We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star pricing for 2 star quality”
Review of MGM Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MGM Beach Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed here with our kids for a couple of nights. We were in a deluxe room that was very poor in quality. The bathroom had flies. The buffet was full of flies and was very expensive (800+ per person). The beach was closed because of some factory near by dumping some chemical waste into the waters!! Anything you touched was so expensive which made me wonder why they were charging so much for substandard stuff. They charged us for an extra mattress (for our kid) without letting us know upfront! The play structures were rusty. We ended up going about 2km from this place to find a decent restaurant that had tastier food. Terrible place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkancharla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 743 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

The resort was really good specially the ambience, room decor, lawn, clean beach n swimming pool. Overall had a nice time. The sad part was the room service and un-trained staff. They were not able to comprehend the local language - tamil or english. Even the room service phone operator insisted in replying only in Hindi. The time taken to deliver food to the room was atleast 2 hours everytime. When the food arrived it was cold, even the soup was ice cold. I was ill and asked for a crocin. The staff are so not used to english that they brought me a croissant after, guess wat, 2 hrs!!! Other than the staff and service, the buffet spread was good and the room was clean....Had a nice time with family....last thing free internet would have been a good add on as it is offered in other resorts in the vicinity!!

Room Tip: park view suite was affordable and private and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vamzsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Located along the ECR coast, this is an excellent weekend getaway from Chennai. The cottages are of excellent quality and well maintained. The property is along side the coast and the beach side is quite calm and serene. The service is very good and timely. The resturaunt located next to the sea provides an excellent environment for a evening dinner. The spa is quite good too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKumar2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed over the long weekend along with my wife and had a good experience. spend considerable time in the beach. has good cuisine, which is served on the beach side. observed a lot of outsiders come-in for having buffet lunch. of course, there is still lot of room for improvement

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ajay26_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

"Marvellous experience"
I was at this resort very recently as we had selected this as the venue for our customer offsite training. i was particularly amazed at the spread of the property and the attention given to the maintainance of the property. The most amazing part was the attached private beach whcih we had direct and easy access too.
This motivated us to setup the evening dinner near the beach and the F&B staff offered us live counters suhc as Dosa, Starters, etc to make the mood even more exciting for our customers.

I will defintely recommend for a good 1N/2D stay at this resort as it was relaxing even after conducting 2 full days of busienss at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunilGolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muttukadu
9.4 km away
MGM Eastwoods
MGM Eastwoods
#82 of 403 in Chennai
99 reviews
22.9 km away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
409 reviews
20.5 km away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
10.1 km away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
21.0 km away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Beach Resorts

Address: 1/74, East Coast Road | Chennai, Muttukadu 603112, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Muttukadu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Price Range: ₹ 4,950 - ₹ 8,271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MGM Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Gateway- Sun-drenched Beaches & an Oasis of Calm…Golden sands run like a luminous ribbon, gift-wrapping the exquisite MGM Beach Resorts, even as lapping waves of the Bay of Bengal gush in to caress the jagged coastline. Imagine 30 acres of lush, sprawling lawns, dotted with over 88 charming cottages, rooms and suites. Tall coconut trees stand as sentinels, overlooking the winding pathways, undulating lawns and colourful flowering shrubs. The traditional architecture boasts of majestic Mangalore-tiled sloping roofs, gently dissolving into the horizon. The end result is a charming, back-to-basics yet urban resort for you to unwind.MGM Beach Resorts first opened its doors to hospitality, way back in 1993. With over 17 years of experience in this sector, apart from spectacular views, sun-drenched beaches and memorable holidays, we offer you only the best: warm hospitality, modern amenities, attentive service and professional expertise. Come holiday with us to experience a tranquil vacation or a delightful weekend getaway…We provide you with the ultimate romantic Wedding Destination. If you’ve always dreamt of a wedding by the beach, with lacy waves and a distant horizon forming the backdrop, then MGM Beach Resort prides itself at making this a reality. Whether it’s a bachelorette party, a stag-do, a sangeet under a canopy of stars or the wedding ceremony itself, just fix the date, and leave the rest to us…Business is our business! Choose MGM Beach Resorts as the venue for a conference, a business meet or for hosting a business dinner. Our three well-equipped conference halls, mini boardrooms and a functional business centre can accommodate your business clients and needs. We offer you state-of-the-art corporate facilities backed by impeccable service, and we mean business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Yatra, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your MGM Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Beach Hotel Muttukadu
Quality Hotel Mgm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing