We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kovalam
bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My worst experience during the last two days of my trip. The resort has dirty rooms with leaking A/cs, and cracks all over the wall. The Doctor in the Ayurvedic Spa was very rude and blunt. I actually cancelled a Ayurveda massage that I had booked . The staff in the reception are very rough when comes to dealing with customers. The complementary breakfast was cold,stiff and smelled as if it was prepared 5 days back.

Room Tip: Never try to have experience at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank subha5586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drsibi, General Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Madam,Thank you for posting your review,but i am sorry to say that rating the hotel 1/5 was far from realistic.You have posted that the buffet was prepared 5 days back and was stinking,for your kind information our resort was one among a few in Kovalam which has come out scar free after health dept sudden inspection owing a recent food poisoning death in Trivandrum City restaurent.We are mostly commented as negative when it comes to food service delay,and to who ever i got an opportunity to explain i have informed that it is illegal to freeze prepared food and reheat and serve.(which many hotels do to serve food within 10 mins) but we do prepare the food fresh on reciept of the order.And we do not keep slow moving dishes like lobsters etc in freezer,but procure them live after taking the order in case of a special request and will serve it for them later by dinner.For us rather than reheating a common gravy with sause and colour serving within 10 mins we believe in taking 40 mins and prepare fresh food for a guest.We belaive in real health and wellness.And we don't use food colour or ajino motto.Anyone is welcome to our kitchen to see it yourself.So i politely differ with your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    20
    18
    23
See reviews for
60
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

When we reached there we were happy to see the location, but the rooms were dirty, toilet had urine stains, the housekeeping tried to remove it but was of no use. swimming pools were good , massage and restaurant were better , later when we came back from beach, I found my new Reebok sandal missing from my room , I have registered a complained in their register and till now I have not received them back nor any revert.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rahuld3u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drsibi, General Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sir,I appreciate your gesture of posting the review and regret to see the comment that the room was dirty and at the same time glad to see your good comments on massage,restaurant and swimming pool.We have inspected the room after your check out to see the stains in closet which you have reported to House Keeping,in fact it was not urine stains and urine does not make stains which cannot be removed by chemicals.The flesh water in that particular block of rooms are from one among the four wells in the resort and the water(unlike shower and tap connection the water for fllush tank is not subjected to iron removal filteration) had high content of iron which stained the ceramic of WC (in certain areas) which we have replaced and has added a aeration treatment for flush tank water so that the iron content settles down in sump as an oxide form.I apologise for the inconvenience and request you to come back to our resort in future and give as an opportunity to experience our service once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Guwahati, Assam, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

our stay in kerala from 14th to 24th march was one of the most memorable experiences as yet..except for our two nights stay in Country spa.the moment we reached the resort(?), we could sense the irresponsible behavior of its staff. we had to wait for nearly 45 mins to finally get into a shabby room with a dirty bathroom.then when we asked for a jug of warm water, for 1 hour which we waited anxiously so as to quench the thirst of our 2 yrs old sick child.we ordered for 2 cups of tea before dinner but that never arrived our room..as my child was vomitting so i could not feed her in the restaurant.so i requested the person attending there to pack 1 slice of bread., 1 idli and a boiled egg so that i could feed her in the room..1 st day he had no issue bt the 2nd day, with a disgusting gloomy face he replied that it was a complimentary breakfast so i could nt take the things to room....man... everywhere we had a "Complimentary Breakfast" and everybody very willingly help us to feed the baby.....this was the outcome of our refusal to take the membership of the club...right???cheap business.....the room cleaning and changing of bath linen everyday was also not done which are otherwise complimentary for the "Great Country Spa"".....my worst wishes are with u a so that you can recover from the grasp of cheap and inhuman business....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pallavi_a_pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Madam,
I am sorry to see that you had to wait 45 mins for the room to be alotted.Since we maintain an overall occupansy of 89% annually,we are constrained to maintain our check in time as 2 pm and check out time as 12 noon.So in case of an early arrival it can so happen that the guest has to wait till 2 pm which is the check in time.Rooms checked out by 12 needs to made ready and given to the guests arriving on that day,which is the reason of the delay.
After going through the cc tv footages in restaurent i can understand the logical reason behind the harsh comments which i will have to politely disagree with you.
Buffet is not permitted to be taken out or parcelled irrespective of whether it is being paid or complimentary which is a standard which all hotels follow.
The positive outcome of the comment is that i could take action on the staff who has permitted it on the first day.It has many health and safety concerns.Buffets are maintained in hot chaffing dishes in restaurents and will be replinished frequently,which if parcelled and taken later can get cold and will have a negative impact in quality.
The second day denial of the staff to pack and give the eggs and iddlis from buffet to your vomiting child can be considered as a good thing for you since both those are not recommendable for a vomitting child and usually nobody gives eggs and heavy food to vomiting children.But as per the cc camera footages the child was also having buffet along with you in the restaurent.It's my humble request not to use tripadvisor as a platform to malign any resort for some reasons which by standard any resort will be able to offer.Such derogatory comments will distract the genuine users who seek the help of portals for holiday options.
For your kind information we don't offer membership in resort,and all we have is a member assistance dept in resort which works independetly from resort operations,who assists members for any membership associated matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just returned from Kerala having spent just a week at this resort. Overall it was an enjoyable week, although I wouldn't say it was a beach resort. We were able to walk the rocky path each day at the rear of the resort to reach the beach below [this might not be possible if you have mobility issues] and enjoyed a relaxing time there for the day. [using the Sanjeevini restaurant]. We would then return to the resort at the end of the afternoon for a lovely swim in the pool to cool off, gorgeous! Reception staff were brill and helpful, especially Masud The resort organised a taxi for us to take the trip to Kanniyakumarri which we thoroughly enjoyed [tiring but worthwhile].The restaurant offered a buffet style meal in the evening [250 rups each for a veggie meal] which was quite tasty, but we only ate here once as we enjoyed the variety of restaurants avaiable at Lighthouse Beach nearby. Room service was a little unpredictable, laundry reasonable, setting great, rooms average, but ok, pools very good, would probably return again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in 404 which was a ground floor room, next time I would ask for an upper floor room near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cariad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I booked a superior room at the Country Spa hotel – which looked very shabby. The bathroom was old fashioned with dirty grouting. Attention was drawn to the fact that I had a beach view room. I suppose I could see the sea in the distance but before this, all I could see was a corrugated iron roof of the rooms below, barbed wire and rubbish. And the room was in the same block as the kitchens – with all the accompanying smells and noise – starting at 5 am. I had one meal in the restaurant – disgusting food with filthy table cloths in a very stuffy room. The reception staff are very friendly but they are working with very limited resources. If you walk down to the beach watch out for the very uneven surface and the cow pats! It’s better to order an auto-rickshaw from reception to go to Lighthouse beach where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. I’m sure there must be better hotels in Kovalam at non-luxury prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drsibi, General Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Sir,
I feel sorry for the kind of inconvenience you had due to some points mentioned in the comment.You have mentioned that in a beach view room the view is that of barbed wire.The barbed wire was erected recently and is maintained as low as possible so that it will not hinder the view from rooms.We have erected it to secure the rooms by three line safety,barbed wire,cc camera day and night surveillance and security guards.The view of sheet is not visible from room unless you go to the balcony and look down.It is never visible in the general view.The path to the beach is uneven and the resort is at a higher elevation to the sea.But Ashoka beach to where you acess from our resort feels secluded and calm like a private beach without much local crowd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
1.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
4.2 km away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
791 reviews
6.2 km away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
17.2 km away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
135 reviews
20.2 km away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#14 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort

Property: Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort
Address: Ashoka Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,797 - ₹ 4,171
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a beautifully Landscaped Health & Wellness Resort with a Mix of Good Old Traditional Treatments of Ayurveda to the Latest Modern Floating Spa based Hydrotherapy Treatments. It is besides the World famous Kovalam’s Ashoka Beach. We are RCI Worldwide Affiliated Resort catering to the Domestic & International Traveller needs. We are associated with the Best in the Ayurvedic Industry for Technical Expertise. We have a beach view Roof top Restaurant & an AC Restaurant. An open air Auditorium with lush greenery & seating Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Yatra, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Spa Wellness Beach Hotel Kovalam
Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort Kovalam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing