We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty.”
Review of Highland Parade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Parade
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Extremely filthy. Needs work. Beautiful surroundings.Needs complete overhaul. I would not recommend this to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 35805Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

Hotel Peoples are not able to speak in English. Hotel is located at least 3kms away from city. The road to go to the hotel is very bad, no other hotel is present in this road, the road is maintained by hotel itself. According to the hotel site information they said that they have different indoor active ( like carom, TT, chess etc) but actually they dont have anything like that. They dont have anything to kill your leisure time.

Rooms are very small, dirty. Dont have power backup, often experience power cut off. They have provision to supply hot water but water heater was not in working condition.

As hotel is located in isolated place (at least 3kms away from city), you have to hire a cab from hotel travel desk to go to city.Travel desk charges too much for city drop and pickup and never think of booking of a taxi for one day city sightseeing from hotel travel desk.

Food quality, room service, house keeping are very bad. They are not prompt. They will take at least one hour to serve a small request.

I have booked 2 rooms for 2 nights from IRCTC site. Check in and check out time was 12 pm. In the day of check out they told that hotel check out time was 10 am and if I stay after that I have to pay one day charge. I had an argument with hotel manager and they force me to check out one room and we stayed in another room from 2 extra hour.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hi_tinku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel as it is a part of the Bajaj Highland resorts consortium and we are member of the same. The hotel is pretty average however the redeeming feature is its location. Its away from main kodai market place and has a great view of the valley. The rooms are well spaced out however they are small. The linen is just about ok. The staff, though not well trained is curteous and responsive. The restaraunt is just about average but quite expensive for the quality of food. As the hotel is away from the town, there is no option but to eat at the restaraunt once you reach back in the evening or for breakfast.
There is a small park for the children to play and they enjoyed it. There is a small village below and it makes for a good trek to it and back.. a lovely way to spend the day.
The hotel also has a pool table, carrom, TT tables, Library etc so one can spend time comfortably without getting bored if one does not expect world class service.
Be careful of the travel desk. They fleece you for daily tours. For e.g. They quoted a figure of Rs 800 for a full day tour of Kodai visiting various waterfalls and points. For the same tour, the average price quoted by the travel agents in the city was Rs 300. So dont use the travel desk facility for other than pick up and drop to the city. This cost between Rs 80-100 per trip.
Overall, the hotel is a decent place to stay in kodai, if one is on a budget and has low expectations. The location is lovely and therefore it scores over others in main kodai in this aspect.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequentaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

i stayed with my extended family, my uncle,aunts,my own mother,brother, cousins etc in this resort. we had two large units for ourselves and we enjoyed our stay there. the rooms were comfortable and relatively clean. they were not very posh but were good enough for a family get together. o the picnic spots were closeby and we used walk around the place.verall experience was memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SCREENCNAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Highland Parade- Kodaikanal The Valley Club

Last year we went to Kodaikanal and stayed in this place. It is 7500 ft above the sea level.
The resort is little far from the main bus stand and offered pick-up(no droping) facility for free. The onset when we reached at premises, it was eye catching panoramic view of green valley of kodai.
There we've been alloted a room called deluxe (no A/C). As soon as we entered inside it was stinking allover and full of seepage. I felt like vomiting so my hubby went to reception and asked them to change our room. At this they changed the room but no wonder it was more or less with the same conditions.
We paid them already online for advanced booking and they were not ready to refund the money so couldn't left it. Room service was very unfit as well as food.
There is nothing great about this resort except its location, please avoid it by all means.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doralovetovisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.3 km away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.4 km away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#38 of 82 in Kodaikanal
65 reviews
2.3 km away
Zest @ Coakers Villa
Zest @ Coakers Villa
#44 of 82 in Kodaikanal
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Treebo Abirami residency
Treebo Abirami residency
#24 of 82 in Kodaikanal
224 reviews
1.4 km away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#58 of 82 in Kodaikanal
122 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#25 of 82 in Kodaikanal
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Parade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Parade

Address: Kurinji Andavar Koil Side Road | Highland Holiday Home, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: ₹ 1,485 - ₹ 4,971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Parade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View is awesome, Good Valley View Room. staff was good and they will helpful . Spacious parking. Quite place with lots of tranquility with a great view from the room itself . 24 hours electricity and hot water through electric geyser. Rooms are bigger as they are traditional. Very Reasonable Pricing. Highly recommended for anyone who like to stay in Kodaikanal very safely ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Highland Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Home Hotel Kodaikanal
Highland Parade Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing