We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce People, Delicious food”

Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #13 of 363 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 17
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ban Tai's original seafood restaurant opened more than 8 years ago by a local fishing family who have fished in the area for generations and have exceptional knowledge of local seafood. Offering a wide selection of fresh local seafood and traditional Thai home cooking with some signature dishes creating a unique dining experience. The restaurant is located on a stunning beachfront next to Ban Tai pier with the option of seating on traditional long tail fishing boats. Finish off your meal with a delicious dessert or one of our many fresh fruit cocktails served in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Don't miss out on this local treasure. A must while visiting Koh Phangan! Booking advised during busy months and always around full moon and half moon periods and for larger groups at all times. Large Groups max 8 persons Opening hours kitchen 1pm until 10pm varies in low season
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
1 review
“NIce People, Delicious food”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Fresh local Seafood prepared by Chef Lek (Lek is from a local fishing family and was born in Ban Tai).
Popular dishes include:
House Special -Yellow Curry Crab a recipe handed down to Lek by his mother using crab live from our tank.
Barracuda Set – A fillet of fresh Barracuda grilled and served with Salad in an Olive Oil dressing, a selection of Sauces and choose from Rice or French Fries (Everything is Homemade).

More about the place..
http://www.phanganist.com/content/my-place-restaurants-fishermans

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chalok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,681
    314
    70
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“A perfect way to end the trip”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

For any restaurant to be able to cope with a sitting of 17 can be difficult, yet the staff at Fisherman's dealt with us speadily, efficiently and in a friendly manner. We were given a wonderful table in a boat attatched to the restaurant, overlooking the harbour. The scenery was lovely, as we were there for sunset, and the food matched the setting. Everyone in the group was pleased with their wide variety of dishes and i would certainly recommend the place to anyone staying in Koh Phangan. Thanks for making our last night on the island, and our friend's birthday, really special.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!!!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Sit out the front over the water on the boat and try the crab curry!!

We spent 3 hours here, there was 6 of us and we pretty much ate the whole menu!! Amazing! A little pricey but once again you get what you pay for, still cheap compared to western prices!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank shartley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of my fave restaurants on the island”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

it's just special. Fab food and great prices, Jenny is a great host, while husband Lek is a great cheff!! mussels and fish cakes to die for!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“No.1 restaurant on Koh Phangan”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is my favourite place on the island. First visited in 2010 and ended up going back several times as the food was so good but wanted to taste everything on the menu - definitely the best noname I had while on holiday! If you visit then definitely try to get a table on the boat if you can although it can be difficult as everyone wants to do the same. Great relaxed atmosphere and would highly recommend their Mojito "slushie" which are amazing.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeTarquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing