We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid this company at all costs!!”
Review of Safari Boat

Safari Boat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Unique Eco project with Organic Garden, Monkey business zipline adventure, natural spa, archery range and delicious restaurant.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I don´t like to write negative reviews, but when it comes to people safety I feel that I have to.
so let me tell you our experience a week ago.
We were picked up and brought to the Safariboat office where we had to wait for the rest of people. We waited like 1 hour and a half, without anyone telling us anything. after, we were brought to a port, where again we had to stand for like half an hour on the sun waiting for the boat. but ok, let´s close the eyes on this..

The boat comes... overcrowded! The first comment my husband had is ¨ I guess all these people are going out here". Nope, wrong! We were 41 people on the boat eventually, apart from the crew!. There was absolutely no space to sit, we were the last ones to step in and we almost had to sit on top of each other, horrible! on our way back we hit bad weather, and struggled not to vomit and having actually something to hold on as too many people next to you. it is not my frist time going on a speedboat and hitting the rough sea, but treated so badly by the staff is the first time. On the first stop, while people were away they were smoking marijuana - so we came back and it smelt like Amsterdam coffeshop. so I suppose driver was ¨high¨for the rest of the trip - what an experience.

Snorkeling stop was totally not worth it, might be the worst snorkelling i did.

The beach and the places we visited are very nice, no doubt about this - it´s a must-see but not with this scam company that should not exist! (btw the tour operator where we bought this trip told us it will be 25 people on board maximum - 25 and 41 is quite a change!)

anyways i will repeat - AVOID!

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank 37katiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ang thong national park"
in 9 reviews
"main island"
in 6 reviews
"emerald lake"
in 7 reviews
"overnight tour"
in 4 reviews
"marine park"
in 7 reviews
"day trip"
in 11 reviews
"light breakfast"
in 4 reviews
"steep climb"
in 3 reviews
"great trip"
in 6 reviews
"koh nangyuan"
in 2 reviews
"choppy water"
in 2 reviews
"tourists leave"
in 2 reviews
"beach experience"
in 2 reviews
"thai buffet lunch"
in 2 reviews
"sea sickness tablets"
in 2 reviews
"papaya salad"
in 3 reviews
"tour company"
in 2 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2018

We went on the Koh Tao tour, and there was not a person on the boat who didn't fear for their life. We came to find out later they ignored a small craft warning, and took us out, WHEN EVEN THE FERRIES HAD SHUT DOWN service. First of all, the speedboat is relatively small compared to all of the other boats; big waves + small boat = not good. The crew was all smoking marijuana in the small engine room, and even offered my husband some. They took us out in violent seas, and it was terrifying. At one point, the waves were so big the boat could not stay on top of the waves, that the entire front of the boat was going under the following wave. At this point, the crew grabbed lifejackets for themselves and threw us the rest, and surprise, surprise - there were not enough jackets for everyone on the boat.

At the very least, check the weather. But if you value your life, book with a better company.

Date of experience: January 2018
6  Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Went with them to Ang Thong Marine park. Everything was smooth, staff very gentle, boat new. We slept in Marine park and was great! If we will be back, we will repeat it for sure!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank travel27882018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Booked a private boat charter to ang thong marine park. Had young kids and grandparents with me. Boat ride was terrible with big swell wind chop. 45 min ride took 80 mins of bouncing bumping and rolling around. Could not go snorkeling as the water was too choppy (they should have known this before we left) had to head home early just to make sure we got back safely during day light. Company should have known what the conditions were like and advised against going. Boat they provided was too small for the sea conditions. Really bad customer experience.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank mattcox75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

It was poring down rain all day long and the trip was not refundable. 12 seats of a 30 seated boat weren't covered. So when the rain turned really bad all people came inside sitting/standing on the floor. On the website it only shows nice picture but the gasoline smell and engine noise for over an hour each way nobody is mentioning. You can not hold a conversation. The sea is rough and with speed boat you hit almost every bump. It was hard to hold our baby close to us. The lunch at the beach was great. Unfortunately we could not enjoy it since we were promised a tougher ride home. And tough it was. I counted the seconds. On everyone who thinks of going on the trip with a child make sure it does not get sea sick, can seat down for over an hour without talking and likes gasoline smell.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank oreocookies2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safari Boat also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Safari Boat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing