squalor, the stunning beach, very peaceful atmosphere, clean but simple bungalows and cheap price (less than 1000 baht per night) would definitely lure me back.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows looked more modern/newer than seaview ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just_hanging123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    91
    28
    18
    19
See reviews for
36
133
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

i stayed here over the full moon period in July, for 5 nights.

It's quite hard to find, being about an hour away from the port, and to get to this place you need to get your taxi to drive you through the grounds of two expensive luxury resorts.

But when you get there it's totally worth it. Its nice and quiet, the bungalows are clean and very nice. But the best thing is, they are affordable! Certainly compared to the really expensive resorts you pass through on the way to the place.

The beach is very quiet, with very few people, but its a nice place to recover after the full moon party. You can get boats to the party itself, just remember to save some money aside for getting back here in the morning!

The staff were very friendly here, and shared some of their food with us (things that we had never heard of).

Room Tip: You need to drive through two other resorts before getting here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Thongtapan resort. The clean and simple bungalows are between the beach and the - almost- wild garden, in the nature just like we love. The two restaurants are delicious : Krua tapan is perfect for good thai family food and Baantapannoi just looks like a movie picture : Pirate of the Carribean ! People working at Thongtapan are very nice, smiling and very helpful for everything, and always kind with children. This place is perfect with small kids : soft sandy beach and turquoise sea, only 5 hotels to share the whole beach, a lovely village at 5 mn walk. It is paradise !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights here. The location is of course wonderful. Sitting right on Thong Nai Pan Noi. Just beautiful. The bungalow is too pricey, especially since breakfast is not included. They didn't clean our room either, so on the secound day, the bathroom smelled so bad that I almost got sick every time I had to use the toilet.
Don't think we would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoctailsAndDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We've loved the fact that those bungalows were enough apart from each other in a luxuriant coast line setting, away from town.

I'm usually a well tempered empathic person, but this time, I couldn't had taken more...
We reserved in person* ( it took us 40 min. drive -back and forth- on a very bad road to especially go reserve "The" bungalow previously visited because the phones on the island were down.). And when we arrived the next day, our booking had vanished ! They had booked a couple in our specific reserved bungalow, few hours after our reservation!
There were not going to take the blame for it... a story who just got more frustrating with days...

The other guests were to leave after two day. So we waited, thinking, as they told us, that they had made some arrangement with the other guest who was supposedly to change of room or leave. But nothing happens. Our daily follows up was inconclusive; the receptionists just entertained us with vaporous claims. It's only a week later that we learned from the concerned guest that they didn't had really spoken to him about the double booking. He assured us spontaneously that he would had agree to move right away, as he didn't care about the location as we did. This other guest also qualified two of the front desk personnel (except for Bo) as "not in charge and of little reliability".

If you don't mind staying in a place where the front desk staff is IMMATURE and don't care, then go for it !! I must say I've enjoyed that hot spot anyway, despite our bungalow location and the two single beds we've tolerated instead of a double bed.

Fée L
French Canadian

*The spacy front desk guy had reassured me a few time that I didn't had to leave a deposit which I found suspicious enough to ask for reconfirmation twice. The credit card machine wasn't working and he decline my cash proposition. Day after what, he dared accuse me of not having done so !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.2 km away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
233 reviews
1.3 km away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
141 reviews
9.4 km away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
#58 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
107 reviews
10.7 km away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
158 reviews
1.6 km away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#24 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongtapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtapan Resort

Property: Thongtapan Resort
Address: 22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,352 - ₹ 7,468
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongtapan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thongtapan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtapan Hotel Koh Phangan
Thongtapan Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing