We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Houben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Houben Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Feeling home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed there during our honeymoon trip in Asia and we fell in love with this hotel. Everything was excellent, starting from unique design, great and friendly service, clean and spacious rooms, best location in Koh Lanta with extraordinary view, great swimming pool, great breakfast and delicious (although bit pricy) food in the restaurant. Congrats and thanks to Shawna and the entire staff for making our stay wonderful!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Djuci,
Thank you so much for choosing the Houben Hotel for your honeymoon.
i will be sure to share your comments with our chef , staffs and thank the rest of the staff as well for a job well done. Please let us know how we may be of assistance to you for your next trip to Thailand, Krabi and The Houben Hotel Koh Lanta . Looking forward to having you here soon.
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    102
    18
    11
    1
See reviews for
41
488
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liehittaja
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The best place and service in Koh Lanta! Fantastic view; cliffs and pool in early morning sun and in the blue moment at sunset. Tasteful architecture and design all over. The Houben and their staff makes you to feel pampered. A true hideaway and simply the best place to spend your vacation in Koh Lanta!

Room Tip: For immediate pool access choose rooms 101-103. if you want to look at the view al day and night lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Pia_HH,

Thank you for staying with us at The Houben Hotel.
Im delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay .We will be sure to share this review with our staff and thank them all for a job well done.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

In terms of describing this resort there is very little I can add to all the awesome reviews.

In terms of my personal experience, wow...

Having stayed in pretty amazing places all around the world I must say The Houben is currently right at the top of my list. Lured by their very attractive website and the positive reviews, decided to make the journey from BKK and spend four nights of the most absolute relax for two. We weren't disappointed.

Right in the middle of the hot season, there were only about three other rooms occupied for the whole time we were there so we really felt like we had the place to ourselves. The facilities are a dream - we didn't try the spa but will never forget that pool! The staff are all lovely and very helpful and made us feel like it was our home (I think by the end it was, in my head)

The restaurant (Red Alert) is excellent and easily the best place to eat for miles. Do try the Pad Thai, even if you have eaten it a lot of it elsewhere. The fruit smoothies are also very good and will help you through the stupidly hot days.

The resort is close enough to the beach and its fun, backpacker-type bar. Also there is a good, relaxed place to eat fresh fish (and the most amazing tiger prawns) and have a few drinks just outside the resort, a few metres down the road (turn right coming out of the resort, then it's on the left)

I don't think there was one single think we didn't like. In fact, we both regret not having stayed longer and hope to come back at the first opportunity.

(yes, I did cry a little when we left)

Room Tip: the rooms on the ground level, behind the pool, have very little privacy - so if this an issue (it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xavitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Xavitat,
Greeting from The Houben Hotel.
It is very encouraging to read the positive review you have given us for your stay with us at The Houben Hotel .The staff takes great pride in making sure that all the guests that walk through the houben have a fantastic experience and leave us with the thought of returning soon .
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijkevorsel Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The paradise must be like this...the rooms,the view and certainly the"family-like" spirit of the personnel and the management everything breaths hospitality.
Even the food is perfect and the prices very acceptable.If you don't go there...you are really missing something.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deluc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Deluc01,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Houben Hotel Koh Lanta . We appreciate your taking the time to participate in TA.and sharing your experience at The Hotel .
Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed at the Houben hotel with my partner for a romantic getaway and it didn't disappoint! The cliff-top view was just amazing, absolutely took your breath away at sunset. While it's not located on the beach like a lot of other hotels in Koh Lanta the beach is just a 5min stroll away and the view is worth it.

The staff were lovely and friendly and the food from the restaurant was delicious. The staff were really wonderful and concerned when my partner was sick for a couple of days and even delivered us meals to our room and came to check on us.

The suite room is on the pricey side but you absolutely get what you pay for and I would love to stay there again. Thanks for a really memorable stay!

Room Tip: Pick the suite if it's within your budget. All the rooms are great but the suite is just phenome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Ganesh S

It is always a pleasure to read comments from guests that have enjoyed their stay with us here at The Houben Hotel . We are a small boutique hotel so the personalized service that our team delivers everyday to our valued customer is highly needed . I hope to see you back wit us soon again.

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
12.9 km away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
16.3 km away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
12.6 km away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Baan KanTiang See
Baan KanTiang See
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 km away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
17.0 km away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel

Property: The Houben Hotel
Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,105 - ₹ 18,652
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Houben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta, Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing