We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!!”
Review of Relax Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relax Bay Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth it!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I loved my recent stay there!! I was traveling alone and spent 3 nights there. The bungalows are basic and are expensive compared to others elsewhere but what you are getting as well is hotel like service. The staff are super friendly, the food in the restaurant is really good and it sits in it's own bay so is nice and peaceful. Don't go if you are after a cheap value for money bungalow however if you want the full 360 degree experience then this is an excellent choice. For a more lively night out you are close to everything, maybe 15-20 mins walk or a ride in a taxi so a great all round location. It gets my vote!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    225
    85
    30
    22
See reviews for
142
353
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

First of all, i must say that i do not agree with some previous reviews saying it is over priced. Walk-in customers will always have a higher price compared to bookings through agencies. This is not only at Relay Bay but with all hotels in Thailand. I am not talking about B&B or hostels, let's compare apples to apples. Also I think people need to understand the concept. No place for concrete building and modern facilities at Relax Bay. It is "Robinson Crusoe" style experience. Simple, but still comfortable and with style.

Koh Lanta is located 2 hours from Krabi airport. Quiet and somehow miraculously "under-developed" compared to neighboring Krabi and Phuket. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden and located on a very nice large private beach, no major hotel nearby!

We spent 5 nights in a VIP beach bungalow. Bungalows are facing the sea, pretty basic but still comfortable. Nice terrace with a table, chairs and a hammock, perfect for a nap a coffee early morning! Just a suggestion for improvement: a small water pipe at the entrance of the bungalow to clean your feet from sand would be nice. Like this, we would avoid to bring tons of sand inside the bungalow... Do not forget a mosquito repellent.

One very nicely decorated restaurant, right on the beach. I highly recommend you the chicken satay and the carpaccio of barracuda! Good breakfast with choice of both western and Asian dishes. I recommend the Thai menu rather than the Western menu. Menu for kids available.
A few words about the beach bar where you can enjoy the sunset but all day long, Some really nice cocktails and fresh fruit juices.

Plenty of small restaurants available a few hundreds meters away on the main road. Free shuttle to bring you there.

No TV in rooms, which is great. Free Internet connection available in the resort.
We organized 2 daily trips via the hotel. Good service.

Overall a great peaceful relaxing experience. I will be back!

Room Tip: VIP beach bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raphael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I like the idea that the resort is secluded on top of the hill. Nice decor with the restaurant overlooking the beach. There is no other resort so it is very private.
The cabanas are also neat, each has it's own hammock with a nice view.
Overall i feel it is simple, not too over the top and suitable for family with childrens.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We got there without a reservation and ask to see the rooms. 60usd the cheapest one, really basic, with fan. too expensive for that. I got it from trip advisor, and it happend with lots of places I went in this trip. You see... people trust people so they go where the reviews are good... and the hotel grows really fast and get famous... so they inflate the prices and are fully booked... and really half of them are not worth it, and you can find better places for the same or less price. so be aware of this phenomenon, because lots of good places dont get famous.
The people on the reception were really nice, there a beautiful restaurant right on the beach, but again... long beach is full of them, one right to another.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank __michelle_naiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I found all the Staff and management very friendly,cheerful and helpful. The restaurant had a wide variety of yummy foods for breakfast ,We ate in the restaurant and also tried neigh-bouring restaurants lots of choices. Gorgeous Beach and choice of massages on resort (I had reflexology and full body massages (5) so cheap compared to England and loved them)
I would advise taking insect Repellent and antiseptic cream in case.
It was a fantastic holiday ,had a scuba diving lesson in the pool by Anjali I was nervous but she put me at ease , Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: VIP bungalow right on the beach , near massage area , restaurant and Beach bar (which does not get n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.7 km away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
1.9 km away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,440 reviews
5.8 km away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
5.3 km away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.4 km away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Bay Resort

Property: Relax Bay Resort
Address: 111 Moo 2 | AO Phrae Ae - Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,576 - ₹ 2,176
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax bay is not your average hotel. If you look for a traditional hotel with AC, concrete walls and all amenities you can find in any deluxe hotel anywhere in the world. Well, we are not the place to be. Our rooms are Huts, spaced between 5 and 10 m from each other and set in a as Jungle-ish possible setting. There is almost no concrete and we constructed our bungalows under the trees. This means they are in the shade. Furthermore the grass-type roofs are overhanging and give protection against the sun and around the bungalows we planted flowers and plants to block out the sun. Shade means coolness but also darkness. Bamboo, a living natural product also soaks up the moisture in the air. We air the rooms, but they always smell a bit Bamboo-ish. They do not smell damp and not well kept, they smell natural.Our roofs are made from grass, so they disintegrate after a time. They are not as waterproof as concrete, or tar roofs. However they are much cooler. and they look much better. Prices on the net should be the same everywhere , but you are best served by making a direct reservation at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Relax Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Bay Hotel Ko Lanta
Relax Bay Ko Lanta
Relax Bay Resort Ko Lanta, Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing