We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
navtuckerichard
Bengaluru, India

The Best Family and Friends Campsite

Review of The Pear County
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Nov 2015
A brilliant concept of camping in the hills and experiencing nature at its best but still ensuring the comforts demanded by a city breed person... Yummy Food, Camp Fire, a lot of fruits and vegetables and the most essential a clean and well maintained restroom individually built beside every tent.... An experience everyone must have! Also must mention the friendly and helpful nature of the host Vishal Sudhakar. HAD A GREAT TIME... A MUST VISIT PLACE IN KODAIKANAL!!!!
Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vishalsudhakar, Owner at The Pear County, responded to this review
Responded 27 Nov 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review our property and letting other know what we have to offer at "The Pear County". We extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have with us again soon.

Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₹18,218
₹17,753
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    ₹17,753
4.1 km from The Pear County
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹6,721
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,721
  • Priceline
2.5 km from The Pear County
Free parking
Restaurant
₹4,033
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
8.3 km from The Pear County
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹3,447
  • Trip.com
2.7 km from The Pear County
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    ₹9,117
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from The Pear County
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹5,181
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,183
1.8 km from The Pear County
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹5,850
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from The Pear County
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,386
  • Booking.com
4.7 km from The Pear County
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹10,112
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,002
5.6 km from The Pear County
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹1,922
  • MakeMyTrip
3.3 km from The Pear County
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kodaikanal
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
48
10
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off roading indoor games hot water bison tent farms barbecue campfire carrots property viewpoint kms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We visited the pear county campsite as one of the first few visitors and had a great time. The staff was really friendly and the view from our campsite was to die for,celebrated my birthday there and had a blast, a must visit place for my next trip to kodaikanal.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank soumya_078
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vishalsudhakar, Owner at The Pear County, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your camping experience and your birthday with us. We do hope to have you with us again soon.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards

Vishal Sudhakar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

A friend suggested I try this place and it was worth the stay!! We enjoyed a lovely afternoon hike and wonderful evening in complete peace with a campfire and hammock. It's far enough away from everything that you can really relax and enjoy nature. The landscape is beautiful, the staff has done a great job of maintaining everything and ensuring that everything is clean. The staff is also very kind and helpful and are there when needed but also give you enough space for privacy. If you're looking for a peaceful way to relax while in Kodi, I highly recommend this place. I will definitely try to return in the future. Try it out, it's a unique experience.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank 138alisong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vishalsudhakar, Owner at The Pear County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review our property and letting other readers know what exactly we offer at the Pear County. We are glad you enjoyed you stay and had a great experience. We do hope to have you with us again soon. Thank you once again

Warm Regards

Vishal Sudhakar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Had been to Pearl County for 2 nights/3 days stay in the month of October.It was indeed a great trip with good accommodation and good hospitality.The staff was very courteous and helpful.Charles,Anthony,Joseph and all the other staff who helped us to have a very memorable stay.The tents and the restrooms are very clean.We also enjoyed the trip to the Sheep & Rabbit farms.The drive to the lake was very scenic and our kids thoroughly enjoyed it.The trek through the village was good.We also enjoyed the barbecues and bonfire for 2 nights.Overall was a very memorable trip and we shall look forward to visit again.......

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank crispin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vishalsudhakar, Owner at The Pear County, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our campsite. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your family vacation with us. I will personally pass on your words of appreciation to our team of staff. Thank you for letting other readers and tripadvisors know what exactly we offer at "The Pear County" . We do hope to having you with us again soon.

Thank you

Warm Regards

Vishal Sudhakar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I have just returned from a awesome 2 day stay. From the first minute to the last, it was a wonderful, relaxing experience and I'm sure we will return again next year.
Appreciated staff, personalized service, beautiful location, amazing experience.. Keep it up..

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank vidit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vishalsudhakar, Owner at The Pear County, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking time to review your recent stay at The Pear County. We are delighted to have given you a memorable holiday .It encourages us to do better .Please do visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We stayed at the Pear County during the October 2nd long weekend. We were a group of 3 and were looking for a place were we could relax and soak in the wonderful atmosphere of Kodaikanal hills. While we did not want to be in the midst of the hustle-bustle of the town, we also wanted a place that is easily accessible so that our sight seeing plans don't get hampered. And the Pear County fitted the bill perfectly. The place is around 6-7 kms away from the Kodaikanal lake - the place arranges for free pickup and is situated in the middle of a beautiful 70 acre pear orchard - pears are everywhere and free of course! It's located on a hill that overlooks Kodaikanal and is very green with several vegetable farms.

The stay is arranged in good quality tents and has attached private bathroom and storage facilities. The tent and the toilet were quite neat and you are provided with decent mattresses and blankets - again these were pretty clean and fresh out of the laundry. I believe there are tents of various sizes which could accomodate between 2 - 10 persons and there were 4 tents in all. So the place is quite private and you don't bump into too many people.

The place also arranges a small guided trek in the surroundings and bonfire followed by barbeque and dinner buffet. The staff members were very hospitable and ensured that we had a pleasant stay. Even the owner of the place ensures the personal touch and was more than accomodative. The food served was quite ok and homely - I wouldn't say it is great, but no complaints as such.

The owner also arranged a lovely trek for us - from Adukkam village (down at 2,000 ft) till the Pear County (situated at 7,000 ft) through the forest and we even had few wildlife sightings, including some bisons and deers. This arduous uphill trek of around 4-6 hrs is unexplored and is highly recommended for adventure enthusiasts.

The place also arranges for the regular sight-seeing trips in and around Kodaikanal.

I would highly recommend this place for those who would like to stay close to Kodaikanal, but away from the bustling crowd. Again, the surroundings and privacy offered make the place apt for youngsters and families alike.

.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Vishnu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vishalsudhakar, Owner at The Pear County, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking time to review your stay at The Pear County.We are glad to be of service to you and give you the relaxation you needed.We shall work upon the your suggestions and strive to make every guest happy. LOOKING FORWARD TO HAVING YOU STAY WITH US AGAIN SOON.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews